We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: R340 Road | 12 Kms from N2 and 20 kms from Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
+27 44 535 0000
Website
Today
08:00 - 18:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 18:00
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

Game drives and horse back safaris , game viewing excellent , all in Big 5...

Game drives and horse back safaris , game viewing excellent , all in Big 5 territory,all for only R490.00 per person

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$44.66*
and up
2-Hour Horse Safari at the Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 234 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 100
    Excellent
  • 61
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Nice Stay in Plettenberg Game Reserve.

We only stayed 1 night at Plettenberg Game Reserve but had a lovely stay. The lodges both high and low had lovely outlooks but it is a little bit of a hike if you're not... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 days ago
M257PYsusanh
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Similar Things to Do in Plettenberg Bay

Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 196: English reviews
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Myself and my daughter went on a horse ride through the game park - very well organized , excellent guide , was great to see the animals so close. Got close to all the animals e.g. 4 m from 5 giraffe on horseback - lots of fun and no real riding experience required. Well worth the trip

Helpful?
Thank James G
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We only stayed 1 night at Plettenberg Game Reserve but had a lovely stay. The lodges both high and low had lovely outlooks but it is a little bit of a hike if you're not particularly fit. We stayed in the level adjacent to the restaurant and my room was great whilst the other room my family had was a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank M257PYsusanh
Potchefstroom, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife has given a report already. I just decided to add a few more things. "We had a nice stay. However, if compared to our other numerous travel experiences, especially in South Africa, it is absolutely NOT value for money. Simple food, glass missing in windows, leak stains on the ceiling, no wine glasses in the room and many... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank dmitrib2017
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The Game Reserve is ideal if you want to see all the Big Five. The hotel is unfortunately somewhat desolate with old furniture furnished and corresponds in no way a 4 * hotel. For the food you wait infinitely long and you are not asked whether you want to drink.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Gerhard5607
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

the plett game resrve offers wide variety of animals to view. it also offers educational tours and experience, making it suitable for large groups.

Helpful?
Thank chamum2017
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

wonderful 2 hour ride, very close to all animals including lions. our guide also supberb! highly recommend if you are unable to get further north for Safari and want to see wildlife

Helpful?
Thank Winners84
Maputo Province, Mozambique
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The game reserve experience was good with Tim, our game ranger giving us a very informative tour. The Baroness Lodge where we stayed for two nights was a different story. The staff were very polite and accommodating but unsupervised and with no direction or standards. The accomodation was the greatest disappointment. For the extremely high room rate we paid, the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank david w
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

We travelled around the reserve on horseback - and it was a terrific experience. Our guide 'President' was informative and funny. We were out for about 2.5 hours and got amazingly close to zebra, a giraffe, wildebeest, gnu and springbok. Being on horse back the animals almost ignored us and weren't spooked by us getting too close. We were very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alec W
leond411, Manager at Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Alec Thank you for the great review. Happy to hear that you have enjoyed your safari. Kind regards Plett Game Staff More 

Vanderbijlpark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

I went to Plett game reserve with friends and we were at a close encounter with the animals. Before you board the game truck, you sign the indemnity forms so that reception would know who you are just in case animals feast on you!! It was a very nice experience,Lions are kept in their enclosure you go through two gates... More 

Helpful?
Thank M.c S
leond411, Manager at Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We are looking forward to welcoming you again one day. Kind regards Plett Game Reserve Staff More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

I was looking for a special adventure activity to treat my best friend for a fantastic day out! Was so excited when I saw that they have safari game drives to offer on horses! Made a quick call...lady was very friendly...made the booking! After driving 2-hours to the destination...we arrived and at the front desk..they tell us they are so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anzelle Z
leond411, Manager at Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Anzelle We sincerely apologize for this experience you encountered with us. The staff should ask all guests before signing their indemnity forms if they have any experience. The reason why we don't want to allow first time riders without any experience is because you are walking freely between the wild animals. Anything can easily frighten the horses for example... More 

Travellers who viewed Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve also viewed

 
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?