We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Railway Touring Company

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 14A Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JN, England
Phone Number:
+44 1553 661500
Today
08:45 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 08:45 - 17:00
Sat 09:00 - 16:00

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 398 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 194
    Excellent
  • 62
    Very good
  • 19
    Average
  • 43
    Poor
  • 80
    Terrible
Winter Cumbrian Mountain Express

Booked this as a Christmas Present and was really looking forward to it, that was until the tickets arrived. Seems the scenic route through Cumbria has been replaced with a haul... read more

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 days ago
Maxine B
,
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 398: English reviews
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just discovered, via inside information, that as previously posted for Sat 21st's train, this train also will now only go out and back via Shap, not happy, not bloody happy!! Only booked this trip because of it advertised as going via The Cumbrian Coast!!! This now makes it an horrendously priced trip at £109 per person, for just a trip... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff G
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked this as a Christmas Present and was really looking forward to it, that was until the tickets arrived. Seems the scenic route through Cumbria has been replaced with a haul through Shap and same coming back. Also the steam engine will only haul as far as Carnforth on the way back to Manchester. Operational reasons and circumstances beyond their... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Maxine B
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Railway Touring Company's Steam Railway Tour to the Harz Mountains was our first organised tour together. Our tour manager host, Andrew, put together an excellent programme that combined chartered steam trains, chartered vintage trams and guided tours in Leipzig, the Harz Mountains Region, Potsdam and Berlin. It was a wonderful holiday.

Helpful?
Thank Dwortley
RTCUK1, Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to all the team involved in making the holiday a huge success. More 

Mildenhall
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2016

Took a trip from Brandon to York hauled most of the way by the Duchess of Sutherland and it was great. The rail carriages are in superb condition but the fantastic staff and volunteers made the trip truly exceptional. Plenty of time in York

Helpful?
Thank Dan_MarthaMildenhall
RTCUK1, Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your day with us to York. Your comments are very much appreciated by all involved. More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2016

We travelled on the York Yuletide Express from Attleborough to York and return. Slight disappointment that the steam locomotive joined at Peterborough instead of hauling the train throughout, but this was beyond the company's control and was explained the previous day. (It's also made clear at booking that things can change). Actually some railtour operators would have just diesel hauled... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert R
RTCUK1, Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your comments and your understanding of the situation we found ourselves in. Every best effort is always made to ensure that we run as advertised or as near to it as possible. We have noted your point regarding the wording of our explanations and we will endeavour to make things... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Day before going told that no steam train will be on till Peterborough which was why we booked in the first place. They don't tell you about the stops and delays on the journey .12 hour journey time to York and back is too long from Norwich. There must be better company's doing this out there.At one point it was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley R
RTCUK1, Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Due to the operational issues explained to you the situation regarding the steam locomotive was due to a decision made by Network Rail, of which they issued an official apology, and was beyond our control. Every effort was made to ensure that we had steam from Peterborough and that the trip was not diesel hauled.... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We went on this trip on the 27th November, which had been planned secretly for my partners 50th birthday. I booked premier class seats and paid extra for a 2 seated table. I was concerned whether the trip would be cancelled or changed at the last minute after reading reviews, which if it had been cancelled at the last minute... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Rgelling
RTCUK1, Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your day with us. Unfortunately cancalleations and changes do happen occasionally due to operational restrictions beyond our control. Your comments are much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back on board again in the future. More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2016

A most interesting and enjoyable experience in a fairly unknown tourist destination - oh what people are missing! Slovakia is a gem. The 14 day 'land cruise' covered a variety of landscapes and often stunning scenery - from farmland, forests, rugged hills, unspoilt areas and impressive Tatra Mountains. The people are warm and friendly, seeming to take delight and pride... More 

Helpful?
Thank 5kas
RTCUK1, Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us. Your comments and support are very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you in 2017. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016

Train was 1hour late leaving.We were freezing cold as heating would not work.Only had enough time in chester to grab a bite of lunch.Returned to train and again no heating so spent the whole time wearing coats hats and gloves.The staff on the train did not have a clue about getting the heating to work and we did not find... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank P9466JBmary
RTCUK1, Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. There was an operational issue with the departure of the train from the sidings resulting in the delay. We had requested for a delayed departure from Chester to allow passengers more time but this was rejected due to engineering blocks planned on the route that evening which would have impacted our return. The train was... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

I have just got back off the Royal Wessex, on the trip to Weymouth. The whole thing was amazing and I cannot recommend going on a day trip with this company enough. We booked first class (not dining), the seats were so comfy and the carriages were clean and you really felt like you had travelled back in time- we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CAMBS001
RTCUK1, Manager at The Railway Touring Company, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed you trip with us and your comments are much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip. More 

Travellers who viewed The Railway Touring Company also viewed

 
King's Lynn, Norfolk
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 

Been to The Railway Touring Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Railway Touring Company and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Railway Touring Company staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?