We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About GreatSights
Founded in 1987, GreatSights New Zealand operates the most comprehensive range of premium day sightseeing tours in New Zealand. Our nationwide network provides luxury sightseeing tours to destinations throughout New Zealand. Day tours from Auckland include the Bay of Islands, Waitomo Caves, Rotorua and the Hobbiton Movie Set. Everything is taken care of when you travel with GreatSights. Entrance fees are included within the tour price and optional extras like lunches can be added if required. Complimentary hotel transfers are provided on most tours and our experienced local driver guides will keep you entertained with informative commentary throughout the tour.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 07:00 - 20:00
Certificate of Excellence
Contact
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Travellers talk about
Tours and Tickets by GreatSights
Tours from GreatSights tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour
40 reviews
US$187.69 per adult
Full-day Bay of Islands, Hole in the Rock and Dolphin Cruise Tour from Auckland
1 review
US$200.30 per adult
Waitomo Glowworm Caves Discovery Tour from Auckland
28 reviews
US$184.19 per adult
Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland
164 reviews
US$175.78 per adult
Auckland Discovery City Tour
59 reviews
US$51.12 per adult
See More Tours
Reviews (716)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveller rating
457
113
38
33
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
457
113
38
33
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great sights waitomo caves bus driver glow worm caves day tour hobbiton movie set driver damien new zealand cape reinga te puia milford sound mt cook hobbiton tour boat ride green dragon picked up from our hotel great tour
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 678 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were picked up from Auckland - Central by a driver named Eric on January 28, 2019 (Bus 1129; License JJD473). This driver was knowledgeable about the area but talked the entire ride to Hobbiton. We requested twice for the volume to be turned down;...More

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank fpa00
GreatSightsNZ, Marketing at GreatSights, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora fpa00, We're sorry to hear you were disappointed by the commentary offered on this tour, as we generally get positive feedback for Eric - and that the traffic conditions meant your journey was longer than usual. We do appreciate you sharing your thoughts...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took the morning half day tour of Auckland and couldn’t have been happier. We had a fantastic driver who gave us plenty of information with a lovely sense of humour. She made the tour very interesting. I would highly recommend this tour, it gave...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Travelwisetwosome
GreatSightsNZ, Marketing at GreatSights, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora Travelwisetwosome, It's wonderful you enjoyed your half day Auckland tour - thank you for your kind recommendation! All the best for your future travels, Amanda and the team at GreatSightsNZ

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from almost 3 fabulous weeks in New Zealand. As part of the trip we booked a 4 day National Parks & Glaciers Tour with Scenic Pacific which used the Great Sights trips to form their tours. We thoroughly enjoyed our Great...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank 573joh
GreatSightsNZ, Marketing at GreatSights, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora 573joh, Thank you for your wonderful recommendation for our driver and the tour itself, we're so glad you enjoyed it! All the best for your future travels, Amanda and the team at GreatSights

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

we did a day tour,our kids enjoyed it very much .especially when the ferry went through hole in the rock .Our tour guide Racheal was amazing.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Manny P
GreatSightsNZ, Marketing at GreatSights, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora Manny P, It's great to hear you enjoyed your trip to the Hole in the Rock - we'll be sure to pass your kind feedback on to Racheal! All the best for your future travels, Amanda and the team at GreatSights

Reviewed 4 January 2019

Excellent tour to Bay of Islands with Racheal as our tour guide. Lovely scenery and interesting learning more about the Waitangi Treaty Grounds. Russell is a nice island.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Diane D
GreatSightsNZ, Marketing at GreatSights, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora Diane D, It's great to hear how much you enjoyed Waitangi and Russell! All the best for your future travels, Amanda and the team at GreatSights

Reviewed 16 November 2018

We took the tour “Queenstown to Christchurch via Mt Cook (GS9662)” by GreatSights. While the sceneries were great, we were disappointed with the tour arrangement. Too much time wasted in restroom stops, and too few photo stops. The entire trip had three restroom stops (which...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank flying2chiefs
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

We did a day tour starting in Auckland and going to Waitomo, the Agrodome, Te Puia and ending in Rotorua. Our guid, Kenny, was amazing! Very fun and interesting! The whole day was great and all the activities were beautiful and interesting. We got some...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank shiraneh
GreatSightsNZ, Marketing at GreatSights, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Kia ora Shirane H, We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your tour and will pass your very kind feedback on to Kenny! All the best for your future travels, Amanda and the team at Greatsights

Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Great drive, scenic view and a magical experience like none other. And if your driver is as knowledgeable and fun as Tony, then that’s it baby, your day is made! Don’t know the others but by the reviews I’ve read here, ask for Tony! He’s...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Nadeem C
GreatSightsNZ, Marketing at GreatSights, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Kia ora Nadeem C, It's great to hear you enjoyed your experience with Tony so much, thanks for your great feedback! All the best for your future travels, Amand and the team at GreatSights

Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

The drive between Mt Cook and Queenstown was scenic and pleasant. However our bus driver Steward was extremely impolite and unprofessional. 1. From our pick up point at our hotel in Mt Cook, 3 out of 4 of our luggages were not loaded on the...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank muilengmadelinetan
GreatSightsNZ, Marketing at GreatSights, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Kia ora muilenmadelinetan, We're sorry to hear you haven't been satisfied with your experience on this tour. We have passed your feedback on tor our driver, who mentions that he wasn't aware of one your pieces of luggage, and that he did need to repeat...More

Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

The trip from Routora to Waitomo was great with good driver and explanation of the surroundings, it was a delight listening to the person, however on our way back we took the bus from Waitomo at 11:00 and reached back at 1:30 pm, the bus...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Suhas S
GreatSightsNZ, Marketing at GreatSights, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Kia ora Suhas S, Thank you for your feedback, we do apologise that you were disappointed with the second half of your tour. We have also received your feedback through Facebook and we are looking into this with our customer service team. All the best...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
PhamT1234
16 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Lorraine D | Reviewed this property |
Yes, you can go on their website to find all the options and prices for the specific tour you want. Hope this helps. Enjoy the tour.
0
Votes
globetrottingshirlsb
13 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from GreatSightsNZ | Property representative |
Kia ora Shirls B, I'm sorry that you haven't heard from someone in our team. We are answering a high number of emails but we will get back to you as soon as we can.
0
Votes
zickzen
31 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from GreatSightsNZ | Property representative |
Kia ora zickzen, Our Hobbiton and Waitomo day tour is approximately 11 hours long, departing Auckland at 8am and returning at 7pm. Our coach seats 53 people comfortably and offer free WiFi, USB charging ports and an onboard... More
0
Votes