We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Te Puia

Hemo Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
+64 7-348 9047
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$38.72*
and up
Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with Optional Cultural Performance
More Info
US$73.72*
and up
Te Puia Maori Cultural Tour and Steambox Lunch
More Info
US$85.64*
and up
Rotorua Cultural Eco Small Group Afternoon Tour
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Te Puia spans 70 hectares within the historic Te Whakarewarewa Valley, on the edge of town. We are home to the world famous Pohutu geyser, to mud pools, hot springs, to silica formations to the Kiwi bird and the national schools of wood carving, weaving, stone and bone carving. We have shared these treasures with manuhiri (visitors) for 170 years and proudly continue that legacy today.
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good33%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“kiwi house” (223 reviews)
“guided tour” (317 reviews)
“pohutu geyser” (192 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 17:00
LOCATION
Hemo Road, Rotorua, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 7-348 9047
Write a Review
Reviews (3,660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

981 - 990 of 3,089 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
113
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

Ok, so I came here wanting to be submerged in Maori culture. We did have an awesome tour guide (Jojo?) and I loved her story of her family history and Maori history in general. That's what I was expecting more of. Culture of Maori people...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TePuia, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Kia Ora! Thank you for the review, we appreciate the kind words. We are happy that you were able to have an awesome time with us and we take great pride in providing the best service to our customers. We are so blessed with the...More

Reviewed 12 April 2016

We had Guy as our guide and the experience was absolutely amazing on all levels!! Beautifully done with some very special personal touches, natives spices and traditional herb drink, hot chocolate. The dinner food was extremely fresh and beautifully prepared by proper chef's. The entertainment...More

Thank SamCranny
TePuia, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Kia Ora Friend! We love to hear from our customers so thank you for going out of your way to review us. This review is a great reflection and we can see that you had a good time with us. Te Po is a great...More

Reviewed 12 April 2016

Arrived at 09.30 was not crowded, our group guided by a very knowledgeable guide boiling mud pools and geysers were amazing, there is a Maori carving school for you to learn and watch how it's done also a super gift shop to relieve you of...More

Thank Malcolm T
TePuia, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Kia Ora! It is always great to hear from our customers, especially when they are such great reviews like this one. We loved reading your thoughtful review and we thank you for giving us such kind words. Yes, we are truly fortunate to have so...More

Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

Lots of steam and hot water. Mud pools were a little disappointing. The cultural show was very entertaining. You can skip the meal to save a few bucks. The arts and crafts are worth while.More

Thank AHSRiverrat
TePuia, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Tena Koe! We truly value the review you have given us. It is great to see that you had a lovely time with us and we make sure that our customers are well taken care of. We are so lucky to have the geo thermal...More

Reviewed 11 April 2016

Te Puia is a really great place to visit while in Rotorua. It is home to several geysers that go off twice an hour, bubbling mud pools and hot springs. There is a cultural show that happens twice a day, and Te Puia is home...More

Thank penny_layn
TePuia, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Kia Ora! It is always great to hear from our customers, especially when they are such great reviews like this one. We loved reading your thoughtful review and we thank you for giving us such kind words. Yes, we are truly fortunate to have so...More

Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

We went for the afternoon evening combo, and it was everything we imagined and more. An absolute must do for anyone in the area, totally impressed. What amazing staff, your enthusiasm is inspiring, thank you for having us!More

Thank Jess J
TePuia, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Kia Ora! It is always great to hear from our customers, especially when they are such great reviews like this one. We loved reading your thoughtful review and we thank you for giving us such kind words. Yes, we are truly fortunate to have so...More

Reviewed 11 April 2016

There's lots to see but it's all quite similar. A lot of walking which is nice. I found the Kiwis and Maori village to be sub par compared to other dedicated attractions here. It's a nice day if you have limited time and want to...More

Thank Skimsa
TePuia, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Kia ora! Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate receiving constructive feedback from customers. We do hope that you took one of our guided tours during your time here. These explain a bit more about the geysers, kiwi and most importantly, that we’re here...More

Reviewed 10 April 2016

This a must to visit to see the geyser and thermal area around. Kiwis, Fantastic gift shop and the cultural evening and te po just fantastic to see. Can work out expensive but don't miss out to save a few pennies ...it's a one off...More

Thank D E
TePuia, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Kia Ora Friend! We love to hear from our customers so thank you for going out of your way to review us. This review is a great reflection and we can see that you had a good time with us. Te Po is a great...More

Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Went on a recent trip. We enjoyed the cultural performance and had a nice lunch... bit pricey mind you. We caught one of thr hourly tours and while our guide was knowledgeable, i felt she was a bit bored with giving the tours and a...More

Thank Simone H
TePuia, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Kia ora! Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate receiving constructive feedback from customers. We are truly fortunate to have so many awesome features like the geo thermal geysers and mud pools, along with other great assets like Kiwi House and the carving and...More

Reviewed 9 April 2016

If you are at Te Puia when the geysers are erupting, it is amazing. If you're not, I guess it could be rather disappointing. We opted for the guided walk and our guide Kiri was wonderful. She called us all family, which was a special...More

Thank SusanW681
TePuia, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Kia Ora! It is always great to hear from our customers, especially when they are such great reviews like this one. We loved reading your thoughtful review and we thank you for giving us such kind words. Yes, we are truly fortunate to have so...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Chapmans Restaurant
138 reviews
.30 miles away
Mr Yakitori
64 reviews
.37 miles away
Flava By Fusion
12 reviews
.36 miles away
Devon Sea Foods
15 reviews
.81 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village
1,670 reviews
.15 miles away
Te Whakarewarewa Geothermal Valley
66 reviews
.04 miles away
New Zealand Maori Arts and Crafts Institute
86 reviews
.17 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
FazyMokh
Hi.. I would like to know: how much is the entrance fee? Can I go in without tour guide? Thanx...
14 April 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from haylaura | Reviewed this property |
Hey, yes, you can visit Te Puia without a guide, and can visit the same sites - the Arts and Crafts Institute, Kiwi House and all the geothermal wonders - on your own. They offer free guided walking tours every hour on the... More
1
Vote
JemYanzon
Hi! Visiting NZ with so little time and so many places that I want to go to :P Anyway, how long does the Te Puia tour take? Is there another place that I can visit after te puia, to maximize my day?
26 March 2017|
Answer Show all 8 answers
Response from Darrell J | Reviewed this property |
The guided tour takes an hour, starting on the hour throughout the day. The Maori concert runs 3 times daily and lasts around 45 minutes so if time is limited, you will need to plan with care. Could easily visit the... More
2
Votes
afoxyfamily
We are visiting Taupo, Rotorua and Te Puia, where are the best places to stay away from the smell? Does Te Puia smell as we found a fantastic place to stay? Are we better to stay in one place for a few days and just do day trips to theses places? We are a family of 4 with teenagers.
19 March 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from madmaxx79 | Reviewed this property |
You could easily base yourselves in one place and do day trips, especially if you have found a great place to stay. Te Puia is basically in Rotorua. We did not find the smell in Rotorua to be overwhelming. The only place... More
1
Vote