We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Serenity Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Seaham Hall Farm Lord Byron's Walk | Seaham Hall, Seaham SR7 7AG, England
Phone Number:
+44 191 516 1400
Website
Description:

Voted as the Best Spa in the North East by Good Spa Guide 2016 and Best Spa...

Voted as the Best Spa in the North East by Good Spa Guide 2016 and Best Spa for Style by The Sunday Times and Best UK Spa Destination by Conde Nast Traveller The Serenity Spa at Seaham Hall is a place where water is used to pamper, indulge and relax you.Inspired by Feng Shui, you will discover a place that is oriental in design, with teak, granite and limestone everywhere amid an atmosphere of complete calm. Choose from over forty different treatments or one of our Day Rituals.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 197 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 136
    Excellent
  • 37
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Midweek winter warmer spa day

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a lovely day at seaham hall serenity spa. We booked the £99 per person 9-5 spa day including a two course lunch and an hour long hot oil massage. The... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 January 2017
AvidGlobeHopper
,
Newcastle, Australia
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 197: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

The staff in the actual spa were really lovely and made me and my sisters/Mam feel very special particularly as we were celebrating a birthday. However, waitress in restaurant when we ordered drinks was so rude, unprofessional and confrontational over something seemingly insignificant. She dampened our evening which was a shame. The staff did try and make it up but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate N
Management response:

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, I am really disappointed to hear that a member of my team had spoiled your day. As you have noted we were aware of the incident and did try to rectify the situation but I understand the damage had been done. Rest assured this is an extremely rare feedback... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We have visited Seaham Hall a number of times over the last five years and the last two trips we have found the spa to be a little tired. On the Sunday the spa seemed over booked. Far too many people, no where near enough loungers for people, people sharing lockers, no treatment slots available etc.The Sauna and steam room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cubajamaica
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write detailed feedback of your stay at Seaham Hall , I would like the opportunity to speak with you personally and it would be greatly appreciated if you take the time to contact me on 0191 516 1400 and ask for the Spa Director – Davina Hassell . More 

Wingate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Visited here with a couple of friends for a spa day. We were greeted by friendly receptionists and explained about our day. However, the facilities need a some serious TLC. Hot tub indoors was not working (haven't we paid to use the facilities?) and the Turkish steam room smelt foisty. We literally could not stay in there. Lots of noise... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank jlassie
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regards your spa day. I would like the opportunity to speak with you personally and it would be greatly appreciated if you take the time to contact me on 0191 516 1400 and ask for the Spa Director – Davina Hassell . More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a lovely day at seaham hall serenity spa. We booked the £99 per person 9-5 spa day including a two course lunch and an hour long hot oil massage. The spa itself is beautiful and clean, there are plenty of loungers by the pool and there are outdoor hot tubs, indoor hot tubs, plunge pools,... More 

Helpful?
Thank AvidGlobeHopper
Management response:

Thank you very much for your review, and its nice to hear that you would definitely return for another spa day. I am delighted that you enjoyed all the facilities and the food, the menu in our Ozone Restaurant was updated a few ago and the feedback has been positive. The seafood is proving to be a huge hit, certainly... More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We've been to Seaham Hall on a few occasions and it never disappoints. The only area of feedback which I'll provide is on this occasion the therapist who I had my massage & facial with was a bit too insistent on selling me the products. I felt I was getting a bit of a hard sell. Now I'm sure the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angella B
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your day of relaxation on New Years Eve and thank you for positive feedback regarding the staff and food, and thank you for your return visit. Your feedback regards the therapist recommending your aftercare has been addressed through training, and I hope you understand... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016

Me and my sister booked this as a xmas present. We got a twilight spa with treatment and two course meal. Couldn't fault it and was worth every penny! we had our treatments which were great then our meal which was beautiful (I was a little worried as my mam is a picky eater) But she really enjoyed her meal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen D
Management response:

Thank you for visiting Serenity Spa for an Evening spa package that includes use of the spa, a 45 min massage and a 2 course meal. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all the aspects of your visit, particularly for your mum, that she enjoyed her meal, but rest assured, even if the menu selection was not suitable... More 

Hitchin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

We have enjoyed spa days at Seaham before but this year we were less impressed. The massages were first class. You need to experience one to believe it. But whilst last year the main pool and jacuzzis were steaming hot this year they were disappointingly tepid. This took away the luxurious aspect of the experience.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regards your visit to the spa. Thank you for your positive comments regards the treatments and I am delighted that you enjoyed your massage. I am sorry however to hear that the water temperatures were disappointing to what you remembered during your last visit. Rest assured that we check the... More 

North East UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing time today at the spa. Jill was outstanding with her treatment performance , loved my massage and totally enjoyed our meal. The spa facility is outstanding. Such a nice relaxing treat.

Helpful?
Thank aa3ape
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regards your visit to the spa on Boxing day. I am delighted to hear that you had an amazing day at the spa and enjoyed your meal and your massage that was performed by Jill, who i will certainly pass on your kind comments regards her treatments. thank you for... More 

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016

The package was a birthday celebration for me (60s) and my daughter (30s). We are so pleased we chose it, as the spa facilities were excellent, the lunch very good indeed and the massage very relaxing. This is the best spa day we have been on in the North Yorks/Co Durham area. It was very good value and the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank rosemarynicholls9
Management response:

Thank you for choosing to visit The Serenity Spa and taking the time to write your review. The mellow midweeker package is one of our most popular packages and I am pleased that you both enjoyed your spa day as it was such a special day for you both. Its lovely to spend "mum and daughter time together" and even... More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016

From the minute you walk in to the Spa reception you are greeted by very friendly staff but also a calm atmosphere. The reception staff give you a very informal but informative tour of the spa and give you a print out of any treatments that you have booked and the time slots,they then take you to the changing rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank J L
Management response:

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Spa Afternoon at Serenity Spa, it is a real treat isn't it ? we ensure that all our guests are given a full tour around the facilities so that you feel comfortable in knowing what the procedure is for your spa visit, and... More 

Travellers who viewed The Serenity Spa also viewed

 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Serenity Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Serenity Spa and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Serenity Spa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?