Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve

Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve, Cape Town Central: Address, Phone Number, Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve Reviews: 4/5

Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve

Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve
4
Nature & Wildlife Areas • Off-Road & ATV Trails
About
A boutique safari lodge situated 2.5 hours from Cape Town offering tranquil overnight safari stays in a variety of accommodation types.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Top ways to experience Inverdoorn Private Game Reserve
The area
Address
Best nearby
We rank these restaurants and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
Restaurants
1,038 within 5 kms
Attractions
145 within 5 kms
Popular mentions

4.0
508 reviews
Excellent
269
Very good
135
Average
50
Poor
27
Terrible
28

David B
Cape Town, South Africa429 contributions
Weekend of decadent spoiling.
Jun 2021
What an exceptional weekend at Inverdoorn, from arrival to departure. Excellent personal service, including a puncture repair. Delicious food, available almost constantly; the only complaint being you had to stop eating at some point....
Lovely accommodation and venue with fun informative game drives.
#gamedrives #inverdoorn #inverdoorngamereserve
Written 21 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tahlia T
Simon's Town, South Africa19 contributions
Definitely worth the trip
Jan 2021 • Family
An amazing experience to say the least. I booked a 2 night, 3 day trip as a surprise for my partner's 30th Birthday. The staff were so friendly and accommodating. They helped me organize something special for his birthday and made him a delicious cake. The service was fantastic and our 2 year old had a wonderful time seeing all the animals. I would highly recommend this place to all my friends and family and anyone wanting a getaway. The food was excellent and we enjoyed each and every meal we had there. The 3 hour drive to get there was well worth it. We will definitely be back in future. Thanks to all the staff at Inverdoorn who made this a trip to remember.
Written 18 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your delightful review, Tahlia. It sounds like you had a brilliant time and we couldn't be happier that you left with wonderful memories.
Written 23 March 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Julia B
Cape Town Central, South Africa2 contributions
Safari
Jan 2021 • Friends
What a find, Inverdoorn is a oasis surrounded by mountains. The accommodation was superb as was the hospitality and food. Our day was filled with guided safaris, Bertus our guide was so knowledgeable he made each trip out fun and interesting, his passion shone through, and he knew where to look for the animals.
Thank you from the bottom of my heart ❤ we had the best time. Can't wait to visit again.
Written 17 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you, your review made us all beam with gratitude! We also look forward to your future visits, and hope that you'll tick even more animals off your list!
Written 23 March 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SDLHOTELDIVA
Franschhoek, South Africa68 contributions
Birthday Surprise
Nov 2020 • Friends
Lovely one night getaway to celebrate our birthdays. We were upgraded to a beautiful ambassador chalet with beautiful views and a tranquil setting however no hairdryer in the chalet and the drains had a strong odour. The dining experience was mediocre however the breakfast needs some serious work. Overall we enjoyed our stay, however with a little bit of extra effort from the staff and attention to detail it would have been even more memorable.
Written 21 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review.
Written 1 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

helenpaul56
Newlands, South Africa4 contributions
Once and never again.
Nov 2020
Very disappointed. The rooms were nice and spacious. Service was just OK. Food is absolutely atrocious. Wilted salads, most veggies from a deepfrozen pack. Unimaginitive, unattractive and unappetizing. Wine prices are horrendous. The lodge offered a coffee or tea before the game drives but not even a rusk to go with it. Especially hard in the morning. Never been on an evening game drive without a sundowner. At least a bottle of water was offered before the drive. Ranger not very well informed. In all a very disappointing experience.
Written 14 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review.
Written 1 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jasmine S
Gävle, Sweden19 contributions
Lovely safari option close to Cape Town
Mar 2020
We did a day visit at the lodge, it was a long drive since we didn't book the transfer. Tre roads are pretty good. My only concern is that they called it a "day safari tour" when it's actually a half day safari with lunch and some hanging out by the pool. I believe it is better to stay over night to do an evening game drive, the animals are more active then and you can see more. I do think it's a good option if you havn't been to Kruger National park before and you won't have time either. The service is good and the animals are in great conditions. It is a private game reserve that does animal conservation for a good cause. Keep that in mind!
Written 10 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your lovely review.
Written 16 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rae
Chicago, IL86 contributions
Great Day Safari at Inverdoorn Game Reserve (Morning Safari)
Feb 2020
We were a group of 10 people that did a half-day safari with Antonio at the Inverdoorn Game Reserve on Thursday, February 20th and it was lovely. Antonio was great and took us first to the lion reserve where we immediately found the lions laying down for a nap which was very neat. We then drove out to another part of the reserve where we were lucky enough to see one of the elephants bathing and playing around in a natural spring there- so cool! He was even throwing mud on himself to cool his body down on the hot summer day. We were also able to see some of the mountain giraffes and a lovely necking play exchange between one of the younger giraffes and their largest male. There were also sightings of zebras, buffalo, oryx, and lots of springbok. Our game drive was around 2.5hours and followed by a nice buffet lunch back on the main property. We drove our own rental cars so we did not utilize their transportation but overall was a great first game drive!
Written 4 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
What a wonderful review, thank you!
Written 5 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nicole C
4 contributions
Kughana Tented Camp
Apr 2019
Absolutely LOVED this overnight. The tents are amazing with great service. It is expensive but definitely worth the extra money. It was also an easy drink from Cape Town. My husband and I had an amazing time!
Written 2 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your wonderful 5 stars! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our special camp.
Written 5 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lullabystar
Worcester, MA804 contributions
It’s like a drive thru zoo
Nov 2019 • Solo
After reading the reviews I was excited to go to this Game Reserve. I had already spent 3 nights at Kruger and did a day tour to Hluhluwe Imfolozi Park. Those were much bigger and better than this park. Will you see animals? Yes. But it’s more like a drive thru zoo than a reserve.
The lions are in a separate part of the park because they were rescued. The cheetahs are also in a separate part of the park as well but are rehabbed and put back into the wild. They knew where to find all the animals they have whereas if you go to Kruger you never know what you are going to find. I like the fact that they rescue animals and rehab them if they can but I think I like the unpredictable experience better.
Written 23 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Lullabystar, As a 10,000 hectare game reserve, we have never claimed to be the 19,485 km2 Kruger Park. Inverdoorn was designed for guests who wanted the low expense of travelling only 2,5 hours from Cape Town to see the big 5, but also for guests who only had a little time and were based in Cape Town. Best wishes, Inverdoorn
Written 2 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

motoivo
Miami, FL25 contributions
Tourist place with little to offer
Feb 2020 • Couples
Disappointed to say the least. Close to a tourist trap. Have to say it was in the middle of the summer and it was very warm but I believe the guides could have helped with more information and more enthusiasm for the rides.
The facilities are new, not the best upkeep but working. This might be a better place to visit in the winter and if the add more animals otherwise do not waste your time.
Written 21 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sorry to hear that your Inverdoorn was not as loved as it is by so many return visitors every year. Our guides probably did tell you that they couldn't possibly show you every animal on the reserve in 2-3 hour game drives, but if they could, you would have found too many to count. We accommodate 50 guests sharing, we feel that we can't even be accused of being a tourist trap. Thank you.
Written 2 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 355
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing