We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tours By Locals

St. Petersburg, Russia
Save
Review Highlights
Eremitage

Kate is a fantastic guide and we had a marvellous time on our tour through the Eremitage. Lots of... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
thomas k
,
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
via mobile
Polina - the BEST St. Petersburg guide ever!!

There are no words as to how AMAZING Polina was as our guide. So knowledgeable and sweet. She... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Kdry1962
,
Los Angeles, California
Read all 17 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
Enjoy exceptional visa-free private tours of St. Petersburg, Russia with your choice of a carefully crafted team of experienced local guides. Half-day, full-day and multi-day tours available with private vehicle, or by walking/public transit.
  • Excellent89%
  • Very good0%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“full day tour” (2 reviews)
“great guide” (2 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
St. Petersburg, Russia
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"full day tour"
in 2 reviews
"great guide"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful city"
in 2 reviews
"kate"
in 2 reviews
"knowledge"
in 4 reviews
"english"
in 4 reviews
"sites"
in 2 reviews
"driver"
in 2 reviews
"petersburg"
in 7 reviews
"st"
in 6 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Kate is a fantastic guide and we had a marvellous time on our tour through the Eremitage. Lots of cultural, historical and general information given by her in a very pleasant and humorous way. We enjoyed every bit of those hours. Took the tour in...More

Thank thomas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are no words as to how AMAZING Polina was as our guide. So knowledgeable and sweet. She showed a side of Russia that left us awestruck and so happy she was with us. Our group was large and we ran out of time to...More

Thank Kdry1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I had Alexandra K. as our private local guide and she was superb. She was right on time as we met at the agreed place. Absolutely no problem with VISA issues. We did not need to go through the cruise line excursions...More

Thank howardsC4684RU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBCLocal, Manager at Tours By Locals, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're glad to hear Alexandra was able to create a custom tour that fit your special request - one of the beauties of hiring a private guide! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked tour with Elena Loukianchivkova thru tours by local over 6 months ago with specific date I had to have as I have other plans for other days.Today I get email saying she has cancelled with no letter or explanation why.I know why! she asked...More

Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

ANOTHER TOURS BY LOCALS CANCELLATION. GO WITH VIATOR TOURS. IRINA S canceled as our guide for 3 day St. Petersburg Tour after 5 weeks of emails planning itinerary. This is the first of 2 canceled tours agreed to after itinerary solidified. ALSO HAD CANCELLATION IN...More

Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBCLocal, Manager at Tours By Locals, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Brad, We're sorry to hear you are unhappy with your recent interactions with our guides in Talinn and St. Petersburg, and I can appreciate how frustrating it is when plans don't work out. While we understand you are upset that the guides you were...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent tour We had only 1 day in St. Petersburg on a cruise stop and Dasha was great at showing us the main sights of St Petersburg, including the highlights of the Hermitage, and also the Faberge museum which was of our interest. The tour...More

Thank Dinda30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Kate was helping us set up the right tour even before we set off for Europe! We communicated and she helped us organize our 9 hour private tour to include Catherine the Great's Palace and Gardens in Pushkin which we had not know about. It...More

Thank Mollie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBCLocal, Manager at Tours By Locals, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sound like a lovely day! We love hearing a ToursByLocals tour described as the 'highlight" of a vacation; this sort of traveler experience makes us and our guides very happy! :) Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor, Mollie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

I was a little nervous about going into St. Petersburg and having the proper paper work but Tatiana provided that to me by email prior to our arrival which made entrance into Russia so easy! We spent 2 full days with her and her driver....More

Thank sherry7112015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanBCLocal, Manager at Tours By Locals, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're so happy to hear you had a delightful two days in St Petersburg with your ToursByLocals guide. The local knowledge someone like Tatiana can impart is priceless! Thank you for taking the time to share your review here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

My partner and I are two elderly men who both have difficulty walking and standing for more than brief periods. Ship and tour company group tours are worthless for us. On a bus tour the guide has left the bus and is a block away...More

Thank PWCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

What a great guide. Shared her passion with us for her beautiful City. Her English, knowledge and willingness to help us enjoy every moment was really great. Thanks Irina for all you did

Thank Davina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Brad A
Tours by local management: It is nice that u r defending ur guides. They r not ur guides, however, and actually independent contractors using ur portal as a tool to gain more business. That said, everything I wrote was true. Each TBL guide has the option to accept or reject a booking. 1)Irina P did in fact give me 5 months lead time on her CANCELLATION. U lead readers to believe it was not cancelled because it was not paid for/booked. Before you book it makes good sense to know your itinerary. Honest people, when they give their word, also known as a verbal agreement. Verbal agreements will stand up in court. Back the verbal agreement with 5 weeks of emails and most legitimate people would consider verbal and written agreements a contract for services. THT DOES NOT SAY MUCH FOR TBL OR IRINA. IF IRINA S WAS GOING TO BE AWAY THAN WHY IS THE ENTIRE MONTH OF AUGUST SHOWN AS AVAILABLE. U INFORMED ME THEY R SUPPOSED TO KEEP THE BOOKING CALENDAR CURRENT. So who is not telling the truth U or IRINA. 2) It also makes good sense to know when ur doctoral thesis will be reviewed. 3) Irina did not offer to take us to lunch in Stockholm. She offered to meet us for lunch. 4) Reviewing/defending her doctoral thesis would not take 9 days. If her story is true why not stay in Russia studying and departing St Pete Russia the day prior to her review. Is a short trip by plane or boat/ferry. We arrive in Stockholm 21/8. Were to tour with her on 27/8 thru 29/8. If my addition is correct that is 9 days. We r understanding empathetic people, when we r not lied to, and would have done the 3 touring (2 half days and 1 full day) in 2 full days. That was not an option offered. 5) you also omitted the fact that I emailed Irina with final itinerary on 18/3. Irina CANCELLED on 28/3. That is 11 days to respond. SHE APOLOGIZED FOR THE DELAYED RESPONSE. This was the second time in 3 weeks she apologized for a delayed response. POTENTIAL TBL TOURISTS beware that because they do not work for TBL they can do whatever. 6) IS IT NOT ALSO ODD THAT EVERY TOUR LISTED FOR EVERY GUIDE IS A 5. There are a handful of 4’s. EVA MARIA in TALLINN ALSO DOES NOT BELIVE IN VERBAL AGREEMENTS. If you read all of the emails for both guides u will plainly see that U either don’t comprehend English well, defend ur guides to a fault just, or just To keep ur revenue stream up. Eva Maria informed me that she made a mistake when accepting the other couple from our ship. Eva was quite clear that it was purely an error. Since the guides have a right of refusal and can cancel after booking Eva Maria should have done so. GREED IS A TERRIBLE PERSONALITY FLAW. EVA MARIA, again had written confirmation from me that all was good. ODDLY ENOUGH SHE ALSO DID NOT REPLY UNTIL I BELEVE 3 DAYS AND 5 emails. She then told me about her needing to cancel. THE 4 HOUR TOUR SHE IS GIVING COSTS MORE THAN THE 3 Day Tour. EVA went to where the money was. Oddly enough she also had the day open on the current calendar. TBL INFORMED ME THAT THEIR GUIDES ARE TEAINED TO KEEP THEIR CALENDARS CURRENT. I Replaced Eva WITH A NON TBL GUIDE WHO NOT ONLY TOOK MY WRITTEN APPROVAL, She would not take a deposit, responded to every email within 18 hours, supplies a car, Mercedes Benz, driver and her services for 3.5 hours and charges less for a seasoned guide with actual credentials ( in Tallin u do not need any real credentials. EVA HAS CREDENTIALS FOR ONLY THE OPEN AIR MUSEUM AND PALMSE MANOR) This after being a guide for 7 years straight out of high school. Eva has 121 tours rated 5 and nothing less. WHAT HAPPENDED TO MY 1 Ranking. TBL DID NOT LIST MY REVIEW. OF THE 247 tours Eva guided she received less than 50% rated 5 and nothing lower. TBL informed me that not all people write reviews. I agree with that. I review the good but am more apt to review the BAD. ALL in all tourists should never do business with TBL or their guides. TBL does not permit you to contact guide by phone or get their email address. If you go on trip advisors you can get her full name, telephone number and email address. She charges $165 for 2 if booked through her website on Trip Advisors and if booked through TBL charges are $253. NOW ALL TOURISTS SHOULD REALIZE TOURS BY LOCALS NOT ONLY DOES NOT TELL THE TRUTH but takes a 35% commission on the EVA Maria 3 hour walking tour Tallinn. Bottom line is Trip Advisors is awesome. Use them and their travel group VIATOR. You will at least get honest answers, full list of reviews whether good or bad. CAN’T TRUST TBL OR THEIR GUIDES. TBL OVERCHARGES, WILL BACK THEIR GUIDES ESPECIALLY WHEN THE GUIDE CAN MAKE MORE MONEY BECAUSE THEY MAKE MORE MONEY. IN RETROSPECT IT IS TBL MORE SO THAN THE GUIDES THAT ARE Not telling full truths. GRED is a horrible thing.
5 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Brad A | Reviewed this property |
baiback145 you were lucky not to get cancelled. Must have been your lucky day. You and your partner were simply overcharged going through Tours By Locals. Next time try booking same guide through Trip Advisors and save the... More
0
Votes
imsavvy1
1 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from VanBCLocal | Property representative |
Hello! Great question. After you have booked your tour, we provide you with your guide's direct email address and phone number. You are encouraged to submit your passport information this way, so that it goes directly from... More
1
Vote
Phyllis M
13 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from VanBCLocal | Property representative |
Yes! Our guides can take care of this for you. Have a wonderful trip.
0
Votes