We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden

Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
+27 21 808 3054
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Beautifully even in winter

The trees are amazing redwood, cedar, etc. The bonsai were the best I've seen. Really enjoyed my... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Kim R
,
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, United States
via mobile
Even in the rain it was good!

We had already visited Kirstenbosch in Cape Town and been disappointed that there wasn't much in... read more

Reviewed 18 August 2017
banstead
,
Reigate, United Kingdom
Read all 633 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden, located in the historical center of Stellenbosch, is the oldest university botanical garden in South Africa. This compact Garden houses an enormous diversity of plants, both indigenous to South Africa and exotic. The Garden is open to the public and a R10 admission applies. Although the Garden does not have a visitor parking area, a parking lot is located adjacent to the garden in Van Riebeeck Street.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good40%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bonsai trees” (33 reviews)
“water lilies” (17 reviews)
“tea garden” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Cnr. Van Riebeeck Street and Neethling Street, Stellenbosch, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 808 3054
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The trees are amazing redwood, cedar, etc. The bonsai were the best I've seen. Really enjoyed my time there.

Thank Kim R
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We had already visited Kirstenbosch in Cape Town and been disappointed that there wasn't much in flower (being winter) so had no great expectation for this one. But with the cheap admission we thought it worth a look, even though it was pouring with rain....More

Thank banstead
Reviewed 15 August 2017

It was our first time in the Botanical Gardens for our family photoshoot. We had an amazing time, the kids loved seeing all the different plants and trees and loved being able to walk on the different pathways and playing hide and seek. We will...More

Thank Aehrintyler13
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Awesome family outing, had lovely lunch at the Katjiepiering Restaurant. Definitely recommend it. Entrance fee was only minimal

Thank fhdhdbdj
Reviewed 6 August 2017

A definite place to go for bonsai tree lovers - I have never seen so many in one place. Very reasonable entry fee allows you to wander around the gardens at leisure. We went in winter but still plenty to see and a nice escape...More

2  Thank BWM505
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

What a lovely Botanical Garden in the middle in the old town area of Stellenbosch.Its only R10 to enter and has different garden themes .Its a small scale Kirstenbosch with nursery and shop.And hidden cafe in the "rainforest".

1  Thank Mike_G6308
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

A small well kept garden with an excellent restaurant great for an afternoon visit if staying in Stellenbosch. Numerous bonsai trees. Very good value considering the small admission fee and partial refund at the restaurant.

1  Thank Phillip A
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We visited in SA's winter, but can imagine it is a haven to go to when it is hotter. It certainly was idyllic when we visited on a sunny, crisp, winter morning. Has a cafe and really easy to walk around (I would say that...More

1  Thank Maddie P
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

I went there with my fiancé. I expected plants and trees but never thought i would see so many bonsai trees. Instantly happy. The bonsai's alone was worth it.

1  Thank 771willemb
Reviewed 29 June 2017

A lovely place to escape to for a while. Tranquil and beautifully maintained. Worth a visit, even a short one.

Thank Beverly S
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Helena's
785 reviews
.21 miles away
Fat Butcher
366 reviews
.08 miles away
Basic Bistro
641 reviews
.21 miles away
De Warenmarkt
80 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
271 reviews
.13 miles away
Dylan Lewis Sculpture Garden
17 reviews
.30 miles away
Stellenbosch Wine Route Visitor Information Centre
23 reviews
.14 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chelsea D
12 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Unfortunately wedding photography is not allowed. Other shoots are allowed with prior arrangement.
0
Votes
Twinkle-Eyez1
24 February 2016|
Answer
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Good day. Unfortunately we do not allow picnics in the garden. Photography is allowed but prior permission is required for any commercial photo shoots.
0
Votes
JABDover
30 December 2015|
Answer
Response from Martin S | Property representative |
Apologies for the very late response. Probably to late for you but hopefully it might still help someone else. There are trains from Cape Town directly to Stellenbosch. The station is however a few blocks away from the... More
0
Votes