We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Dawn Bird and Wildlife Sanctuary

#124 of 236 things to do in Eastern Cape Features Animals
Off the R102 | Thornhill, between Jeffreys Bay and Port Elizabeth, South Africa
+27 42 286 0710
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Worth a visit

Situated half an hour's drive out of Port Elizabeth, this animal sanctuary is definitely worth a... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Mands007
,
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Great progress since our last visit

African Dawn has really expanded since our last visit 10 years ago! The grounds are well... read more

Reviewed 19 April 2017
Shaun_Stell
,
Stellenbosch, South Africa
via mobile
Read all 16 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good33%
  • Average18%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible31%
14 Aug 2016
“Average”
2 weeks ago
“Worth a visit”
LOCATION
Off the R102 | Thornhill, between Jeffreys Bay and Port Elizabeth, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 42 286 0710

Similar Things to Do in Eastern Cape

Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated half an hour's drive out of Port Elizabeth, this animal sanctuary is definitely worth a visit. For a reasonable entry fee for children and adults, one can see a wide variety of bird species,wild cats such as cheetah, cervals and caracal as well as...More

1  Thank Mands007
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

African Dawn has really expanded since our last visit 10 years ago! The grounds are well maintained, despite the drought. The animals are well looked after! Amazing range of birds, many of which I have never come across before. Number of wild cats, including 2...More

Thank Shaun_Stell
Reviewed 2 December 2016

I recall African Dawn Bird and Wildlife Sanctuary as a place connected to the earth for both animals and people. It's a wonderful place to volunteer. Be simple, it's not about fine dining or faux 'safari' luxury cabins. This is a real place, with great...More

1  Thank SpeciesSpectrum
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Not worth the effort. Most Staff need some PR training on arrival. Grounds and cages are clean. Entry price is not worth it. Restaurant is overpriced and basic; not fantastic. Wasn't a bad visit overall but I wouldn't go again.More

Thank Wesley S
African D, Manager at African Dawn Bird and Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you found your visit to be Average, we strive to be more than that!. I will be reviewing our customer arrival experience and re training where necessary but please keep in mind our shop and...More

Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We were driving West on the N2 and saw the brown sign to this Wildlife Park and thought we would drop in . It is a winding dry weather road in and looks very underwhelming on arrival however once you go through the cave and...More

Thank Peter C
African D, Manager at African Dawn Bird and Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you so much for your reveiw, we are glad you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again in the future

Reviewed 17 July 2016

I love animals and love to see they're well kept and looked after. Unfortunately this visit was different. The cages are small and over crowded and the overall view of the place just looks unhappy. Staff was not helpfull and looked bothered by us while...More

1  Thank Lisa0904
African D, Manager at African Dawn Bird and Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Hi Lisa I'm sorry to read you review and that you feel this way. The birds and animals are our top priority and we are continually updating and enlarging our enclosures and avairies. In December we built a new parrot avairy 51m x30m and our...More

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Nothing good to say about this place. Tiny tiny cages and unhelpfull staff, limited menu, screaming monkeys, sad place.More

Thank Hayden B
African D, Manager at African Dawn Bird and Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Hi Hayden I'm sorry to read you reveiew but with our new large 51mx30m parrot avairy and also hosting the largest aviaries in the Eastern Cape I'm a little surprised your option. We are constantly updating and enlarging some of our older enclosures as soon...More

Reviewed 3 June 2016

A little off the beaten track this place is a fun way to spend an hour or two. The dirt road leading the the santuary is in relatively good repair. You can buy some bird seed to feed the various birds that roam around. The...More

Thank carmenb964
Reviewed 4 April 2016

This is very casual and this Sanctuary employs volunteers from all over the world, it lacks in service and the food menu is VERY limited but well worth a visit. All the pens are clean and well kept and was a great day out.

1  Thank Tina N
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Visited African Dawn on a rainy day & unfortunately the access to the sanctuary had suffered due to the weather as so the journey once leaving the R102 was a little hairy. A 4x4 would have been better than the small car we had. However,...More

Thank Liz H
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fushin
502 reviews
.46 miles away
Mellas Dim-Sum & Noodle Bar
143 reviews
.47 miles away
Muse Restaurant
95 reviews
.41 miles away
Two Olives
240 reviews
.40 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Donkin Reserve
88 reviews
.83 miles away
St George's Park
65 reviews
.77 miles away
Route 67
58 reviews
.89 miles away
Dockside Brewery
21 reviews
.91 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from African Dawn Bird and Wildlife Sanctuary staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit