We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tortuga Island

Punta Arenas 00000, Costa Rica
Share
Save
Book In Advance
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good21%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“beautiful beach” (37 reviews)
“boat ride” (59 reviews)
“zuma tours” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Punta Arenas 00000, Costa Rica
Ways to Experience Tortuga Island
from US$135.00
More Info
from US$139.00
More Info
from US$125.00
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beautiful beach"
in 37 reviews
"boat ride"
in 59 reviews
"zuma tours"
in 17 reviews
"day trip"
in 46 reviews
"banana boat"
in 38 reviews
"white sand"
in 16 reviews
"costa rica"
in 55 reviews
"clear water"
in 9 reviews
"palm trees"
in 10 reviews
"beach chairs"
in 17 reviews
"tropical fish"
in 7 reviews
"wild boar"
in 9 reviews
"gift shop"
in 18 reviews
"sea life"
in 6 reviews
"an umbrella"
in 7 reviews
"nice lunch"
in 6 reviews
"fruit"
in 22 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Beautiful beach..many activities...the staff is very friendly..great food ..fantastic trip..highly recommended...thanks Lucia Badilla for recommended this trip ..

Thank LeoSanchez22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

What did i pay 70usd for? Having a trip on a overcrowded boat? Snorkeling around a rock seeing some small fish in a dirty water? Being bullied by the guide because he has his schedule? Being on a island where half of it is prohibited...More

Thank Oli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The boat that took us to the island was great and provided great entertainment. They had a fully stocked bar and a DJ playing great music. The issue is the actual beach. The sand is full of rocks (huge rocks) and the water is extremely...More

Thank JHK3078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCubero, Manager at Tortuga Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, We are sorry to hear that you had a tough day dealing with the ocean. Nature is unpredictable. Isla Tortuga is known for its calm turquoise waters. We are sorry you had to have one of those very few days with rough waters. Thanks,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Think South Pacific Views. Wonderful food. Beautiful beach, not crowded so you are not running into people.

2  Thank reifam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCubero, Gerente at Tortuga Island, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, We are proud that you put Isla Tortuga next to South Pacific Views. It is strange that a lot of people say the same thing, it must be true. Thanks for your comments. Mario C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are a family of 4 with a girl 13 and boy 15. We traveled over with Tiquicia Tours who we met at the Hilton Doubletree by the pier. The island was beautiful and strongly suggest the day trip if you are in Puntarenas. Snorkeling...More

Thank TruDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCubero, Gerente at Tortuga Island, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, We are glad that you liked so much your tour to Isla Tortuga. It is a great family oriented destination with many different activities for children and adults as well. Thanks, Mario C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great day trip. We were treated very well, entertained on the ride over and back. Dimas was right there waiting to take us back to our house.

Thank naclh2ocwby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCubero, Gerente at Tortuga Island, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, We are glad your entire day adventure to Isla Tortuga was a good one. Thanks for taking your time to share with others your positive experience. Thanks, Mario C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Such an adventure!! Highly recommend for those traveling to Costa Rica. I recommend staying at the Aracari garden hostel, you will not be disappointed.

Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCubero, Gerente at Tortuga Island, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, We are glad you had a great time while at Isla Tortuga. Thanks for highly recommending us. Mario C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Beautiful picturesque island! We snorkeled, and explored was a wonderful time! The lizards are very curious and love it if you share a bit of fruit. We also saw a land crab which was neat because that means the rains are coming after 5 months...More

Thank shrek3301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCubero, Gerente at Tortuga Island, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thanks for your comments. It's great that you enjoyed every detail of nature on the Island. We work to preserve as much the natural habitat. Thanks, Mario C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Tortuga Island is so pretty. You can do different types of activities. They have snorkelling, hiking, banana boating etc. It’s a nice place to come during the day with your friends and relax and enjoy the beautiful view.

1  Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCubero, Gerente at Tortuga Island, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, We are glad you like Isla Tortuga. it is indeed a cool place to come and enjoy beach activities while being surrounded by nature. Thanks, Mario C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

We booked a tour to this island through Greyline Tours. It was awesome from the time the bus picked us up from the hotel until we came back. The boat crew were great and the island is beautiful.we were treated like royalty. Lunch on the...More

Thank Arpee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCubero, Gerente at Tortuga Island, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, We are glad you had such a nice experience on your Isla Tortuga tour. Thanks for recommending this tour to other tourists. Regards, Mario C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 hotels in Punta Arenas
Vista Las Islas Hotel
257 reviews
3.57 miles away
Los Delfines Golf & Country Club
21 reviews
8.09 miles away
Barcelo Tambor
2,068 reviews
8.79 miles away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
171 reviews
9.24 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Restaurant Liz Seafood MACHO
55 reviews
4.19 miles away
Vista Hermosa B&B Restaurant
60 reviews
9.90 miles away
Marisqueria Las Vegas
29 reviews
4.45 miles away
Mar y Sol
42 reviews
9.39 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Parque Nacional Curu
169 reviews
2.33 miles away
Pura Vida Expeditions
80 reviews
9.26 miles away
Mal Pais Freedom Riding SUP
103 reviews
14.70 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
koral2016
18 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from MCubero | Property representative |
Sorry for our delay. Water temperature is great, warm but cool enough to feel refreshing once you are in the water. Thanks, Mario C.
0
Votes