We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Featherbed Nature Reserve

#7 of 76 things to do in Knysna Features Animals
Remembrance Drive, Knysna | Ferry from Municipal Jetty, Knysna 5270, South Africa
+27 44 382 1693
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Plodding across in old Ben takes a while but who is rushing?

Anybody who enjoys photography should take this trip across the lake. There are so many angles that... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
RubinVanNiekerk
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
Not good enough

We were a large company. The booking malfunction so we ended up having dinner at the restaurant... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Gösta R
via mobile
Read all 935 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Featherbed is a privately-owned, registered Nature Reserve and a South African Heritage Site, No.59. It is a pristine piece of paradise situated on the Western Head of Knysna and is accessible by ferry only.In order to protect the splendour of the natural beauty, access to the Reserve is controlled. Numbers are limited and visits are only permitted in the company of the Reserve's specialist guides.
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“buffet lunch” (81 reviews)
“boat trip” (109 reviews)
LOCATION
Remembrance Drive, Knysna | Ferry from Municipal Jetty, Knysna 5270, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 44 382 1693

Similar Things to Do in Knysna

Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Anybody who enjoys photography should take this trip across the lake. There are so many angles that the sun does not matter. What was not perfect from a lighting point of view there inevitably would be on the way back. The reserve itself is stunning...More

Thank RubinVanNiekerk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were a large company. The booking malfunction so we ended up having dinner at the restaurant instead of the boat. Two out of six mestorders failed with overcooked steak and not edible steak, the latter exchanged for another overcooked. Not sent out again since...More

Thank Gösta R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an amazing experience with the sunset cruise. The scenery was really beautiful and the boat was steady as well. will definitely recommend this to couples.

1  Thank arethafarao
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We are sure you meant to place it on the John Benn's tripadvisor page rather than the Featherbed Nature Reserve.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did the Featherbed Tour a few years back (in our younger days). We sailed across the lagoon on the John Benn and then were taken by tractor so far up the hillside where we were then met by a guide to take us on...More

Thank MiloDexter
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for review Milo. William Smith no longer owns the business and the John Benn also does not stop at the Featherbed Nature Reserve. It is a different vessel entirely that is allocated to the tour.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a must to visit for the views. The guide was first class with plenty of information and some humour. The bar/restaurant on the reserve is amazing and worth seeing, you will enjoy a beer after the walk. Just loved it.

Thank David R
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments.

Reviewed 6 June 2017

Our excellent visit to this privately-owned area included a ferry ride, a ride to the top in wheeled carts pulled by a powerful 4X4 vehicle, gorgeous scenery, and caves overlooking the lagoon. The scenery overlooking the cliffs is magnificent! And our lunch is the restaurant...More

Thank Providence_RITom
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments

Reviewed 6 June 2017

I would go again! The boat trip to get to the island was lovely. We then took the little train ride up the beautiful mountain, with breath taking views. We stopped at the top, to walk down lots of stairs. Saw beautiful Caves that were...More

Thank 182charmainem
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments.

Reviewed 31 May 2017

Lovely cruise in the Indian ocean to the reserve then tractor ride up to the top with great views and very scenic on the walk down where a delicious buffet lunch was waiting for us. This trip had every thing mountains caves wildlife 4 hrs...More

1  Thank Ann W
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind words....just a correction, the cruise is on the Knysna Estuary as this Eco Tour does not go out to sea.

Reviewed 16 May 2017

First a short boattrip with a funny guide. The Reserve is a beautiful territory with at the top a Great view at the rocks, the Indian Ocean and the entrance of the estuarium. We walked back to the restaurant where we had a great varied...More

Thank Piet F
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments.

Reviewed 14 May 2017

The cruise across the lagoon is relaxing. Then the tractor ride and walk provides amazing views and sights seldom seen

1  Thank Peter G
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Anchorage Restaurant
716 reviews
.27 miles away
Le Maquis
342 reviews
.31 miles away
Cafe Mario
956 reviews
.29 miles away
Chatters Bistro
542 reviews
.26 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Knysna Lagoon
502 reviews
.49 miles away
Jandreart Studio
36 reviews
.66 miles away
Drupkelders Hiking Trail
38 reviews
.65 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ziphokazidlamini
13 April 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from The Featherbed C | Property representative |
Hi there you are welcome to call 044-3821693 to make a reservation. This will avoid any dissappointment. Regards Management
0
Votes
Delius17
20 February 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from valhux | Reviewed this property |
Hi sorry if its late in answering, but we booked when we arrived in the area. We stayed for one evening and did the tour the following day. However, although we paid approx £40.00 per person for the tour, we never got a... More
1
Vote