We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Kathmandu 1663, Nepal
Phone Number:
+977 1-4412508
Website
Today
09:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 09:00 - 17:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

A small part of Nepal has had a big earthquake in April 2015. We...

A small part of Nepal has had a big earthquake in April 2015. We participated in relief and are now working in recovery. socialtours is open for business, and we are even more determined to be professional, and build back better. You can help us in the process. Tourism is more important than ever.

A free day in Kathmandu or Pokhara can still be a day of discovery. Discovery of Local Food and Cuisine, of local handicrafts producers, or organic food, or a discovery of livelihoods, or the insides of Buddhism. At socialtours, we believe that these unplanned days will be the moments you will remember the most in Nepal, whether you learn how to cook, go to a coffee farm, or just cycle around the small picturesque communities around these cities, or hike on our 8000'ers of Kathmandu (yeah, 8000 ft. not meters). Yes, we also conduct off beat treks and adventure activities around these magnificent day inspirations. Talk to us, we will HIGHLIGHT your trip to Nepal.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
Walking Tour of Kathmandu to Ason Markets
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
Hiking Day Trip to Champadevi Hill from Kathmandu Including Lunch at Hattiban...

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 263 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 218
    Excellent
  • 33
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Trekking to Annapurna basecamp

We (2 people) did a 8-day trek to Annapurna basecamp together with our excellent, super friendly guide who spoke really good english, and our nice porter. We had a good briefing... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
385pauliina
,
Helsinki, Finland
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 252: English reviews
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We (2 people) did a 8-day trek to Annapurna basecamp together with our excellent, super friendly guide who spoke really good english, and our nice porter. We had a good briefing before the trip, the transportation to Pokhara worked out nicely, and we were able to plan the trip according to our wishes. This was definitely the best trek I've... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank 385pauliina
Raj G, Manager at Socialtours, responded to this review

Thank you for your time to write us the feedback. We are glad to hear you really enjoyed the trek. We hope to see you back in the future with other off-beaten treks and tours that we offer. Thank you so much. More 

North Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such a memorable experience learning how to make these delectable little treats. Sakun was a delight and a wonderful teacher. From wandering through the Thamel collecting all the fresh ingredients, preparing and cooking in the traditional Nepalese fashion, through to the well earned feast at the end. I would recommend this as a must do if you are ever in... More 

Helpful?
Thank joshv2
Raj G, Manager at Socialtours, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your experience. We are glad to hear how much you have enjoyed the cooking experience. Please take time to look into our website too, we offer offbeat tours around Kathmandu valley and beyond, which are enjoyed and recommended by fellow travellers too. Thank you More 

Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went with my friend to learn a bit about these wondeful momos!! Very nice thing to do in kathmandu you choose what you want to learn and you enjoy eating it!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank 829laurenet
Raj G, Manager at Socialtours, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you back in the future with amazing off beat tours that we offer. Cheers More 

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
140 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Learn to make momos in a comfortable, clean, friendly atmosphere. Class starts with a trip to the market for supplies. Our teacher Sakun, was so patient and fun. Now we can make momos and remember this great experience!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank cjdesai
Raj G, Manager at Socialtours, responded to this review

Thank you so for taking time to write the review about your experience with us. We hope to see you back in the future with more offbeat tours and experiences that we offer. More 

Warburg, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

We cooked Mo:Mos with a couple from the US, an Austrian and an Italian Student . We learned a lot about Mo:Mos and how to prepare them. The highlight was the Mo:Mo-feast for lunch: Awesome food with stunning sauce with a great company. Why was the female cook not allowed to eat with us?

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Christian_downunder
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

Attended the socialtours cooking class to learn how to cook Momos. The class was great and we learned every step of making the Nepalese delicacy all from choosing the ingredients to making the dough, filling and sauce to go with it. The chef gave great instructions and the team was very friendly. It was a fantastic experience and I would... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank maxine525
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Raj and his team at socialtours have really understood that there is a niche for reasonably-priced cultural and environmental tours that provide a peek below the surface of Nepali life- thank goodness! Our family of 4 (including two teens) enjoyed the 'cook like a local' under Sakuntali's expert tuition. Fun, interesting, well- organised and delicious!

Helpful?
Thank dogchook
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016

This was a great way to spend a few hours in Kathmandu. Our lovely instructional chef for the day was extremely patient and provided us with great advice and cups of masala tea as we chopped vegetables. Shaping the momos was harder than it looked but there was plenty of practice available as we made over 100...Highly recommended. Pay what... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
Cortes Island, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016

Excellent! Friendly and very informative!! The best mo'mos we've had in Nepal! Excited to be able to share this food with people back home! Really enjoyed this class and wish we had more time to take further classes/excursions with this company! You won't be disappointed!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Leegion B
Raj G, Manager at Socialtours, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We are really excited to hear you have enjoyed the cooking experience with us. We believe that you won't be disappointed with our other off-beat experiences that we offer. Perhaps, next time when you come back to the country. We hope to see you again. Thanks. More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

The Kopan Monastery and surrounding area is lovely. However the tour "title" is entirely misleading. There is no "walk". There is a "talk" with the monk on the grounds of the monastery. I was disappointed I did not get to stroll through fields as described in the agenda.

Helpful?
Thank SanG11
Raj G, Owner at Socialtours, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We understand the title mislead you in the tour. Based on the experience, we have update the tour title as "Debate with Monk" in our online presence. You had a bad experience because the monk wasn't available for walk, due to their busy schedule. I apologise for disappointing you, and we look... More 

Travellers who viewed Socialtours also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Socialtours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Socialtours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?