We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre

Open Now: 09:00 - 17:00
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Share
Review Highlights
Nice

Good service and very nice lady behind the desk. Very helpful and friendly. I-side is easy to find... read more

Reviewed 26 April 2018
PriceMTL
,
Noosa, Australia
via mobile
Useful first stop

Good place to get a walking map of the area. Lots of items for sale but little free material which... read more

Reviewed 25 February 2018
Albywon
,
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
via mobile
Read all 54 reviews
16
All photos (16)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good29%
  • Average20%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible11%
26 Apr 2018
“Nice”
25 Feb 2018
“Useful first stop”
About
Information: local and national; Free itinerary planning; Travel reservations; Accommodation reservations; Activity and tour reservations. We also have a great range of souvenirs and gifts (lots of kiwiana). We can help with all bookings, whether...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 09:00 - 17:00
See all hours
Contact
74a Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Website
+64 3-304 7784
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Akaroa
from US$59.20
More Info
from US$101.00
More Info
from US$62.00
More Info
from US$104.50
More Info
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
14
12
10
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
14
12
10
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Always get great service from the team at the Isite. They offer great options and know about most things to do around the town. Hours are adjusted to match the demand of locals and visitors alike and you always get a smiling face to match.

1  Thank davidkinnaird2002
DoreenAkaroa, Manager at Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear David, Thank you for your lovely review!

Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Good service and very nice lady behind the desk. Very helpful and friendly. I-side is easy to find. Good parking area in front

Thank PriceMTL
Doreen M, Manager at Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds all very positive but I was wondering if you could let us know what we can do better or improve to get a 4 or 5 star rating.

Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Good place to get a walking map of the area. Lots of items for sale but little free material which was disappointing. 2230More

Thank Albywon
Doreen M, Manager at Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Hello, Thank you for your review. Which free materials were you after? The walking maps are for sale since we have to buy them. Other than this we have heaps of free material to take, like visitor guides, camping brochures, activities in Akaroa and all...More

Reviewed 8 February 2018

I found the young lad I talked to not very helpful at all. When I go to an I-site I am attempting to get an overview of what I might like to look into a bit more. They typically are very good at making sure...More

Thank CozumelQueen1
Doreen M, Manager at Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Hello, Thank you for your review and sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience. All of our staff are well trained to give information. We apologize if we spoke too fast (since there is so much to do in Akaroa). In case...More

Reviewed 25 January 2018

Loads of activities and information available on their ISite. However, be careful about the timings of various activities. Some activities might have to be pre booked.

Thank NabeelK118
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Called in on the weekend to ask for local knowledge about walking/hiking tracks - the girl clearly had no idea and gave us some vague information about the starting point for the track we were wanting to take (which it turned out was incorrect). There...More

1  Thank jnb911
DoreenAkaroa, Manager at Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

We do have lots of different walks in and around Akaroa therefore we have comprehensive walking maps (most of them produced by Rod Donald Banks Peninsula Trust). These maps show you the start and finish points of the walks and gives you more details about...More

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Isite Akaroa disappoints. I Asked about which tour to do for river adventure. Was told there were four and all the same only difference is time u want to go. I chose one and when shown the boat decided I didnt like the boat so...More

1  Thank anne255120
DoreenAkaroa, Manager at Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear visitor, Firstly, little bit confused as if the review is about Akaroa, since we do not have a river here nor river adventures. Our harbor cruises take people around the harbor and all the way to the open ocean, which you surely notice if...More

Reviewed 11 October 2017

Popped in to pick up some information and was immediately guided to the right maps. Extensive selection of tourist attractions and activities available in this area. Many thanks.

Thank Ceridwen888
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Walked in. Saw it was a souvenir shop. The assistant was on her cellphone and didn't even acknowledge us. Continuing her call she went outside to bring in the signage and then (still on the phone) turned the "open" sign to "closed" We left

1  Thank Kiwiseley
DoreenAkaroa, Manager at Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello Sorry about your negative experience. We endeavour to enrich the traveller experience wherever we can and are disappointed that in this instance we failed to do so. We hope that the rest of your travels within New Zealand are enjoyable.

Reviewed 29 May 2017

Extremely helpful and knowledgeable Staff. All staff able to assist with booking accomodation, travel and activities.

Thank Owen C
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 nearby hotels
Akaroa Criterion Motel
345 reviews
.02 miles away
Tresori Motor Lodge
141 reviews
.25 miles away
La Rochelle Motel
242 reviews
.29 miles away
The Grand Hotel Akaroa
64 reviews
.34 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 31 nearby restaurants
Murphy's On The Corner
146 reviews
.40 miles away
Ma Maison Restaurant & Bar
148 reviews
.04 miles away
La Rangis Pizzeria
71 reviews
.04 miles away
The Little Bistro
829 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 57 nearby attractions
The Giant's House
945 reviews
.39 miles away
Akaroa Museum
188 reviews
.01 miles away
Little River Rail Station
17 reviews
.37 miles away
Banks Peninsula War Memorial and Grounds
92 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines