We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Big Bus Tours

Closed Now: 09:00 - 16:00, 18:00 - 18:30
Open today: 09:00 - 16:00, 18:00 - 18:30
Book In Advance
1,175
All photos (1,175)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good22%
  • Average11%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“night tour”(1,268 reviews)
“tour guide”(510 reviews)
“tom thompson”(85 reviews)
About
The open-top deck of a Big Bus tour is the best way to see Washington DC. Sit back and relax as you are transported passed the iconic landmarks that make America's Capital so recognizable and special. Our sightseeing tours are designed to provide a...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 09:00 - 16:00, 18:00 - 18:30
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Washington DC, DC 20002-4214
Website
+1 202-909-6504
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Big Bus Tours
from US$45.00
More Info
from US$45.00
More Info
from US$59.00
More Info
Reviews (6,174)
Filter reviews
5,607 results
Traveller rating
2,477
1,203
572
543
812
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
2,477
1,203
572
543
812
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night tour tour guide tom thompson red loop day pass hop on hop top deck wax museum bus driver great tour lincoln memorial white house national mall sights cassie nur narrator
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 5,607 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This hop on and hop off bus just takes your money...it’s all about the sales and not about the after sales customer service. They couldn’t be bothered once they have your money. They left us stranded at Arlington Cemetery because their brochure left off the...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank JvR1971
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We’ve been on a lot of bus tours; this was the best. Our tour guide was engaged with us, every second of our tour. With the hop on hop off; you can choose to get off at any stop. If you’re not ready to leave...More

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank boyzmom03
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The hop on and hop off feature was great and provided us a great way to see the sights and travel in between places when our feet got tired. Our tour guide really has taken the time to learn about the city and sites.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 63kimberlyw
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Our tour guide Alicia was awesome! She engaged with the crowd and allowed us to enjoy this visit to the city. I will always ask for her on future as well as recommended to friends! She speaks very well and clearly explained all of the...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank DCVISITOR1
Reviewed 4 days ago

booked this not looking at the time of day - wrong time in May for lights (guess they do not adjust time based on sunset?), which was the point of a night tour. Stood in sun for 45 minutes to get on bus. Sat in...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank GeishaMX
MartaviaB, Guest Relations Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello, Thank you for choosing Big Bus Tours of Washington, DC. I would like to extend my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you may have endured while touring with us. Due to Daylight Savings, our Night Tour has recently changed to 7 and 7:30 pm....More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

You wait over 30-45 minutes for buses, there are no seats, the narration is terrible. Most expensive bus ticket I’ve ever wasted my money on. Don’t do it—Uber it!More

1  Thank drelizabeth
MartaviaB, Public Relations Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Good Afternoon, Thank you for choosing Big Bus tours of Washington, DC. We apologize for our advertised Winter Frequencies being too long of a wait. We hope that you can find time to tour with us in our Spring/Summer frequencies when buses come every 15-20...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The bus itself is comfortable, and the tour guides knowledgeable. However, the buses are irregular and not as frequent as the Big Bus in other major cities. You spend more time waiting on buses than seeing sites. The DC circulator bus is $1 per ride,...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank carlar374
Michael-Ann H, Customer Service Representative 2 at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Carla I am happy that for the most part you enjoyed your tour with us. However I am sad to hear that the frequency of our buses prevented this from being a 5 star review. Since this review was posted we have changed our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We did the tour in a dry Monday morning. The recorded messages were out of days and did not recognise bridges closed / river cruise not available or renovation works being undertaken at various locations. A pity and very sloopy. There was a great guy...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Irene B
Michael-Ann H, Customer Service Representative 2 at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hey Irene I am sorry about the issues with the recorded commentary as well as with the river cruise. We are currently working to update the commentary and to improve the flow of information to our guests. Customer satisfaction is our number one concern so...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Our tour guide Chris Lee did a great job. I really enjoyed his tour. He welcomed us on the Big Bus and asked many people where they were from. He peppered our journey around DC with facts and humor. I especially enjoyed listening to him...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Boldtrip
Michael-Ann H, Customer Service Representative 2 at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey I am elated to hear that you enjoyed your tour and that Chris was a big part of that. Customer Satisfaction is our number priority. We are constantly reminding our staff to make sure every interaction with our guests is a great one. I...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The buses today frequently ran late. I would like to give Shana at the Washington Monument stop a lot of credit for keeping us informed and up to date on the status of the bus. It made the situation much less frustrating.More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank I_17bingo
Michael-Ann H, Customer Service Representative 2 at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey We would like to apologize for the long wait times you experienced while touring with us. Being in the Nations Capitol traffic can be tricky to maneuver around and we try our best to maintain a 15-30 minute frequency. However sometimes things can become...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 147 nearby hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
684 reviews
.15 miles away
Kimpton George Hotel
2,331 reviews
.19 miles away
Washington Court Hotel
1,717 reviews
.26 miles away
The Liaison Washington Capitol Hill
186 reviews
.27 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 3,801 nearby restaurants
Union Station
493 reviews
.03 miles away
Shake Shack
297 reviews
.03 miles away
Thunder Grill
372 reviews
.02 miles away
Pret A Manger
49 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,060 nearby attractions
National Postal Museum
1,033 reviews
.11 miles away
Union Station
2,151 reviews
.05 miles away
National Japanese American Memorial
64 reviews
.31 miles away
Belmont-Paul Women's Equality National Monument House and Museum
40 reviews
.35 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
randysV1929KT
30 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from KaneekaR | Property representative |
Good Morning, The best parking area near the Capitol in which to board from would be located at Union Station as they have a public parking facility for a nominal fee. This is our Red Loop Stop #1.
1
Vote
Fan Z
23 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from lawnbarber | Reviewed this property |
We checked in at union station the first time to get our printed ticket/receipt
0
Votes
SirBillTaylor
20 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from AngelFae22 | Reviewed this property |
We drove to Union a station to park and got on the Red Loop. On the first day we rode the loop in its entirety then started over and hopped off at the sights we wanted to see. The second day we did the same but hopped off... More
1
Vote