We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Ranweli Spice Garden

Open Now: 00:00 - 23:59
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Book In Advance
All photos (193)
All photos (193)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good25%
  • Average22%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“herbal tea”(10 reviews)
“natural state”(5 reviews)
About
New Ranweli Spice Garden is located near Peradeniya Royal Botanical Garden. Send us an email for a pick up from Kandy town to the spice garden.
Open Now
Hours Today: 00:00 - 23:59
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
No 31 Gannoruwa | opposite Suspension Bridge of Peradeniya Botanical Garden, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Website
+94 81 2 387613
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience New Ranweli Spice Garden
from US$147.22
More Info
from US$2,171.49
More Info
from US$122.69
More Info
from US$329.71
More Info
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
95
63
51
15
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
95
63
51
15
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews herbal tea suspension bridge natural state herbs and spices plants and trees aloe vera no pressure to buy medicinal properties free pick spice tour informative tour for sale sri lanka tuk tuk botanical gardens head massage kandy tour
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

What can I say, this is THE spice garden to go to in Sri Lanka!!! First off I’ll start by addressing some previous reviews people have written about this place as it made me a little hesitant to before I went to this spice garden....More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank David W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I loved it because everything is organic. The tour guides are well informed and share valuable information. The tour is free but believe me, you’re going to be spending a tidy sum on products after unless you have a tight hold on your wallet. The...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Natalie1204
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very knowledgeable and friendly guide who explained all the uses of the various spices and herbs. Very well stocked shop with helpful assistants to enable purchases and explain products.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Rosemary S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited here yesterday and were enthralled by the chap that took us around. We were guessing what the plants were from the look and smell and were told what healing powers each plant has. It’s free to walk around and you give a tip....More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank MimsandNin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Such a good place to visit .Guide explained us in details about all the trees and plants and there uses in life

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank advik888
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Abolutely avoide this place.. First super kind people are making a tour for you for free. Masage also should be for free but after massage they are asking for "tipp", so for 5 minut of unprofessional massage we overpayed this service definetly. In the end...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Urszula M
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi First of all we believe you have visited some other spice garden. It is very important to remember the name of a place when visiting a place in Sri Lanka or any country. This is just common sense and apparently you don't have any....More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were really looking forward to visit a spice garden whilst we were in Sri Lanka as we’ve heard so many good things about the wonderful spices that grow here. Although we weren’t disappointed by the spices themselves, we were disappointed by the lack of...More

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Princess_Lia_Tyrrell
newranweli, Guest Relations Manager at New Ranweli Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear madam We believe you have a very serious mental condition to write a review like this. Before entering the garden we offer our mosquito repellent to everyone. And it is Sri Lankan hospitality the guides apply the repellent. Also you said you were uncomfortable...More

Reviewed 12 February 2019 via mobile

This is the best thing we did in Kandy. Joshua gave us a very informed tour of the spice garden. It was really interesting to see spices that we use daily in their natural state. Afterward he explained the medical uses for each spices. The...More

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank IrishRoverRoamer
Reviewed 11 February 2019

I definitely was up for listening to someone tell me about all the spices they grow in Sri Lanka. I was definitely up for someone telling me about how they are used in medicines, creams and beauty products. I was not up for someone following...More

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Colin H
Reviewed 7 February 2019

Lots of drivers stop here as this is the best spice garden .A guide will show you how the spices grow and show you examples of their raw state and when they have been dried .I had an excellent knee massage but others were offered...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank BandCtravellers
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 91 nearby hotels
Oak Ray Regency
109 reviews
.88 miles away
Earl's Regent Hotel
1,130 reviews
1.20 miles away
Rockbourne Bungalow
7 reviews
1.27 miles away
Royal Kandyan Hotel
91 reviews
1.61 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 235 nearby restaurants
Hela Bojun
53 reviews
.97 miles away
Barista - Peradeniya
29 reviews
1.02 miles away
Peradeniya Rest House
89 reviews
1.17 miles away
Sala Thai
217 reviews
1.31 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 350 nearby attractions
Royal Botanical Gardens
3,523 reviews
.96 miles away
Oak Ray Creations Batik
11 reviews
1.40 miles away
Commonwealth War Cemetery
448 reviews
1.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Joshua J
10 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from newranweli | Property representative |
New ranweli spice garden is walking distance from the botanical gardens. You can first visit the botanical garden and make a small detour to New ranweli spice garden. Suspension bridge is the second entrance or the exit of... More
1
Vote
jerum
1 March 2017|
Answer
Response from rbs02 | Reviewed this property |
Yes I agree that they don't sell hair remover , please go through my review , I have mentioned exactly what is there..
1
Vote
newranweli
2 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from jerum | Property representative |
Dear sir No problem. We trying to educate the tourists that there are a lot of spice gardens and most of them are not listed on trip advisor. So they post their reviews on ours. We can solve it if the tourists can remember... More
1
Vote