We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HomeGrown Tours

1 Seaview Ave, Oak Bluffs Ma, Oak Bluffs Steamship Authority, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
+1 774-327-8192
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Personal and unique tour

Dee Dee of Homegrown Tours is a gem! She not only customized a tour for our group of 13, she made... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
D L
,
Greensboro, North Carolina
via mobile
Great tour

Best tour on MV. Very personable and knowledgeable on the Afro American history on the island... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Carol H
via mobile
Read all 43 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
HomeGrown Tours is the most unique tour company on Martha's Vineyard. Your tour is not only narrated by a 3rd generation Islander but it is also a hands on learning experience. I pass around items that relate to the Vineyard to get a feel of how we live here, I have a screen that shows what certain sites looked like in the 1800s, I offer cold bottled water and lite snacks and rain ponchos for those wet days. Our bus tours are fun, safe and full of history! Book privately and we go where other tours buses dont go. I treasure Martha's Vineyard and the history and beauty. Book a tour with us and make it the highlight of your vacation. Thank you for letting me show you where I live, you wont be disappointed.
  • Excellent100%
  • Very good0%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
4 days ago
“Personal and unique tour”
5 days ago
“Great tour”
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 00:00 - 23:59
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
1 Seaview Ave, Oak Bluffs Ma, Oak Bluffs Steamship Authority, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
CONTACT
Website
+1 774-327-8192
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Dee Dee of Homegrown Tours is a gem! She not only customized a tour for our group of 13, she made a pre-tour breakfast reservation for our group. Her personal knowledge of The Island and unique perspective was very refreshing. HomeGrown Tours is the real...More

Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Best tour on MV. Very personable and knowledgeable on the Afro American history on the island. Better tour than others on the island. Customized our tour and had a great breakfast at Biscuits.

1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much... your group of beautiful ladies made it so easy! I enjoyed our time together!! Looking forward to our next adventure! 😎

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dee Dee was a wonderful guide! Very knowledgeable with both the Jaws movie and the history of MV. Would highly recommend. My wife and I enjoyed hearing about Dee Dee's family and her own history on the Vineyard, including becoming an extra on the movie...More

1  Thank KellysToy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

DeeDee was amazing!!! She was very informative and friendly. Not only did we get to see a lot of sites from the Jaws movie, but she showed us all around the island and taught us so much about the history of Martha’s Vineyard. She is...More

Thank Kerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Dee Dee is a third generation Martha Vineyard native. Her tour of the island was both informative and enjoyable. Her knowledge of the island was very impressive. She spoke of the history of many of the areas as we came to them. Great tour of...More

Thank Lou F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thank you very much.... I enjoyed our time together as well... Thanks so much for choosing HomeGrown Tours!! Have a wonderful summer...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Dee Dee gave us the most comprehensive in depth and fantastic tour of JAWS and Martha’s Vineyard. From the time she picked us up until the drop-off, she was fantastic!!! We stopped at 11 different locations where Jaws was filmed and the little tidbits of...More

Thank rad21171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Oh my, you are too kind. Thank YOU... you guys are the ones that made the trip fun!! I have some more surprises for you when you return!! Have an awesome summer!!!! 😎

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Home Grown Tours was one of the best tours we've taken. Dee Dee, the owner and our tour guide, was extremely knowledgeable of the island's history, it's people and since she's lived there all her life, was able to include many personal experiences, This added...More

Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores B, Owner at HomeGrown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you so much... I had a great time as well... Have an awesome summer!! 😎

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Martha's Vineyard
Nashua House Hotel
383 reviews
.13 miles away
Summercamp Hotel
195 reviews
.20 miles away
Pequot Hotel
655 reviews
.33 miles away
Harbor Landing
53 reviews
1.13 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
20byNine
151 reviews
.08 miles away
The Red Cat Kitchen at Ken N' Beck
695 reviews
.06 miles away
Biscuits
263 reviews
.09 miles away
Lookout Tavern
604 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Ocean Park
198 reviews
.12 miles away
Flying Horses Carousel
319 reviews
.14 miles away
Circuit Avenue
269 reviews
.11 miles away
Inkwell Beach
100 reviews
.12 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
deirdredannecker
25 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Dolores B | Property representative |
Our bus tours are $40 per person and private tours start at $70/hr for two... please call 7743278192. thank you for your inquiry and have a blessed day! 😊
0
Votes
LaurelHappyone
Hi DeeDee, I hope the rest of your birthday was good. I wanted to let you know that Kara and I both enjoyed you and your knowledge. Both of us did leave the tour feeling underwhelmed. Your trip advisor site said it was an3 hour tour. That was one of the main reasons I chose your company. The tour you provided us was just 2 hours. So we had 33% less time than advertised. Kara had asked to know more about the gingerbread houses towards the end and your response was you didn’t have time to get into that. We asked twice about celebrities. You gave some names but when asked for more you just stopped. We do know you you were informative but 2 hours vs 3 is a’Huge difference. You mentioned at the end that you were about to give a tour to a wealthy group. Your pick up time for them was actually scheduled during our tour time. That didn’t make us happy. again neither one of us walked away feeling like we got our moneys worth. I don’t know if you would provide the courtesy of a partial refund for both of us due to the time loss. But we did need to express how we feel. Thank you. Laurel Hubble
6 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Dolores B | Property representative |
Hi Laurel... thanks for the review... As I had mentioned to you, the tour was a bus tour that you paid for. When we started, i mentioned to you that we were taking the same route as the bus... we do not go thru the... More
0
Votes