We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tabacon Hot Springs

| Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
+506 2479 2099
Website
Share
Save
Book In Advance
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerges from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds surrounded by lush tropical gardens.
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good22%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“swim up bar” (332 reviews)
“hot springs” (1,368 reviews)
“day pass” (209 reviews)
LOCATION
| Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
CONTACT
Website
+506 2479 2099
Ways to Experience Tabacon Hot Springs
US$146 per adult
More Info
US$125 per adult
More Info
US$156 per adult
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (4,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"swim up bar"
in 332 reviews
"hot springs"
in 1,368 reviews
"day pass"
in 209 reviews
"buffet dinner"
in 188 reviews
"hotel guests"
in 37 reviews
"main pool"
in 65 reviews
"costa rica"
in 240 reviews
"locker room"
in 48 reviews
"hot pools"
in 77 reviews
"warm water"
in 55 reviews
"buffet style"
in 39 reviews
"after a long day"
in 51 reviews
"spring pools"
in 36 reviews
"hot river"
in 33 reviews
"arenal volcano"
in 113 reviews
"unique experience"
in 33 reviews
"water shoes"
in 51 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 3,314 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We scheduled a hike near the volcano and a visit to the hot springs and dinner at Tabacon was part of the package. The hot springs are so beautiful and relaxing! Dinner was a buffet and quite good as well especially the made to order...More

Thank Alane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday

This unbelievable resort wanders off into the volcanic forest in a jaw dropping display of beauty! Every inch of this place is manicured to perfection. Water flowing down the mountain springs boiling from the volcano and reaches the perfect temperature at the resort. Large spaces...More

Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

Scenery is very nice! But its a little bit crowded! The food is so so! The hygienic aspect in the locker rooms could be better!More

Thank tigerbee1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you enjoyed our beautiful location. We appreciate your review as well as your observation regarding to our locker rooms.We appreciate your review and hope to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

The Tabacon Hot Springs were wonderful and absolutely beautiful! We went in the evening for the springs and dinner. The facilities are great and the waterfall was so relaxing! I do recommend bringing water shoes as the walkways are a bit rough on the feetMore

Thank sherrystcroix57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed all our facilities and services. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

There are so many beautiful pools, you can be alone in this great spring. Very warm and felt wonderful

Thank Clays7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. It's great to read you had a 5 star visit. We appreciate your wonderful review and hope to host you again in the future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manafer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

Got there at 10am for the half-day pass. They ask you what time you want the lunch. We said 12pm. We should have said 1:30pm because then you can maximize your soaking. This is an incredible place, never felt crowded. You'll get a locker that...More

Thank travelcommons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed all our facilities and services. It's great to read you enjoyed a half day visit...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Visited Tabacon as part of a two day tour. The lunch was really good and the 'natural' pools, trails and gardens were amazing. Wouldn't have missed them for the world. A real slice of paradise..More

Thank JoandPaul2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello JoandPaul, Thank you for taking the time to share you experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed all our facilities and services. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We got a Day Pass with dinner because friends told us we had to visit. I'm glad we were able to enjoy the springs, but wouldn't go again. I'd check out free access nearby. The springs themselves are beautiful and relaxing, but getting to them...More

Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Lynn, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read we had the opportunity of hosting you and that you enjoyed our thermal pools and ponds. However, we are sorry to read we didn't exceed your...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Worth the visit, the original 20 plus yrs. VALE LA PENA, es costoso pero 100% natural e incluye almuerzo o comida. Special day trip includes lunch or dinner. Expensive but worth it,More

Thank ZuRreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Hola ZuRreal, Gracias por compartir su experiencia en Tabacón con nosotros. Nos complace enterarnos que nos considera un lugar para...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were really looking forward to our evening in the hot springs. It ended up seeming more like a water park than a relaxing experience. While I am glad we did it we would not have this on our list of must do's. It did...More

Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Holly, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read we had the opportunity of hosting you. It's great to read you laugh a lot during your visit . However, we are sorry to read we...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 58 hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
3,881 reviews
.00 miles away
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa
1,369 reviews
.79 miles away
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
214 reviews
1.46 miles away
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
1,285 reviews
1.63 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Amor Loco Restaurant
7 reviews
2.56 miles away
Altamira Restaurant
286 reviews
2.64 miles away
Que Rico Arenal
771 reviews
2.45 miles away
Restaurante El Coloso
148 reviews
2.94 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Baldi Aqua Spa
31 reviews
2.85 miles away
Los Lagos Hot Springs
580 reviews
2.40 miles away
Lake Arenal
1,630 reviews
2.81 miles away
Rio Chollin
1,017 reviews
.10 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Fransheska T
11 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Community M | Property representative |
Hello Fransheska, Thank you for writing to Tabacon. We are glad to read you are planning to visit us soon. It will be a pleasure to assist you with the information you request. We have different day pass options, you can... More
1
Vote
Google Translation
Belinda K
29 April 2018|
Answer
Response from Community M | Property representative |
Hello Belinda, We are glad to read you are coming to visit us soon. We appreciate that you have shared your question with us. In regarding to the nearest town, this would be La Fortuna downtown. With pleasure one of our... More
1
Vote
Google Translation
NYNY878
11 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Community M | Property representative |
Dear NYNY878, Thanks for writing to Tabacon. The transport service is facilitated by an external tour operator which offers its services to our hotel for an additional cost, you can contact them to know their rates and... More
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor