We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Cross 4WD Tours

Features Animals
Open Now: 07:00 - 20:30
Open today: 07:00 - 20:30
Book In Advance
Tours from Southern Cross 4WD Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
365
All photos (365)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good13%
  • Average2%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“full day tour”(34 reviews)
“bbq lunch”(33 reviews)
“glow worms”(48 reviews)
About
Southern Cross 4WD offers a range of 4WD Eco-Tours and customized packages throughout the Gold Coast Hinterland and surrounds. From Guided nature walks, animal spotting, bird feeding and off-road driving. Every tour is a unique experience and is...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 07:00 - 20:30
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Shop 5 3078 Surfers Paradise Bvd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Website
+61 7 5574 5041
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Southern Cross 4WD Tours
from US$70.93
More Info
from US$63.69
More Info
from US$107.12
More Info
from US$63.69
More Info
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
328
63
11
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
328
63
11
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full day tour bbq lunch glow worms lamington national park bird feeding wine tasting tamborine mountain whip cracking morning tea boomerang throwing off road natural bridge rainforest walk curtis falls saw lots of wildlife old church awesome tour
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

I agree with all the previous reviewers. It is a relaxing afternoon, away from the Gold Coast seeing a different aspect of the area. You do spend a lot of time riding in the van; it's almost an hour before you're at the first falls....More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank William M
StephanieW4279, Owner at Southern Cross 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

G'Day William M, Thanks for your review We appreciate you sharing your thoughts about the afternoon and are glad to hear you had a great time. Take Care

Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow! What a gem. From the friendly welcome to the awesomeness of walking through the treetops and magnificent rainforest this was one of the highlights of our holiday. You walk along a trail on around 3 kilometers, it is an easy walk with different plants...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank 558alistairg
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a nice way to spend the day! Our tour guide Tim was extremely friendly and engaging, very knowledgeable and I felt like I was in good hands with him. The 4WD drive trip up the mountain was bumpy but exciting (almost like a theme...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Kimberley B
StephanieW4279, Owner at Southern Cross 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kimberley B, Thanks for taking the time to write us such a lovely 5 star review. We are so happy to hear that you loved your Outback Tracks Morning Tour with Tim and he will be equally pleased with your compliments. Next time you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have done the full day tour which was great. Good value for money. Lots of educational on the forest side. Lunch was absolutely beautiful loved the food. Thanks again ladies on lunch venue it was truly beautiful lunch. Even had a lesson on boomerang...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank MaryS8852
StephanieW4279, Owner at Southern Cross 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi MaryS8852, Thanks for your 5 star review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the tour and that the lunch, boomerangs and the guide sharing their knowledge about the rainforest with you was a highlight of your day. We love hearing from you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The views would have been stunning in good weather. Unfortunately it rained so we couldn't see much and the 4WD track was cancelled. A nice cream tea included at quaint old houseMore

Thank Tracey B
StephanieW4279, Owner at Southern Cross 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Tracey B, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Sorry to hear about the weather. For us the rain was a welcome change as its been very dry here and without the rain we wouldn't have such beautiful rainforests to showcase...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I didn't particularly enjoy sitting in the back while travelling on the winding road, but I did love the scenery once we started going up in the hills. We visited 2 lookouts and one waterfall. The nature is beautiful but I felt like we spent...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank ZeljkaVladic
StephanieW4279, Owner at Southern Cross 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi ZelijkaVladic, Thanks for your review and sharing your thoughts with us about your tour. We agree the nature is beautiful and worth the trip out to see it! The destinations can be quite a drive away so we are glad we could assist you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Tour host left 6/8 customers while she was at the bus. We had no idea where they were cause we stopped to wait for other tourist who were taking photos. She promoted her other job all the way. We now all know she has a...More

Thank ShazzaW8
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We cannot speak highly enough of this tour. Our tour guide was Tim, he was a wealth of information, happy to answer any of our questions. We felt safe and happy in his presence! The tour itself was beautiful, a nice early start 8am. 4wd'ing...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank kyles14
StephanieW4279, Owner at Southern Cross 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi kyles14, We love hearing from our customers and are thrilled knowing you had an incredible experience with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and rating us 5 stars. It is very appreciated We hope you will come out on...More

Reviewed 18 January 2019 via mobile

This full day tour was simply wonderful! Our driver / guide, Aaron was outstanding - very knowledgeable, courteous and fun to spend the day with. We were able to experience Australia as a local would. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and really appreciated Aaron as...More

Thank larryw7050
StephanieW4279, Owner at Southern Cross 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi larryw7050, Thanks for your 5 star review of our Full Day Tour. We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful experience and I will pass on your feedback to Arran. It is comments like yours that make our day! Thank you again

Reviewed 15 January 2019

This is a wonderland in the rainforest Anyone who has a holiday on the Gold Coast should spend a day at Tamborine Mountain

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Gerard B
StephanieW4279, Owner at Southern Cross 4WD Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Gerard So pleased to hear you enjoyed the tour and thank you for your recommendation! Take Care

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 33 nearby hotels
Mantra Legends Hotel
3,330 reviews
.06 miles away
The Island Gold Coast
157 reviews
.11 miles away
voco Gold Coast
2,216 reviews
.12 miles away
Q1 Resort and Spa
3,112 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 440 nearby restaurants
Shiraz Authentic Persian Restaurant
517 reviews
.06 miles away
Amin's Kitchen
67 reviews
.04 miles away
Pancakes in Paradise
898 reviews
.06 miles away
Fables Restaurant
225 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 178 nearby attractions
SkyPoint Climb
1,239 reviews
.13 miles away
SkyPoint Observation Deck
3,291 reviews
.12 miles away
St Vincent's Catholic Church
31 reviews
.15 miles away
Paradise Centre
87 reviews
.16 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Pek R
25 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from StephanieW4279 | Property representative |
Hi Pek R, Thanks for your question. Yes, your mum will be fine to do the 4WD aspect of the tour, its not extreme off-roading Our tours are catered for all, from Grandparents to Grandkids, including all of our rainforest... More
1
Vote
Isa_201606
3 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jo B | Reviewed this property |
Double check with the tour operator, our tour did not include the glow worms - possibly because they are visible at night when it is dark
0
Votes
ryannmcneil
25 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Davina P | Reviewed this property |
We did the night tour. Didn't see kangaroos or wallabies, but saw the very small possums up in the trees above us, trap-door spider, an Australian mouse (cuter than the common NZ house mouse), a snail the size of a tennis... More
1
Vote