We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Galapagos Alternative

Features Animals
Closed Now: 06:00 - 22:00
Open today: 06:00 - 22:00
Save
Share

Galapagos Alternative
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
414
All photos (414)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent89%
  • Very good7%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“vip lounge”(10 reviews)
“day trip”(27 reviews)
“local economy”(12 reviews)
About
At Galapagos Alternative we specialize in personalized land-based tour packages. We offer unique experiences of the islands the way we see them: as locals. Choose the sights and activities most interesting to you, stay at local places, eat at local...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 06:00 - 22:00
See all hours
Contact
Avenida Charles Darwin S/N, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Website
+593 99 465 5018
Call
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
249
20
8
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
249
20
8
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vip lounge day trip local economy santa cruz land based tour la casa de marita every evening restaurant recommendations blue footed boobies isabela island great trip vip treatment sea lions baltra airport stayed nights kicker rock north seymour
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018

I choose Galapagos AlterNative through a friend I knew from my work with UNESCO. We were two families, 8 in total, and we debated whether to go via cruise or via land. We could not be happier to via land with Galapagos AlterNative! Through them...More

1  Thank giuliaguiditrip
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are very pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your time in Galapagos. We have found that people with positive attitudes attract the best animal encounters. Thanks for your glowing review of our team and service. Javier is looking forward to surfing in Rome!

Reviewed 24 August 2018

I chose to book plans through the Galapagos Alternative and Husband and kids can't stop thanking me!

Thank SherryLeikin
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

We love this! Thanks for trusting us with your dream vacation.

Reviewed 9 August 2018

We found Galapagos Alternative (and their very high ratings) on TripAdvisor. As we did not want to tour the Galapagos via ship, their land based tours were the perfect solution. We stayed 7 nights in the Galapagos (2 at Santa Cruz, 3 at Isabela and...More

2  Thank KitchenerJoey
Reviewed 19 July 2018

I chose Galapagos Alternative after shopping around a couple more companies that are similar in nature (i.e. arranging itineraries and tours, etc.). As a big traveler, I never use this type of service and always plan things on my own, but I chose to go...More

1  Thank ShaneH2103
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

We are VERY pleased to see this kind review. We know things got off to a rough start so thank you for giving us a chance to come through with a great overall experience. Casa Lago is under very new administration which we are excited...More

Reviewed 19 July 2018

After researching a few agencies I decided to go with Galapagos Alternative based on the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, and I am so glad I did. From the I time I emailed them I always got prompt responses. I worked with Clara on my itinerary....More

1  Thank mrwayneforever
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thanks for the glowing review, Sinchan! You really made an impression here with our team :). Positive, easy going, adventurous people like you are our favorite kind of travelers. The animals feel it too and you get the full experience because they don´t shy away....More

Reviewed 8 July 2018

We spent 8 days in the Galapagos which was arranged by Maria at Galapagos Alternatives. Maria responded promptly to our emails and arranged the trip within our budget and time frame. We arrived to Baltra after two weeks on the mainland so it was a...More

2  Thank judikloper
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are pleased to know you had a lovely time and that our team was able to make it extra special. And thanks for sharing the tips about how to beat the motion...More

Reviewed 1 July 2018

We couldn't have imagined a better trip to the Galapagos! The staff at Galapagos Alternative was all wonderful - Karina was fantastic to communicate with over email and help us plan the perfect trip, Maria was super helpful when we first arrived to Santa Cruz,...More

Thank jschwab91
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for the glowing review! We certainly have a wonderful team that goes above and beyond. Your enjoyment and wellbeing are our priority during your visit. We are pleased to know you enjoyed it!

Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Our day trips through Galapagos Alternative were fantastic. A representative met us at our hostel the day of our arrival to go over some details about the boats and she gave us great recommendations for dining options in Puerto Ayora. She even went and rented...More

1  Thank Kim K
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Never having booked a tour myself to another country and unsure of details to consider, I choose Galapagos Alternative after reading reviews. I was not disappointed! The trip was organized according preferences for my husband and I, and Maria did a great job seeing to...More

1  Thank SJ_Koc
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thanks for sharing your positive experience. We are very pleased to know you had such an amazing trip and that we were able to exceed your expectations! It´s comments like these that make our day. Thanks again!

Reviewed 24 June 2018

I had a wonderful time at Galapagos with the assistance of Galapagos Alternative team. I was travelling on my own and it was all very organised from the moment I stepped off from the plane. When I arrived at the hotel, Maria was already there...More

Thank KatieKYC
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thanks for the kind recommendation and positive feedback! We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your visit and that our team was able to make it extra special. And good for you for trying something new! The underwater world in Galapagos is just as...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 nearby hotels
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
198 reviews
27.53 miles away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
517 reviews
30.42 miles away
Pikaia Lodge
67 reviews
31.31 miles away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
102 reviews
32.24 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 83 nearby restaurants
ANKER mar to table
117 reviews
35.90 miles away
Almar
102 reviews
35.88 miles away
Los Kioskos
194 reviews
35.92 miles away
IslaGrill
855 reviews
35.91 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 96 nearby attractions
Isla Bartolome
197 reviews
.02 miles away
North Seymour Island
271 reviews
19.60 miles away
Reserva El Chato
1,547 reviews
27.91 miles away
Archipell
15 reviews
35.69 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
nytoonc
2 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from William Z | Reviewed this property |
GA is great. Worth the money to ensure quality. There are a lot of truly local guides that you probably wouldn't want to spend a day with.
0
Votes
4acadia
7 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Kim0429 | Reviewed this property |
We spent 8 days, and felt like that was perfect, but you can certainly still do LOTS in 6-7 days. I would highly recommend splitting time between Santa Cruz and Isabela. And while on Isabela, definitely book the Los Tuneles... More
1
Vote
emily b
7 February 2017|
Answer
Response from jilapagos | Property representative |
The best way to contact us is through our website or email us directly.
0
Votes