We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village

17 Tryon Street | Whakarewarewa Village, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
+64 7-349 3463
Website
Share
Save
Book In Advance
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
In August 2015 Whakarewarewa received recognition as one of the Lonely Planets’ Top 500 Ultimate Travel Destinations, being ranked at #276 in the world. he Living Maori Village is set among the geothermal landscape of the Te Whakarewarewa Valley, a ten minute walk from town. See the Geysers, Bubbling Pools, Mud Pools, and Steam Vents and walk our back tracks with amazing photo opportunities. The Living Maori Village is an authentic and unique attraction where the villagers live, cook and bath in the geothermal waters on a daily basis. The entry fee includes a fully guided tour and Maori Cultural Performance, including the world famous HAKA. Our guides are direct descendants of the guides who guided at the Pink and White Terraces over 170 years ago, this legacy is as important today as it was then.
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good31%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“guided tour” (242 reviews)
“cultural show” (174 reviews)
“hangi pie” (42 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 08:30 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
17 Tryon Street | Whakarewarewa Village, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 7-349 3463
Ways to Experience Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village
from US$24.20
More Info
from US$40.20
More Info
from US$33.90
More Info
from US$131.60
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (2,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guided tour"
in 242 reviews
"cultural show"
in 174 reviews
"hangi pie"
in 42 reviews
"maori village"
in 149 reviews
"corn on the cob"
in 37 reviews
"hangi lunch"
in 25 reviews
"souvenir shops"
in 26 reviews
"authentic experience"
in 29 reviews
"prince of wales"
in 19 reviews
"geothermal activity"
in 85 reviews
"te puia"
in 96 reviews
"hot springs"
in 64 reviews
"food cooked"
in 19 reviews
"thermal pools"
in 76 reviews
"pohutu geyser"
in 44 reviews
"great insight"
in 29 reviews
"new zealand"
in 85 reviews
Filter

1,541 - 1,550 of 1,796 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was one of the highlights of this trip! The guide was phenomenal and the village and they way they live and all the steam rising and everything we learned and saw made this a very special part of our vacation. This is a must...More

1  Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMVT, Local Marketing Liaison at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your comments while visiting Te Whakarewarewa the Living Maori Village Whakarewarewa is amazing especially for those visitors who decide to come see what is unique about the village and be astounded of the lifestyle of the families living around activity geothermal surroundings....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Enjoyed our visit. The guided tour was interesting for adults, a little too long for my younger children. Liked that it was rustic and not too polished, a real living establishment.More

Thank cndawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMVT, Local Marketing Liaison at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your comments while visiting Te Whakarewarewa the Living Maori Village I understand that the guided tours are informative and for young children maybe not be interested of the context of the tour. What makes us unique for the families that live in...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

What a fantastic day. We started off having a Hangi Pie which is a must have before our guided tour at the shop just inside. Tour guide was great and down to earth and very informative. Maori culture show was enjoyable with the poi dancing...More

Thank Rlstravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMVT, Local Marketing Liaison at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your comments while visiting Te Whakarewarewa the Living Maori Village Our Hangi pies has been a winner from the time it was introduced onto the menu. Everyone who has tried our Hangi pie have not been disappointed and have enjoy how delicious...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Awesome experience - thoroughly enjoyable time, finding out all about the area and history of the place, well worth a visit.More

Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMVT, Local Marketing Liaison at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your comments while visiting Te Whakarewarewa the Living Maori Village So happy to know that, not only did you enjoy your visit to Whakarewarewa, you had also got great value from your experience as our staff have some association to the village...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Well worth a visit if you have time. Its a one stop shop, this village has a range of options for you to experience and its all in one place. Maori culture, thermal geysers, cultural performances, what more could you ask for. It pays to...More

Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMVT, Local Marketing Liaison at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your comments on your visit to Te Whakarewarewa the Living Maori Village It is great that you had enjoyed your experience here at Whakarewarewa and that you had the opportunity to take in our cultural, environment and hospitality. Bookings assists our admissions...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Well worth a visit! We took the guided tour (and added the concert and hangi). The guide was very informative. The concert - very 'natural' - not a glitzy performance, but full of feeling and vitality. Lunch was filling. Worth a visit!More

Thank DADD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMVT, Local Marketing Liaison at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for you comments while visiting Te Whakarewarewa the Living Maori Village. Its great that you had the opportunity to try our Geothermal Hangi Experience, that you got value and had enjoyed your experience. I hope that you had the time to try our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I have been to Whakarewarewa on 2 occasions, and have loved both visits. Our guide Paora, was humorous, informative and friendly. He was happy to answer any questions and gave us an insight into just how the Māori people used the geothermal area. It was...More

Thank nh993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMVT, Local Marketing Liaison at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your views and comments while visiting Te Whakarewarewa the Living Maori Village Impressive that you have visited the village twice and have loved both times you have been here. Glad to know that you had enjoyed your guided tour, Paora is part...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is a place unlike anything we've seen before. The geysers & other geothermal activities are truly amazing. The Maori village is also very interesting to look round and there was a free cultural show which lasted about 30 minutes. Allow half a day minimum...More

Thank Rogita180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMVT, Local Marketing Liaison at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your views and comments while visiting Te Whakarewarewa the Living Maori Village Our home is truly amazing and you are right there is nothing as unique as the village. So pleased that you got the opportunity to view the cultural performance and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

What an amazing place to walk around and enjoy some Maori cultures in a unique setting. We had a lovely guide that's as not on,y very knowledgable but who obviously took great pride in being prof the village itself. The concert was beautiful and brought...More

Thank MrsDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMVT, Local Marketing Liaison at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your views and comments while visiting Te Whakarewarewa the Living Maori Village It is so good to know that you had taken time to come visit Whakarewarewa and loved every moment of your experience here. It is more enjoyable that you had...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This place is amazing. Not only is it an actual village that is lived in, they welcome the tourists in and are willing to show their ways of living and how they use the world around them in their daily lives (e.g. the hot ground...More

Thank eckyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMVT, Local Marketing Liaison at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your review and comments while visiting Te Whakarewarewa the Living Maori village. Appreciate that you had enjoy your experience here at Whakarewarewa. That you were in amazed that families continue their livelihood and able to share that with all guests to our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 90 hotels in Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
990 reviews
.08 miles away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
174 reviews
.08 miles away
Green View Hotels
100 reviews
.14 miles away
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
300 reviews
.19 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Ciabatta Cafe and Bakery
597 reviews
.81 miles away
Urbano Bistro
923 reviews
.93 miles away
Chapmans Restaurant
160 reviews
.07 miles away
Mr Yakitori
82 reviews
.24 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Te Puia
4,518 reviews
.34 miles away
Redwoods Treewalk
684 reviews
.95 miles away
New Zealand Maori Arts and Crafts Institute
119 reviews
.37 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Stella C
15 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Lexie2Hawick | Reviewed this property |
Hi. The tour took about 1 hour the performance approx 45 mins.
1
Vote
3 February 2018|
Answer
Response from Dane40 | Reviewed this property |
The village is located in town so easy to get there. Only the Maori people actually living in the village use the pools - and only after visiting hours. If you want to go into hot pools go to Hells Gate instead. They have... More
0
Votes
nasimah981
10 December 2017|
Answer
Response from 708Robin | Reviewed this property |
The centre is open from 8.30 in the morning. The tour and entertainment were all part of the tour.
0
Votes