We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden

Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
+27 21 808 3054
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A small but well filled and well displayed botanic garden

A small but well filled and well displayed botanic garden. For anyone interested in the varied... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
geraldblaikie
,
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Engagement Photos

We took our engagement photos at the Gardens. This was the perfect spot and gave us perfect... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
279clementa
via mobile
Read all 649 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden, located in the historical center of Stellenbosch, is the oldest university botanical garden in South Africa. This compact Garden houses an enormous diversity of plants, both indigenous to South Africa and exotic. The Garden is open to the public and a R10 admission applies. Although the Garden does not have a visitor parking area, a parking lot is located adjacent to the garden in Van Riebeeck Street.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good40%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bonsai trees” (35 reviews)
“water lilies” (15 reviews)
“tea garden” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 808 3054
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

A small but well filled and well displayed botanic garden. For anyone interested in the varied flora of South Africa this is certainly worth a visit. Even if you are not into plants but just want a quiet, peaceful walk this is the place for...More

Thank geraldblaikie
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We took our engagement photos at the Gardens. This was the perfect spot and gave us perfect photos. Pre-arrangements must be make. Need to book to ensure that there is not to many couples that is within the garden to make it over crowded.

Thank 279clementa
Reviewed 6 days ago

Very relaxing beautiful place to visit with some amazing plants that are well cared for, lovely relaxing areas to sit in, good coffee shop and gift shop. A bargain. Just 10 rand to get in.

Thank June l
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved it here - it was a lovely surprise to find such pretty, well kept and interesting gardens in the middle of the town, The cafe was excellent and we had a great time- well worth the visit.

Thank Julie B
Reviewed 1 week ago

In addition to other attractions within these well kept beautiful gardens, it was the bonsai collection that made my day. This is probably in the top five of similar bonsai collections. Well done and thank you Stellenbosch University.

Thank omegacon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Heard about the Garden so thought a quick pop in, well not so quick. They have an awesome collection of Bonsai and the hot houses are truly worth a walk about. Truly enjoyed the experience and will be back for another look. Great place to...More

Thank Michelle P
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden as we went to Stellenbosch for the day. Really interesting garden which is well laid out and you can easily spend several hours looking at the plants.

Thank Tim T
Reviewed 8 October 2017

perfect to walk around, relax, and just generally forget you are in the middle of town. It has many fascinating corners and gardens and provides a smaller garden than the large botanical ones where you might not get around in a day. here you can...More

Thank Gooner_JT
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Tranquility in the shade and beautiful surrounding with delightful Lilly ponds. Wonderful flora and a little shop to browse in too. Excellent Babootie can be had for lunch at the Restaurant under the trees. Cakes could be better though.

Thank M4658WKsharonh
Reviewed 4 October 2017

For a small Botanical garden, it has loads of pleasant surprises! The glass houses, water plant area, vegetable garden, etc. The orange flowers were in full bloom in September: Strelitzia, various proteas, daisies, buttercups, clivias, etc. There is also a restaurant in the middle of...More

Thank Dirmu G
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Helena's
813 reviews
.21 miles away
Fat Butcher
423 reviews
.08 miles away
Basic Bistro
663 reviews
.21 miles away
De Warenmarkt
94 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
282 reviews
.12 miles away
Dutch Reform Church
107 reviews
.12 miles away
Stellenbosch University
120 reviews
.34 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chelsea D
12 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Unfortunately wedding photography is not allowed. Other shoots are allowed with prior arrangement.
0
Votes
Twinkle-Eyez1
24 February 2016|
Answer
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Good day. Unfortunately we do not allow picnics in the garden. Photography is allowed but prior permission is required for any commercial photo shoots.
0
Votes
JABDover
30 December 2015|
Answer
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Apologies for the very late response. Probably to late for you but hopefully it might still help someone else. There are trains from Cape Town directly to Stellenbosch. The station is however a few blocks away from the... More
0
Votes