We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Golf Course Vale Do Lobo

Avenida da Encosta, Almancil 8135-034, Portugal
+351 289 353 465
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent as ever!

We have been coming down to the Algarve for so many years and we just wanted to say how good the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
WhiteWithSugar
,
UK
Very good with some reservations.

First impressions of the facilities were excellent. The golf reception, shop, restaurant area and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
jayneandphil4
,
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 104 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Ocean Golf Course features undulating fairways which run alongside nature reserve, before leading gently down to the shores of the Atlantic The front nine are located on a slightly hilly land which characterises Vale do Lobo, surrounded by pine trees with sea view from several holes. The back nine in particular are characterised by spectacular ocean views, with some holes almost stretching down to the beach. On reaching the brow of the hill on the 11th, players come suddenly upon a sight fit to take the most concentrated golfer's breath away. The fairway runs directly down towards the beach and, for the next few holes, outstanding views and Atlantic breezes are guaranteed to make a player's round exhilarating, even if his game is below expectations.
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good32%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“vale do lobo” (11 reviews)
“golf course” (11 reviews)
LOCATION
Avenida da Encosta, Almancil 8135-034, Portugal
CONTACT
Website
+351 289 353 465
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been coming down to the Algarve for so many years and we just wanted to say how good the Ocean course is. We normally play an evening round, teeing off between 4.30 and 5.00, when it is cooler, and we play between 9...More

Thank WhiteWithSugar
Vale-do-Lobo-Algarve, Marketing Department at Ocean Golf Course Vale Do Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of golf on the Ocean Course in Vale do Lobo. We are very proud of both the Royal and the Ocean course in the resort and it is always fantastic to hear that our guests have enjoyed...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First impressions of the facilities were excellent. The golf reception, shop, restaurant area and washrooms were exactly as expected from such a resort. All of the staff were friendly and very helpful. I always rate a course by asking myself if I would play it...More

Thank jayneandphil4
Vale-do-Lobo-Algarve, Marketing Department at Ocean Golf Course Vale Do Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review and comments and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your round on the whole with us. We appreciate all client feedback to help us to constantly improve our level of customer service and your comments...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I played both courses at Vale do Lobo, bothe the Ocean and the Royal. The Royal was good but not as scenic and as challenging as the Ocean. The Ocean course is without doubt in my top 10 courses that I have had the pleasure...More

Thank barryemery
Vale-do-Lobo-Algarve, Marketing Department at Ocean Golf Course Vale Do Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for choosing to play on both of our courses in Vale do Lobo. The golf team work very hard to try and create a memorable round of golf for everyone and your comments are greatly appreciated. Thank you again for taking...More

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Played the back 9 of the ocean course for the first time and had a super round of golf. €59 per person so not cheap but then no golf here is. The scenery is fabulous as you head down to the sea and we loved...More

Thank tonykelly66
Vale-do-Lobo-Algarve, Marketing Department at Ocean Golf Course Vale Do Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you very much for choosing to play golf with us on the Ocean Course in Vale do Lobo. We appreciate all feedback to help us to constantly improve our level of customer satisfaction and your comments will be passed on. Thank you again.

Reviewed 25 July 2017

I decided to visit this course again in early May 2017 having previously played it in October 2016. It "wowed" me then and it did again second time round. I love the variety of the course and it's immaculate condition too. There aren't many courses...More

Thank AS44NG
Vale-do-Lobo-Algarve, Marketing Department at Ocean Golf Course Vale Do Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you very much for choosing to return to us in Vale do Lobo and for your fantastic comments. We are very proud of both the Royal and Ocean courses and work hard to create a memorable experience for everyone who comes to play with...More

Reviewed 19 June 2017

We played here 17th May having booked with YourGolf Travel. The transport never turned up at our hotel so we paid 60 euros for taxi's to get the eight of us there. When we arrived, as the organiser, I asked the girls at the front...More

Thank MrStefanos
Vale-do-Lobo-Algarve, Marketing Department at Ocean Golf Course Vale Do Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review and kind words about your experience in Vale do Lobo. Our team are constantly working to provide the best possible experience for all of our guests and are happy to help as much as they can in...More

Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

I do feel somewhat guilty. I've had so many good experiences here but never posted. I'm less than a below average golfer so a round on either course is always a treat for me and I am rarely disappointed, both courses are stunning and the...More

Thank Billy M
Vale-do-Lobo-Algarve, Marketing Department at Ocean Golf Course Vale Do Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and we are very sorry that it did not meet your expectations. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoy the clubhouse and the beauty of both the Royal and...More

Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

The cart paths at this golf course are appalling, to ask anyone to drive at ninety degrees to the fairway is unacceptable with cart paths so poor. The fairways and greens were in good condition, however the buggies require upgrading. One of the bottles of...More

Thank stanleyjs
Vale-do-Lobo-Algarve, Marketing Department at Ocean Golf Course Vale Do Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us and we are very sorry to hear that you found there to be problems with the buggies and cart paths. If you would like to discuss this issue further then please...More

Reviewed 27 April 2017

We had a bad experience because the golf was crowded and slow to death, nevertheless the fairways and greens were in good shape. This golf is too much surrounded by villas that are very next to it. The cart was average without GPS. We gave...More

Thank Tulane P
Vale-do-Lobo-Algarve, Marketing Department at Ocean Golf Course Vale Do Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we are very sorry to hear that it was not as you had expected. We work to keep play moving at a reasonable pace on the courses at all times and we...More

Reviewed 25 April 2017

We played a three ball on the Ocean course. It was an afternoon visit and cost 69€ each. A bargain! Club hire was 30€. - The course was in immaculate condition and is one of the most scenic courses that I have ever played -...More

Thank extourop
Vale-do-Lobo-Algarve, Marketing Department at Ocean Golf Course Vale Do Lobo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you very much for choosing Vale do Lobo and it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. The entire team in Vale do Lobo work to create a memorable experience for every golfer, visitor, guest and property owner and we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bolitasca
173 reviews
1.80 miles away
Restaurante Antiquarios dos Leitoes
165 reviews
.09 miles away
Restaurant "O Conquistador"
21 reviews
1.62 miles away
Pastelaria Panoramica
6 reviews
1.88 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Barrica 56
36 reviews
1.90 miles away
Falesia Beach
3,896 reviews
2.34 miles away
Praia dos Olhos de Agua
1,945 reviews
2.19 miles away
Praia do Barranco das Belharucas
150 reviews
2.16 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ocean Golf Course Vale Do Lobo staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit