4x4 Uganda
Multi-day ToursNature & Wildlife Tours
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
About
4x4 Uganda offers self drive and guided day-trips around Kabale, canoeing Lake Bunyonyi and mountain gorilla tracking Bwindi National park.
Entebbe, Uganda

Awards
Travellers' Choice
2023

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travellers talk about
(10 reviews)
(8 reviews)
(19 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles117 reviews
Excellent
102
Very good
11
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
2

Ana F
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2024 • Couples
We rented a landcruiser prado with a rooftop tent for our 2-week trip around Uganda and Rwanda with 4x4 Uganda. The car worked really well and was equipped with a fridge, camping gear was also provided. We only had one problem with the battery but Joseph and his colleagues quickly provided a solution. At the border crossing we were also provided support. The car was in good shape and we had the best time during our trip. Joseph helped us get the chimpanzee and gorilla tracking permits and he was always quick to answer. We definitely recommend 4x4 Uganda.
Written 12 June 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Vlad VOROBYEV
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2024 • Couples
We booked a Toyota Prado with a rooftop tent, very nice car, powerfull, you can drive on any roads there is no problem.

We did a trip around Ouganda, very suitable for a safari as well.

We recommend!
Written 3 June 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Marloes D
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Couples
We weren't very happy with the quality of the car. When getting the car we found out the locks didn't work; this was however fixed very fast. Two days in, our car began making a sound. After good communication with the company, we decided to go to let it checked up. However, we never got to the check-up location and got stranded. Then, it took them 2 days to fix the car, and there was no good communication on when it would be fixed, meaning that we had to change our plans several times. They did transport us from one place to the other, but we couldn't camp, we couldn't drive to certain points, etc. When we finally got it back, after several promises that were not met, it again had (different) problems. We weren't very happy. After a lot of discussions on the phone which felt really very unfair, we eventually got a different car. Again, this one had problems. When we got the car the battery was empty. However this was solved pretty fast. Then it made a really hard humming noise when we would go above 60 km/h. We communicated with them, but they said it would be no problem and it was the radio. It was not the radio. Eventually we decided to just not go above 60 km/h, because we didn't want to get stranded again.
Furthermore, the camping tools were very dirty when we got them, one of the chairs was broken from the start and there was mold in the tent. The communication with the company at first was fine and we felt helped, but after some issues, which were all not our fault, it became pretty hostile. Contact was through different people, for everything we needed to bargain, and even when we would cross the border there was some fee that we were supposed to pay, which was never communicated before. If the car hadn't broken down and didn't have so many issues I think it would have been fine, but the big problem is that they don't have good maintenance. We have met two other couples using the same company with comparable problems.
After writing this review, the company has contacted us with stating that we are accusing them of things that are untrue and writing lies. We are not and feel that we have been very patient and pretty decent with this review. We really feel sorry for the employees there and everyone that has to experience the same as we did. Better rent somewhere else.
Written 6 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

PeterDScott
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda18 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Family
We rented a Prado TX with air conditioning and a fridge.

First off. Electrical issues.

The fridge had been improperly wired. It was rewired to run through the cigarette lighter. This is both wrong and dangerous. The fridge requires 20 amps. It was jury rigged to the car’s 10 amp lighter fuse. Of course the fuse had blown. It was wrapped with wire to repair it. The fuse in the cigarette plug had also blown. We had to effect the repairs ourselves.

Further, the brake lights did not work.

Second issue. 4x4 transfer case.

The shift linkage was broken. While demonstrating how to shift into 4 Lo, the person that delivered the vehicle got the transfer case stuck in Lo. That meant the top speed of the car was 20km/hr, and it could not be driven on pavement. After an hour in a parking lot, they finally got the transfer case disengaged. He gave us a warning not to ever shift the car into 4wd drive.

So of course, we were thrown off course in Moroto, and had to engage 4wd. We limped to a campground. The next morning, we had to drive to a repair station to fix the linkage, we found the fluid levels were very low in both differentials and the transfer case.

Third issue. Tires

All the tires were older than 10 years old, and were mixed manufacture. We had a slow leak. During a stop at a petrol station, we found the tire had 3 repair plugs in it. We ended up putting a tube in the tire. None of the tires on the vehicle should have been on the vehicle.

Interior

A large number of interior trim pieces were broken. The top of the armrest was shattered. The majority of dashboard vemts were broken. The drivers side inertial seat belt real in the back seat was broken.

Rooftop tent

The zipper over the main flap was broken. We had a real problem with mosquitoes.

Overall, the car had not had the repairs that should have been done actually done. The servicing required for an upcountry trip was not done.
Written 2 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Peter And Cheryl Thank you for sparing part of your precious time to review our services. Our apologies for some of the issues that didn't work out well both to your expectations and to our expectations. However, it is not clear whether you deliberately omitted some facts to paint a very bad image or you simply forgot. First Off: We do not sign any car rental contract until you have seen the car. Upon inspection of the car, you proceed to sign your car rental contract. (a) He/She should inspect the vehicle before hire to make sure that it’s in proper condition, no liabilities will be accepted after signing of the agreement. Regarding the fridge: We do not discredit your electric knowledge but the fridge you were given was designed to operate using a cigarette lighter port. That is how the manufacturer made it. It does not come with any other electrical plug other than the cigarette lighter plug. We have attempted before to use them via inventors but after a few days using this option often forces these firdges to display Error 1 which is associated with the power inflows. Regarding Brake Lights These are things that break down now and then. You can be given a car with working brake lights and after a few minutes of driving, the bulb blows. We do not change brake lights every time we are giving out a car. However, just like section (a) of the contract states, you inspected the car; that is my guess and the brake lights must have been working at the start of the trip. Transfer case/ 4WD issue Thank you for the above submission. However, you omitted the fact that when this happened, you asked us to give you another car. We agreed to give you another car however; you said you could not wait any longer and you chose to continue with the very car that has inspired this whole review. But when you reached Mbale, you got another 4WD issue and at this point, you asked us to deliver the replacement car close to 300km away from Kampala. This would not have been an issue if you hadn't declined to change to another car when this incident first happened. When you got the 4WD issue in Mbale, the car was fixed by our mechanic, it was not fixed by you. We do not remember you ever contacting the company about any issue once the 4WD issue was fixed in Mbale. Regarding the Tires Again I do not want to dismiss your expertise regarding the age of the tires. But for your information, the maximum that tires remain on these cars is six months. By six months, the tires are all worn out. I do not know how you came to conclude that the tires are 10 years old. Peradventure, there is an image you wish to paint and you have the liberty to do so. No one is going to stop you from saying whatever you want no matter how bad it tarnishes our image. Regarding the interior I will not get into discussing this because it would end up like we are trying to defend ourselves instead of addressing the real issues. However, I would again refer you to section (a) of the contract you signed. Did you inspect the car before you signed the contract? Regarding the rooftop tent You used an almost new rooftop tent. We are looking at a rooftop tent that has not been used by more than 10 people since it was bought. You can find its video on the 4x4uganda Youtube There was no broken Zipper on that rooftop tent unless it broke during your trip! We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry for all the frustration you went through to the point of writing this review. Just like any other reader, some of the things you wrote are new to our ears but in a moment of frustration, that is expected. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Written 14 January 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Femke S
16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 • Couples
We rented a 4x4 V8 with rooftoptent for 6 weeks and travelled through 4 east African countries. They dropped the car at our hotel in Entebbe. The car was a bit older (2002) and had done quite some kilometers but it was neatly and solid, we even had Apple carplay which was useful to put navigation on. The car also had good tires, and we had some rough terrains which was no problem with the car. We had no issues with the car. The camping gear was complete. When we had questions, communication was smooth and quick. If you cross borders at well-known borders, they can also send someone to help you with the bordercrossing. At our final destination (Nairobi), they also picked up the car at our hotel. We were pleased with the car and service.
Written 20 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

EnjoyingMyPlanet
Pensacola, FL37 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 • Solo
This is the 2nd time I rented from Paul.
Always a great vehicle. Paul is quick to respond to any issues that may arise.
He also took care of several trekking reservations for us.
Highly recommend.
Written 13 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lauren
London, UK13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Couples
Our experience with 4x4 Uganda has been great throughout. This was our honeymoon trip, so it meant a lot to us and we wanted it to go smoothly. Joseph was super responsive and helpful as I planned our itinerary, offering suggestions of how we could get the most out of our time in Uganda. He also went above and beyond to secure us gorilla trekking permits, when we left it a little to late! Thank you, Joseph!

Leonard was our driver and we could not recommend him highly enough. He taught us so much about Uganda, all while getting us on time to each destination safely and efficiently - even on the bumpiest of roads. He is cool, calm and great fun to be around. Nothing is too much trouble and he made our honeymoon a trip to remember! If you are looking for a driver, look no further than Leonard.
Written 1 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Stefan H
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023
Dan is an excellent driver. We took a 2 weeks trip around western Uganda. Excelent clean and mechanically sound car. Very safe driving, perfect knowledge of all roads, very good game drives and animal spotting, always friendly and flexible. Very good social skills. An unforgetable experience.
Written 31 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ane I
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Family
Herbert is a very good driver, respectful of the rules, very correct, pleasant and with great knowledge of the route.
This has contributed to making our stay in Uganda extraordinary.
Written 26 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Suzette Weideman
18 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 • Couples
The car was mechanically sound, relatively clean and overall seemed good enough, untill we started driving on the Ugandan roads! It was then that I understood that what really matters is big and strong, reliable and capable. This is exactly what our Prado was. I was grateful that we could rely on Joseph for giving us good advise on directions and secured our chimp permits!!! Thank you kindly
Written 14 June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 105

4X4 UGANDA (Entebbe) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

All Entebbe HotelsEntebbe Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Entebbe
All things to do in Entebbe
Day Trips in EntebbeZoos & Aquariums in Entebbe
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire