We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wheelwrights Arms - CLOSED

The Green, Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN12 7JX, England
+44 1892 722129
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Pub food and drinks

Cycled from Tunbridge Wells to Matfield to meet a friend at 3.0pm for a pint and a sandwich... read more

Reviewed 1 July 2017
I1k
,
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
via mobile
Trying too hard.

This is a lovely country pub, who we think are aiming for fine dining but never quite get it right... read more

Reviewed 11 May 2017
Tricia B
,
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 7 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good0%
  • Average44%
  • Poor28%
  • Terrible0%
1 Jul 2017
“Pub food and drinks ”
11 May 2017
“Trying too hard.”
LOCATION
The Green, Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN12 7JX, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1892 722129
Reviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Cycled from Tunbridge Wells to Matfield to meet a friend at 3.0pm for a pint and a sandwich. unfortunately there was no food on at that time of day. Got charged 50p for the privilege of using a debit card as the bill was less...More

Thank I1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely country pub, who we think are aiming for fine dining but never quite get it right. The menu is inventive and inviting but we're often disappointed. My lobster bisque recently looked so pretty and was I felt expensive. It's was thick...More

Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

went here last weekend, we had two large white wines £17.90!!!!!!!!!!!!! we don't mind paying for good wines but these were average and overpriced. when you consider just down the road in the star public house the same drinks are £9.00 for two glasses of...More

Thank steve n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Owner at The Wheelwrights Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Steve, We are sorry your visit on the weekend left you feeling dissatisfied, we are always receptive to any feedback. It is regrettable you did not discuss this with us at the time rather than resorting to Tripadvisor. We offer several wines by the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Just driving back to London on a sunny Sunday afternoon, spotted The Wheelwrights Arms, nice looking country pub, with a good selection of ales. I had a great pint of Boondoggle Blonde Ale, wish I'd not been driving as I'd probably have had a few...More

Thank Bernie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed with the Wheelrights and the "beer tent" at this afternoons Matfield village fete. Three cask ales were available which is fantastic,vbut disappointingly, no effort had been made to keep the casks even remotely cool on what was arguably one of the warmest days...More

3  Thank Monkemilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Good selection of beers, good service, pleasant staff. Food is expensive and not good value for money. We need to return to the days when all 3 Matfield pubs supplied good quality food at reasonable prices. Other pubs in the surrounding area can offer a...More

Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2014 via mobile

Great news that this pub is now a free house as the beer selection instantly improved. Lovely building and garden. Cosy real fire. Landlord and lady are very friendly and sociable with customers. Atmosphere of a proper village pub. Have not tried food recently so...More

2  Thank AllisonBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Premier Inn Tonbridge North Hotel
410 reviews
2.07 miles away
Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge
514 reviews
2.55 miles away
Premier Inn Tonbridge Hotel
397 reviews
2.98 miles away
Salomons Estate
288 reviews
3.21 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Fleur de Lis
84 reviews
.22 miles away
The Cinnamon Square
326 reviews
1.30 miles away
The Kentish Hare
389 reviews
2.03 miles away
Gurkha Planet
223 reviews
2.36 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Penshurst Place & Gardens
471 reviews
2.20 miles away
Sky Birds Of Prey
33 reviews
2.56 miles away
Haysden Country Park
216 reviews
1.18 miles away
The Leicester Arms Hotel Bar
20 reviews
2.27 miles away