We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 18:00
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Such a wonderful place!

I love this place. Not only is it centrally locates bear many attractions, it’s also a hidden gem... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
DWTisha
,
Bronx, New York
via mobile
African Art & Crafts

A lovely centre to wander and view authentic African art and craft. Lots of small rooms with... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Valerie037
,
South Australia
Read all 100 reviews
37
All photos (37)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good31%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“local crafts”(5 reviews)
“t shirts”(6 reviews)
About
Utamaduni is the best African artisan market in Nairobi. Perfectly located in the leafy suburb of Langata the shop is easy to drop into on you way to some of the exciting venues in Nairobi such as the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust or the Giraffe...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 09:00 - 18:00
See all hours
Contact
Bogani East Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi Central Business District
Website
+254 722 205028
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Nairobi
from US$65.00
More Info
from US$580.00
More Info
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
49
29
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
49
29
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal craftsunder one rooft shirtscraft itemsone stop shopshopping experienceshopping listgreat shoppinggreat collectionfor saleother attractionsmaasai marketgiraffe centreelephant orphanageclothingtextilessouvenirs
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I love this place. Not only is it centrally locates bear many attractions, it’s also a hidden gem. The restaurant serves fresh and delicious food (suggestion: place your lunch order and shop while it’s being prepared). This is the best place for one-stop shopping for...More

Thank DWTisha
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much. We welcome you back again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely centre to wander and view authentic African art and craft. Lots of small rooms with really interesting pieces to take home as gifts of keepsakes. Prices are fixed, so eliminates the need to haggle for those who don't enjoy the experience. There is...More

Thank Valerie037
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you back here again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Here you will find authentic gifts and keepsakes at a reasonable price. Though small, you will find many rooms with different authentic gift ideas. Have a Tusker or glass of wine when you are finished!

Thank no_pillow_so_soft
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your nice review. We hope to see you back again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I needed to look for a bunch of items to bring home, but did not want to deal with the local Maasai Market (too much vendor pressure and haggling over prices) or go to a Mall. My Driver suggested Utamaduni as an alternative - and...More

Thank Canechick
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for spending the time to review and explain the concept of Utamaduni. We are happy that you enjoyed your experience here and welcome you back.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well laid out, bright and easy. No hassling to buy nor haggling required. Granted you could probably hunt around for cheaper prices elsewhere but this gives you a clear understanding of value. We had lunch in the garden...food average garden setting lovely. They even had...More

Thank Deborah R
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for review and your visit. We welcome you back again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Don't waste your time on this tourist trap. We asked "how long will it be" to get a response of "go ask the chef". Food doesnt arrive, items missing, 40 minutes between one person's food and another's. 3 out of 8 meals arrived as described...More

Thank alex h
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm sorry that you had such an experience and we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. I would like to mention that Utamaduni Craft Centre and the restaurant Makatano Garden are different entities, though I fully understand that we should take this very...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The restaurant experience was the worst we’ve had for years. We were left waiting for drinks for ages and food took over an hour. We tried many times to ask the staff how long it would be, one response was “go into the kitchen and...More

Thank 10J
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so sorry about your restaurant experience and have taken it up with the Mukatano Restaurant, which in fact is a different entity than Utamadanu Craft Centre and should be reflected in reviews. However we take any complaint seriously as we are mutually dependent...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was so glad our driver took us to this shopping area. The Center is 10-15 small shops linked together. Each shop has its special take on authentic Kenyan gifts. So interesting and fun supporting the local cal community.

Thank mkaiser358
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your visit and review. We welcome you back.

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Perfect stop over for our clients during Nairobi excursions.Expect a perfect combination of delicious lunch,peaceful area and gift shop...we highly recommend

Thank Wasili kenya S
utamadunicrafts, General Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your nice comments. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Like others have said, you can get many of the items here in other places for less money — but you’d have to spend quite a lot of time visiting different markets to do so. And that being said, the prices here are quite reasonable...More

1  Thank rayoboone
utamadunicrafts, Manager at Utamaduni Craft Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for your kind comments. That is exactly the way we set up our business, with the view not to pressurize, to be fairly priced, and also to make sure our quality is the best. We also want to give our customers a safe...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mor A
2 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from utamadunicrafts | Property representative |
Yes we accept all credit cards (visa, master, American Amex etc). Looking forward to seeing you here.
0
Votes
lummels
22 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from utamadunicrafts | Property representative |
Yes we ship to all parts of the world and have been doing this for 20 years. We are known for our reliable and efficient shipping. But please feel free to ask more specifically where you would like goods shipped and we can... More
0
Votes
Travelbug_Chicago09
21 May 2015|
Answer
Response from Helen A | Reviewed this property |
Utamaduni doesn't stock a lot of furniture, although last time I visited there were a few beaded/mosaic tables and stools. I would suggest you try Sunny Daze, which has a range of good quality indoor and outdoor furniture... More
0
Votes