We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Big Game Fishing Maui Bay

Features Animals
Sigatoka, Fiji
More
About Big Game Fishing Maui Bay
Game Fishing Charters, Island Tours, Jet Ski's
Read more

Big Game Fishing Maui Bay
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
7Reviews2Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Ashwelll wrote a review Nov 2015
35 contributions10 helpful votes
we went out for a private charter with Joe & Josh. was such a fun day out and we were lucky enough to pull in 3 big Mahimahi fish. the crew could not have been more accommodating changing lures and taking us to a few different spots to try to ensure we all got a fish, even running over time. highly recommend their charter :)
Read more
Date of experience: October 2015
Helpful
Share
Cath H wrote a review Aug 2015
Yannathan89 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
Went out on a combination fishing and island day and it was wonderful. As my husband and son are avid fishermen but myself and daughter not so, we wanted something to keep us all happy. We booked for a full day and fished for a couple of hours so the boys could get their fix. The crew were very knowledgable and the equipment was all good quality and rigged ready to go. We were lucky to see a whale on the way out. After fishing we went to a beautiful island where we were able to snorkel, lay in a hammock on the beach and spend some time just relaxing. The crew supplied a very plentiful lunch for us and took great delight in having coconut cracking competitions with the kids (Amy won). We then fished back to The mainland and caught 2 yellow and 4 bluefin tuna. The boys were very happy. Thank you to Shaan and the crew (I'm shocking with names) for a really enjoyable day. We'll definitely be back next year.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaan K, Manager at Big Game Fishing Maui Bay
Responded 31 Aug 2015
Bula Cath, So glad you guys enjoyed your day out with us, look forward to seeing you again next time. Vinaka Vaka Levu, Shaan Kumar Big Game Fishing
Read more
Stephen E wrote a review Jul 2015
Melbourne, Australia5 contributions9 helpful votes
We booked this trip through a friend at a fijian resort for 5 people at a cost of $2300 fiji dollars for an 8hr day. We arrived at the place, the manager got there 2 minutes after us, all of us introduced ourselves then he asked to be paid & all headed down to the boat. When we got on the boat he went through the safety procedure with no mention of all fish belonging to the boat then off we went . Being a charter boat operator myself in Australia l thought it was strange that the rods weren't rigged up already so when we got to the spot to start fishing we wasted 30 minutes getting set up. The lures were very limited to pick from, we got 6 bites for no fish we lost 2 riggs & l asked the boys if they had anymore swivels & hooks they said NO what a joke so we cut up other riggs to try and make do with what was there. It is also mentioned that they cater for professional anglers, WHAT A JOKE If l ran a business like that in Melbourne l wouldn't have one ! After arriving back to shore, the skipper of the boat gave me the phone to talk to the manager Francis and he said that we we were not allowed to take any fish other than a few fillets. Earlier on this was never mentioned once, he said we should of looked at his website where this was mentioned. But we had no way or time to look at his website as it was arranged the night before. Overall the fishing was pretty good but if we had lost any more gear we wouldn't of been able to fish at all. Then would of returned back after one hour of fishing. If your an experience angler this is not for you !
Read more
Date of experience: July 2015
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaan K, Owner at Big Game Fishing Maui Bay
Responded 25 Jul 2015
Bula Stephen E, To start with it is unfortunate you were charged FJD2,300 through your friend as our full day rate is FJD1,800 and this is how much we received for your booking. It is also very unfortunate your friend did not tell you all fish belong to the boat as we made this very clear to him, there is not a fishing charter in Fiji where this is not policy. This policy is enforced mainly because we deal in large volumes of fish and guests staying in resorts generally cannot do anything with kilo’s and kilo’s of game fish! We do however offer to our anglers enough fish for a feed to enjoy their catch, we also go the extra mile and fillet the fish for you. You caught over 100kg's worth of fish 5 x Yellowfin Tuna, 2 x Wahoo and a Mahi Mahi on your very successful fishing trip - for viewers interested please see Stephen E's photo tagged "Another great day out! Yellowfin, Mahi Mahi and Wahoo!". We are not sure what you could have done with all of this fish but do wish instead of getting confrontational with our staff and taking what you said was yours, you discussed the matter calmly. It was explained to you on the boat by our captain all fish belong to the boat and once docking back in Maui Bay you decided these rules shouldn't apply to you and dragged away what you could handle this was quite embarrassing to us and our staff. Im glad you guys had a great day out which was your initial reaction to the trip and with 8 fish (over 100kg's!) we are not sure what else we could've done! Also please note our staff have years if not decades of experience in Fiji waters (which are different to Melbourne’s in so many ways) and know what lures work, when they work and what additional gear is needed to catch our fish, we lose gear regularly as is part of our business but I can assure readers we have a vast array of gear to catch the fish we advertise and that is why we catch the fish! Your trip was no exception. Vinaka Vaka Levu, Management
Read more
Gordon M wrote a review Jul 2015
Glen Osmond, Australia46 contributions32 helpful votes
We booked with Big Game fishing the afternoon before our trip. Didn't know what to expect as we hadn't done this type of fishing before. The cost seemed high FJ$1200 for the morning but when investigated further seemed the going rate for the whole boat gear and crew. Having read a few horror stories on other tours operators on trip advisor I was a little cautious to start with and insisted in meeting the crew and seeing the gear before handing over the $ (before the trip). All was good, gear was very good, boat was in good condition, and well set up for game fishing most large fish but not marlin or other very large fish. We went on number two vessel though and I understand there may be a different one for marlin. On the way up the channel there weren't any bites and I was starting to think we were going to get nothing, but on the way back we saw a big fish go right past the boat and 20sec later the reel started humming. My eldest son took the rod and brought in a large, prob 10kg MahiMahi, it was great watching him fight to bring it in. We ran off again and within 20 min had hooked another, this time my youngest (14yo) took the rod and was in for the fight of his life, having never done this before he was struggling with the power of the fish and after it jumped out of the water a few times we realised it was a King MahiMahi and bigger than the last one. After some assistance from big bro he landed it and had sore arm muscles even a day later. There was a small fish hooked near the reef but nothing worth keeping. In all a great morning. Was a little disappointed that the fish caught belong to the boat, but we did get a fillet for the resort to cook which is all we practical needed in any case. Would use these guys again. Thanks for the experience :)
Read more
Date of experience: July 2015
Helpful
Share
Madelyn M wrote a review Jan 2015
Melbourne, Australia4 contributions5 helpful votes
My family and I all went out for a half day charter. Shaan and his local captain took use through the channel just off the main island, however the fish weren't biting so we changed tactic and landed on a school of tuna. We pulled up 4 skipjack tuna, 1 Yellow fin tuna and a meter long barracuda. On our way back to the Maui Bay jetty we trolled back through the channel and hooked a huge 62kg Yellow fin tuna! The fight took my brother 55 minutes, with the help of Shaan and my dad. Overall we were looked after so well by the boys and would defiantly do it again! Thanks guys!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2015
Helpful
Share
Previous
12