We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: R301 Wemmershoek Drive | (Exit 59, N1 north towards Paarl), Paarl 7646, South Africa
Phone Number:
+27 21 867 8000
Website
Description:

Nestled in the beautiful Paarl-Franschhoek Valley, 35min from Cape Town and...

Nestled in the beautiful Paarl-Franschhoek Valley, 35min from Cape Town and surrounded by majestic mountains, lies Pearl Valley at Val de Vie Estate, South Africa's top residential estate. Pearl Valley boasts, among numerous other facilities, an iconic Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, named the Best Conditioned course in the Western Cape for 2010, 2011, 2012/2013 and again for 2014/2015 by Golf Digest Magazine and awarded the Compleat Golfer's Five Star Experience Award for six consecutive years. Pearl Valley is distinguished as the epitome of golf and luxury living that allow for peace of mind and unforgettable experiences. Come home to Pearl Valley where you truly can 'Live,Play, Relax'.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 98 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 34
    Excellent
  • 19
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Good but Expensive

This is a lovely course but pretty expensive around this area. We were accommodated by the helpful pro-shop since there was no record of our tee time reservation.

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
sagatourist
,
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 73: English reviews
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Rounds are slow here because you don't need a handicap certificate and there are lots of older types hacking about struggling through the 18 holes. Greens speedy and true but full of unrepaired pitch marks. When I'm on a golf course I want to be in nature not on a housing estate. Too commercial for me.

Helpful?
Thank steadyslack
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Pearl Valley is a typical Jack Signature Course... beautiful layout, pristine condition and wonderful service. The course meanders through upscale housing and the views of the surrounding mountains are beautiful. Typical Jack course... generous fairways, lots of bunkering and huge sloping greens. Lots of great holes which test your all around game.Can get very windy in the afternoon so advise... More 

Helpful?
Thank troublelove
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a lovely course but pretty expensive around this area. We were accommodated by the helpful pro-shop since there was no record of our tee time reservation.

Helpful?
Thank sagatourist
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We played 6 courses of the top 20 courses in the Cape and the best condition by far! Greens were immaculate and second only to Sawgrass I've ever played and I played Sawgrass immediately after the Players! Great design and challenging for low handicap players. Scenery better on other Course's especially Arabella but a great design and immaculate condition with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul W
PearlValley, Marketing Coordinator at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, responded to this review

Hi Paul Thank you so much for a lovely review on Pearl Valley Golf Course! We really appreciate receiving compliments such as this as our staff all work incredibly hard to keep the course in pristine condition. We hope to welcome you back soon! More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
339 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The service is slow but the staff really friendly. The beer battered fish with french fries devine! Pizza was good as was the gnocchi and butter chicken. The decor is beautiful and views of the golf course spectacular. Very busy - we visted on a Wednesday and Friday evening and it was packed outside on the patio on both occasions.

Helpful?
Thank Sue53_11
PearlValley, Marketing Coordinator at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, responded to this review

Hi Sue Thank you so much for reviewing Pearl Valley! We glad you have an enjoyable experience. We hope to welcome you back soon! More 

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing Golf Course in immaculate condition, Pro shop was short on stock which was a disappointment as my husband wanted to purchase a golf shirt and couldn't as no stock. Lunch on the balcony was fabulous with the views and service. Would definitely recommend the course.

Helpful?
Thank Golferaj1
PearlValley, Marketing Coordinator at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Pearl Valley! We apologize for the lack of stock at the Golf Shop, due to it being high season stock flies off the shelves. We do however receive stock on a weekly basis, so hopefully next time you are here we will have what you need. We are glad you... More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

The Golf course is stunning. But the people and the prices, including the services are poor. From the 2nd hole onwards, there were either one or two groundsmen hand-watering the fairways in the centre of the landing area. There is a complete irrigation system, but they were hand-watering the fairways and they had no intentions of moving. On the 15th... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nikhil G
PearlValley, Director of Golf at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Mr Nikil After reading your review of your most recent experience at Pearl Valley I was deeply disappointed. I am the newly appointed Director of Golf and after reading your review immediately addressed your concerns. I would like to say that what you experienced yesterday is not the standard we wish to offer. We pride ourselves in being a... More 

Helsinki
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Played a round of golf here. The course was nice and in good shape, but I have to say I was a bit disappointed concerning the views. The personnel were nice and everything worked out very well though. The course is rated very high among South African courses, but I have to say I don't quite understand why, I have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TeWe
PearlValley, Marketing Coordinator at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback! Our team works very hard to sustain our beautiful golf course, this is something all the staff at Pearl Valley take great pride in. More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Two other tables have arrived since we sat down. Both have been given menus and service, both two tables away from us, and we just sit here with not even a hint of service.

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
PearlValley, Marketing Coordinator at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, responded to this review

Hi Jonathan, Thank you so much for taking the time to submit feedback, we greatly appreciate it! We apologize for the lack of service you experienced at the restaurant. We are sorry that you didn't take this up with management when you were here as this could have been rectified. We will take this up with restaurant management as we... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Visitor friendly and booking is essential. A very expensive treat for locals.Cost per couple and cart R 1800. All facilities, staff and restaurants are top class.Caters for European tourist who dont balk at prices and pay well for exclusivity. Course is immaculate, difficult and has 1st class fast greens.Excellent prectice facilities.

Helpful?
Thank Garth W
PearlValley, Marketing Coordinator at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our course! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your experience! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! More 

Travellers who viewed Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?