We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kryal Castle

Features Animals
121 Forbes Rd | Leigh Creek, Ballarat, Victoria 3352, Australia
+61 3 5334 8555
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.10*
and up
Kryal Castle Adventure Park Admission Ticket
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Kryal Castle Adventure Park & Resort in Ballarat, Victoria officially reopened their doors to its NEW land of medieval adventure on March 2, 2013. Kryal Castle has been transformed for the first time since opening in the 1970s - to bring back to life this Victorian tourism icon which in November 2013 won Best New Tourism Development at the RACV Victorian Tourism Awards. An adventure park unlike any other in Australia, it brings to life a legendary and mythical land of medieval knights, battles, dragons, wizards, kings, enchanting queens, princesses and fairies. The multi-million dollar redevelopment restored all areas of the original castle including the moat, drawbridge, maze and castle towers, as well as refurbishment of seventeen four-star, luxury on-site castle suites, with hand-woven French and Belgium tapestries. Open weekends, school holidays and public holidays from 10 am - 4pm (latest entry 3pm)- prepare for excitement at the new Kryal Castle - there are plenty of wonders and medieval marvels for EVERYONE - little kids and big kids - parents and grandparents - alike!
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good32%
  • Average18%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“torture chamber” (27 reviews)
“face painting” (26 reviews)
“pony rides” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 16:00
LOCATION
121 Forbes Rd | Leigh Creek, Ballarat, Victoria 3352, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 3 5334 8555
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

The place is amazing and particularly exciting for children of all ages. The show they presented was well rehearsed and very funny. I would recommend this to any family

Thank frang502016
Reviewed 6 days ago

We had a wonderful time, the room was everything that it was advertised as and the same price as a boring motel in town. We stayed during a time that was out of the scheduled events and so were not fortunate enough to see all...More

Thank fredrutter
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Short summary, this place is the bomb and all y'all need to get around Kryal Castle. We went with the 4yo fruit from my loin and extended family and had a great day. Where else can you go to see jousting, sword fighting, archery, and...More

Thank thebigdoghasgottoeat
KryalCastle1, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi, did you feed the dog? Thanks for such a great review, good to see your visit was full of equal greatness. Hope your 4yo had a ball, did you retrieve him from the maze? Keith

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great day with our 3 kids. Lots of fun and things to do and the jousting show was very funny and entertaining. The maze was a hit. Not too expensive either. Ignore the poor reviews - I expect these come from people...More

Thank kingcameronf
KryalCastle1, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi King Cameron Glad you found the joust fun. Did Sir Guy cheat by any chance. It certainly seemed that way to me and the Sherrif’s counting was certainly a bit dodgy. Glad you had a great time. Huzzah Regards Keith

Reviewed 1 week ago

Another fun day for the family, but this time at Kryal Castle, where the doors are opened from 10am till 4pm. The cost for two adults and two children was $99, you also receive your guide brochure with the daily program. We strictly followed the...More

Thank Paulie S
KryalCastle1, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Paulie What a great and comprehensive review, sounds like you really made the most of your visit and had a great time. You totally nailed the best way to spend a day at the castle by following the guide book. That way you get...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

After remembering Kryal Castle 30 plus years ago, I had higher hopes of a more interesting experience. My Wife and I decided on an overnight stay in Ballarat, A King Suite was booked, and the lure of a Medieval Feast and show had us intrigued....More

1  Thank 742suzieq
KryalCastle1, Public Relations Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Susie. Sorry you didn’t have a great time and found your visit disappointing. I will pass your comments regarding your room to the appropriate area, thank you for providing us with your feedback. Regards Keith

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

“DISAPPOINTED!!!” First time to Kryal Castle, I booked one family suite and King Suite. After checking in, we found out no WIFI reception in suite 1, and went to reception to speak to the Manager about this, we were then confronted with an unprofessional explanation...More

2  Thank Jaklee2000
Paul Q, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jaklee2000, Thanks for your review. First off, we would like to apologise again for the lack of WiFi in Room 1 and also if we came across as unprofessional in our response to you. However, the reasons you have listed above were not meant...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just got back from a great day out at Kryal Castle. Despite being a 42 yo Victorian, had never been and took my three sons - aged 14, 13 and 10 on school holidays. Surprised to read some one-star reviews from cynical people! Take Kryal...More

1  Thank Geelong_Dad74
KryalCastle1, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Geelong Dad. Thank you for such a nice review, certainly good to see you and your kids had such a great time. We are currently working with the council on road signage and agree it would be good to have some more pointers on...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Maybe my memory is fading. Possibly the memories of a child are distorted in adulthood. Or maybe, just maybe this place has changed. It lacks character. The place now looks dated. It's also expensive. I understand that it costs money to hire ( high school...More

2  Thank Sebastian B
KryalCastle1, Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Sebastian Thank you for your feedback. Our staff, who are trained actors, do put on a good show and we often receive a lot of praise for the quality of their work so it was obviously disappointing to see that you didn’t have a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There wasn't a lot to do & the skits were hard to follow & understand due to the Party not being loud enough. Very expensive for what it is.More

1  Thank Bernadette S
KryalCastle1, Guest Relations Manager at Kryal Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Bernadette. We are sorry you didn’t have a good visit to the castle, we do pride ourselves on offering our customers a unique and wonderful experience so it doesn’t make us happy if you’re not. We have had some issues with the quality of...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
japanese restaurant kambei
257 reviews
4.82 miles away
Carboni's Italian Kitchen
152 reviews
4.56 miles away
The Red Lion
319 reviews
4.75 miles away
Ballarat Provedore
93 reviews
1.29 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Sovereign Hill
2,735 reviews
4.99 miles away
Ballarat Wildlife Park
714 reviews
3.61 miles away
The Gold Museum
455 reviews
4.92 miles away
Museum of Australian Democracy at Eureka
286 reviews
4.03 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lilmeh
10 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from KryalCastle1 | Property representative |
Hi Lilmeh The jousting and most of our activities last approximately 1/2 hour.
0
Votes
kat_travel_Bris
4 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from theports | Reviewed this property |
We stayed for 5 nights when the attractions were open and closed. You can go over all the grounds at anytime, but the attractions are closed. The kids can still play on the playground, but would recommend you stay at least... More
0
Votes
icareaboutmyfamily
16 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from KryalCastle1 | Property representative |
Ballarat can get cold in winter as it is in the southern part of Australia in the state of Victoria, although for many this is part of the charm as it is much more realistic of the great castles of Europe such as in England... More
1
Vote