We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Explore Group

Open today: 07:30 - 19:30
Share
Book In Advance
Tours from Explore Group tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
328
All photos (328)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good17%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“grinder”(32 reviews)
“dinner cruise”(21 reviews)
About
Feel the thrill of sailing an authentic America's Cup yacht. Take the helm to help steer on course or work hard on the grinders to hoist the mainsail during this hands on sailing adventure on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour.
Open Now
Hours Today: 07:30 - 19:30
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
| Viaduct Harbour, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Website
+64 9-359 5987
Call
Ways to Experience Explore Group
from US$125.90
More Info
from US$69.30
More Info
from US$101.50
More Info
from US$83.30
More Info
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed 10 September 2014

After 24 hours of flying from the US, I knew I'd be too tired to function for the evening, but I did not want to waste my limited time in Auckland, either. This was the perfect solution. Tons of fresh air, pleasant young crew, and...More

4  Thank mrsagf
Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed 20 November 2014

Dinner cruise went like this...........left Viaduct Harbour.....straight to Westhaven Marina 10 min.......tied up to a pole.......all downstairs for a meal, no view..........after dinner sail under Harbour Bridge to Birkenhead...sails back to Viaduct Harbour.......all over !!!

7  Thank steveAuckland
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
299
72
11
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
299
72
11
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sailing experience grinder dinner cruise america's cup yacht auckland harbour hour sail friendly crew high winds perfect weather new zealand two hours bucket list maritime museum an awesome experience couple of hours great trip waiheke island
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I took this cruise and it was the best decision we made to start our trip. After 25 hours on planes getting to Auckland we took this cruise and it was incredible. The staff Kurt, Pedro and Bridgeyt were so friendly and...More

Thank eric s
ExploreGroup, Marketing Communications Specialist at Explore Group, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi eric s. Thanks so much for taking the time to send through your review, i'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Kurt, Pedro and Bridget. So great to read you enjoyed your time out with us and we were able to...More

Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

I loved this sail. I got to drive the sail boat which was on my bucket list for a very long time! The crew were amazing and we had the perfect day for sailing. This is a must do in Auckland!

Thank Ena A
ExploreGroup, Marketing Communications Specialist at Explore Group, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Ena A. Yay for ticking an item off your bucket list - we're glad we could be of assistance ⛵✅ Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review - it's great to receive feedback like yours! ^AP

Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our outing with the Explore crew onboard one of the America’s Cup training boats (monohull). The crew was professional and friendly, the sailing excellent (we had perfect weather). With or without experience, everyone will enjoy these few hours out on the...More

Thank 508henric
ExploreGroup, Marketing Communications Specialist at Explore Group, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Henri C. Great to read you enjoyed your time out on the water - having the weather play ball certainly helps :) Thanks for your review and for recommending us to others, we really appreciate it! ^AP

Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

What an amazing 2 hours sailing on an America’s cup yacht!! Brad provided an experience to remember. Highly recommended and no need for any previous sailing experience just a sense of adventure.

Thank gillkeithclements
ExploreGroup, Marketing Communications Specialist at Explore Group, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi gillkeithclements. Thanks so much for leaving a review and recommending us to others! So great to read you enjoyed your sail, it was a pleasure to have you on board ⛵ Thanks for choosing Explore! ^AP

Reviewed 27 September 2018

Unbelievable! We planned our whole day around this trip as they only have one sailing per day and they cancelled it only AN HOUR before sailing. What terrible customer service!More

Thank SMFNTravels
ExploreGroup, Marketing Communications Specialist at Explore Group, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi SMFNTravels. Apologies for the disappointment of having your trip canceled. If it's any consolation - we would have liked to have gone out sailing too :) Unfortunately from time to time our trips can't go due to unforeseen circumstances like weather conditions. We will...More

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Just had to. Had to postpone a day due to high winds. Easy to find in the harbour. Our teenage sons got stuck in on the grinders. Everyone got a chance to helm. The crew were really easy going. There are easier ways to explore...More

Thank Ian S
ExploreGroup, Marketing Communications Specialist at Explore Group, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Hi Ian S. Thanks so much for taking the time to send through your review - great to hear you and the family enjoyed your time out with us, sounds like you made the most of the experience! It was great to have you on...More

Reviewed 14 September 2018

My then boyfriend and I had an excellent time during the whole trip. The booking process at Viaduct was smooth and the crew team during the dinner cruise were very thoughtful to the guests. It was also very informative, since both of us were new...More

Thank Explore815355
ExploreGroup, Marketing Communications Specialist at Explore Group, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Hi Deon Cielo M First and foremost - Congratulations on your engagement! That's very exciting, and we're glad we could play a small part! Thanks so much for your review, we're glad you enjoyed the whole experience. Well wishes to you both for your happy...More

Reviewed 9 September 2018

If you're a sailing enthusiast, this is as good as it gets! Not only are you along for the ride on a replica of an America's Cup yacht, you're also part of the crew, taking turns at the helm and "grinding the winches". We were...More

Thank George D
ExploreGroup, Marketing Communications Specialist at Explore Group, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Hi George D. Thanks so much for taking the time to send through your helpful review. We're glad the weather played ball and you were able to go out on an exhilarating sail. Perfect conditions for an enthusiast like yourself! Thanks again for your review,...More

Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We had a great time on the Dinner cruise. Alex, Bridgette and Alana were our skippers crew and they were fun laid back people. We just missed the sunset by about 10-15 minutes but I’m sure later in the year the start of the tour...More

Thank Lauren M
ExploreGroup, Marketing Communications Specialist at Explore Group, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Hi Lauren M. So glad to read you enjoyed your time out with us on the Dinner Cruise - it was great to have you on board, and I will be sure to pass on your kind feedback to the team. It's shame you just...More

Reviewed 19 August 2018

The crew was really comfortable with delivering an experience. The sail was truly wondeful and is highly recommended. I would suggest that possible less people go per trip.

Thank U4121PHalanh
ExploreGroup, Marketing Communications Specialist at Explore Group, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Hey Alan H. Thanks so much for sending through your review - great to hear you enjoyed your time out with us, it was great to have you on board! ^AP

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 69 nearby hotels
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1,295 reviews
.04 miles away
M Social Auckland
338 reviews
.07 miles away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
872 reviews
.17 miles away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
659 reviews
.17 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,460 nearby restaurants
Soul Bar and Bistro
1,878 reviews
.03 miles away
White & Wong's
457 reviews
.04 miles away
Oyster & Chop
701 reviews
.05 miles away
Dr Rudi's Rooftop Brewing Co.
281 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 690 nearby attractions
New Zealand Maritime Museum
1,021 reviews
.08 miles away
Coast-to-Coast Walkway
139 reviews
.05 miles away
Ferry Building
363 reviews
.20 miles away
Auckland i-SITE Visitor Information Centre - Princes Wharf
47 reviews
.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
shaundevine2018
17 February 2018|
Answer
Response from DonnaB4171 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, the weather in late August is still a bit chilly, however you would be travelling in the off peak season which means less crowds and a more personalised tour. New Zealand is a beautiful place to visit in any season and... More
0
Votes
applemay2017
17 November 2017|
Answer
Response from edith h | Reviewed this property |
These yachts are a completely different type experience from dinghies... Best really ask Explore about time of day. It can vary depending on the time of year. I would go for the race experience...gives the experience an edge.
0
Votes
Michael W
4 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Lee P | Reviewed this property |
Good refund policy for weather. I booked through bookme . co . nz And got the trip for $99.00. Worth every cent loved it....
0
Votes
gmyjby
11 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ExploreGroup | Property representative |
Hi, here is our cancellation policy: You can cancel your booking without penalty up to 24 hours before departure of the trip. Cancellations within 24 hours of departure are subject to 100% cancellation charge. Kind... More
0
Votes
tancannie
28 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from ExploreGroup | Property representative |
Hi Cannie, sorry for the delay in getting back to you. The America's Cup Sailing is an active sailing experience, with the boat heeling in light breezes and passengers moving from one side to another to be comfortable. I... More
0
Votes