We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Geraldton Regional Art Gallery

Closed today: Closed
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Fascinating collection of art and very well hung

We were surprised to find such a high quality and large gallery in Geraldton and thoroughly enjoyed... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
RachelGreenTravel
,
Australia
WELL WORTH A VISIT!!!!!!

My wife & I recently visited the gallery as my wife had read up on it before we left SYDNEY.It was... read more

Reviewed 6 November 2018
Bob A
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 26 reviews
3
All photos (3)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good30%
  • Average11%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible3%
4 days ago
“Fascinating collection of art and very well hung”
5 Nov 2018
“WELL WORTH A VISIT!!!!!!”
About
Located in the heart of the city and housed in the former Town Hall, the Geraldton Regional Art Gallery opened in 1984 as the first regional ‘A’ class venue in Western Australia and continues to be the premier visual arts institution in the Mid...more
Closed today
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Contact
24 Chapman Rd, Geraldton, Western Australia 6530, Australia
Website
+61 8 9956 6750
Call
Improve This Listing
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Geraldton
from US$245.47
More Info
from US$252.69
More Info
from US$169.66
More Info
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
14
8
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
14
8
3
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

We were surprised to find such a high quality and large gallery in Geraldton and thoroughly enjoyed our visit - it was excellent with someone on the door who knew the art works and could discuss them, a perfect catalogue and a wide variety of...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank RachelGreenTravel
Reviewed 29 January 2019

On this occasion the museum was displaying student artwork from local schools which was interesting and highlighted some great local talent. The upstairs area which was supposed to represent renowned artists was a disappointment.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank steveandjaneg
Reviewed 6 November 2018

My wife & I recently visited the gallery as my wife had read up on it before we left SYDNEY.It was not the exhibition that she was expecting as 4 local artists had an exhibition of their work solely.We still found it worthwhile & the...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Bob A
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Excellent Julie Dowling exhibit - great to see such high quality art in the regions. The staff were also very friendly giving us tips on what to see and do in Geraldton!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Chloe J
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

While wandering around the tourist destinations in Geraldton we decided to go into the Art Gallery. The building was the old town hall, a gracious old building and was converted into the Regional Art Gallery in 1984. Currently there are 2 wonderful international exhibitions. The...More

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank freddodog
Reviewed 3 August 2017

This building was subject of huge debate many years ago when the Council wanted to demolish it. Eventually people power won over and it became Geraldtons Art Gallery. Over many years it has exhibited many works and has done the City proud . However sometimes...More

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank dennisp859
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Added as a tourist attraction in the advertising brochures of Geraldton, it was disappointing to go up to the entrance and find a hand written note to say the gallery was closed, due to a new exhibition being installed. What type of art gallery does...More

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank N8805LJmarym
GRAG24, Front Office Manager at Geraldton Regional Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Mary M, the small team here are GRAG are sincerely sorry that we wasted your time during your visit in Geraldton! Unfortunately as you have said, you happened upon the Gallery during the de-installation of the Mid West Art Prize and the installation of our...More

Reviewed 24 July 2017

Bad timing on my part, the Midwest Art Prize was on, so I didn't get to see the Hans Heysen which was the reason I went. Vaguely disappointed in the interior of this building, it looks historic on the outside, but is completely bland on...More

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Emma R
Reviewed 7 May 2017

had and amazing display of what our waste does and where it goes out of sight and mind. shows the impact on marine life and the cruel death the suffer

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Graham M
Reviewed 29 April 2017

I am glad we visited this place. The displays are so unique and awesome. Place is not too big - you'll probably spend less than an hour there but it's so worth visiting.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Michelle T
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 nearby hotels
Ocean Centre Hotel
694 reviews
.20 miles away
Mantra Geraldton
840 reviews
.31 miles away
Hospitality Geraldton, SureStay Collection by Best Western
331 reviews
.92 miles away
Ocean West Holiday Units
88 reviews
1.28 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 102 nearby restaurants
Origin India
223 reviews
.21 miles away
Salt Dish
281 reviews
.11 miles away
Dome
434 reviews
.16 miles away
Wonda Bake
78 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 53 nearby attractions
HMAS Sydney II Memorial
925 reviews
.31 miles away
Museum of Geraldton
418 reviews
.36 miles away
Geraldton Visitor Centre
206 reviews
.39 miles away
St Francis Xavier Cathedral
115 reviews
.50 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Geraldton Regional Art Gallery staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines