We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Audley End House and Gardens

1,387 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Audley End House and Gardens

1,387 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Saffron Walden
from US$11.08
More Info
from US$27.01
More Info
from US$24.93
More Info
1,387Reviews23Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 739
  • 417
  • 128
  • 39
  • 64
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lennie wrote a review Dec 2020
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom30 contributions1 helpful vote
Ground floor kitchens, laundry, tack room, stables, and 1st floor library, dining room, drawing rooms are open to mask wearers - 6 people to a room for Covid distancing. This was very well thought through. The kitchens and laundry have videos projected onto the walls to take you back to conversations between staff - really good to make the rooms "come alive". My only criticism is that neither of their cafes offered any covered outdoor seating - it rained all day so we started to eat our takeaway lunch outside in heavy rain by the main cafe. Getting soaked we carried our food and drinks back to the car park and sat in our cars to eat in the dry. Not a great experience. A few hours later we tried their garden cafe for coffee and cake - no seating at all here so again we stood in the pouring rain to eat and drink. Both cafes have large spaces outside so it would be easy to put up a small marquee to keep the rain off their takeaway food guests as most other places have done. Come on English Heritage a marquee would give a well ventilated (Covid safe) dry place to eat during the Winter months whereas the indoor seating in the main cafe has absolutely no ventilation (no open windows or doors) so is not a Covid-safe place for guests to remove their masks to eat.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Sarah S wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
It was very poorly organised, we had the 3pm slot and there was no one at the car park area to explain what we were doing. We found the tent where they doing a fancy dress competition and was told we could have the spooky trail sheet once they had finished. They finished 30 mins later and it was then too late to start as they were clearing bits away to close the trail at 4pm. We then had to do the longer trail that wasn’t being put away till 5pm, this involved finding whiteboards with words on-no arrows, clues or spooky decorations anywhere! We came to the last clue near the cafe at 5.02pm and were very rudely told to leave as they were closed-they actual said this to my seven year old daughter. I questioned how they spoke to my child and the lady stormed off slamming the staff area door! Spooky stories weren’t happening due to rain and not a single decoration anywhere. So basically a walk around the gardens of audley end, which would be fine if it wasn’t advertised as a spooky event for children. Very disappointing family day out.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from EnglishHeritageTA, Marketing at Audley End House and Gardens
Responded 2 Nov 2020
We're very sorry to hear you left disappointed - never what we like to hear when we host activities at Audley End. The event is a little different this time around - some of the hands on and indoor activities you might remember are not currently possible due to social distancing guidelines, but we've done our best to offer some new alternatives such as the Halloween trail and outside fancy dress competition. We're sorry that these did not meet your expectations this time around. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us - we will be sure to share your message with our events team. We would also like to take this opportunity to reassure you that it is of the upmost importance to us that everyone feels welcome at our sites and that we provide excellent customer service. We have passed on your comments to the site manager to look into this further. If you would like to provide any more information, please contact the English Heritage customer service team on 0370 333 1181.
Read more
Cara wrote a review Oct 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Audley End House and Gardens has been a safe haven over this Summer/Autumn. It has been somewhere for my toddler to run around and explore, in all weather! (It has some of the best puddles in the area!) The staff have been amazing, following all new covid restriction to help keep customers safe, as well as being genuinely helpful and friendly with every visit. After so many visits we finally did a tour of the house and found the staff members in each room to be incredibly knowledgeable and the history is fascinating. Considering how many times we have come here, we never get bored of the place’s beauty and the changes that come with every season.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Rose wrote a review Oct 2020
7 contributions3 helpful votes
Visited for the Spooky Woodland Walk and loved every moment of it. Storyteller did an amazing job and ghostly creatures worked well in the background. We all agreed our favourite part was the Jack-o-lantern story and children absolutely loved it. One of their tea rooms was open for a nice hot drink at the end - it was card only.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Rob h wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
Well where can I possibly start with this!! This was quite honestly the worst event experience I have ever had anywhere. We paid £54 for a ticket for a “spooky trial” which materialised as basically a walk in the gardens which is fine but completely the opposite of what they are advertising. We arrived and parked in a car park and walked over to two empty kiosks - not a member of staff in sight?! We then found some bits of paper which appeared to have some sort of word/ clues on. No pens or pencils available and I mean maybe I am unorganised but when you pay for an event anywhere else you have always got a pencil!! Anyway off we wandered aimlessly towards the house, no arrows, no signs, no direction. There was a little hut set up that had 2 men in it and we asked what we were supposed to be doing and he replied (bluntly) “well there is a long walk or a short walk what do you want to do?!“ looking at our children (two 6 year olds one 7) we opted for a short one. He then said we could have the paperwork in 20 minutes after he had done something else?! There was no story time going on nothing so we found the cafe and sat down bemused to have a coffee. When we came out he then told us the short walk had been shut so we had no choice but to do the long one. So we looked at our sheet we had no map no clue where Or what we were looking for and headed off aimlessly wandering round the massive gardens. I would like to point out there was not a single decoration of any kind anywhere in the whole park? So we find a WHITE BOARD with a word on - not a clue or a riddle or any form of effort but a word. So basically we had to walk around with the children to find a board with a word on and then work out the name of a witch. Anyway after walking round and not seeing another member of staff at all we finally got to the end and one of the girls run ahead and was told by a member of staff to “get out we are shut now” this was at 5:02 we had walked round for an hour without any guidance for the children to be 2 minutes late and met with rudeness. We confronted said lady and pointed out that these children just wanted to get to the end of this shoddy experience her reply to us was “I have had complaints all day I am not listening to this and proceeds to strop off and slam the door behind” well you can imagine my upset. ENGLISH. HERITAGE this is giving you such a bad name. How dare a company behave in this way. If this was a walk round some beautiful gardens then fair enough but to say this is a “spooky trail” aimed at children is false advertising is the understatement of The year. I see other people have slated this as well. Honestly still fuming.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from EnglishHeritageTA, Marketing at Audley End House and Gardens
Responded 2 Nov 2020
We're very sorry to hear you left disappointed - never what we like to hear when we host activities at Audley End. The event is a little different this time around - some of the hands on and indoor activities you might remember are not currently possible due to social distancing guidelines, but we've done our best to offer some new alternatives such as the Halloween trail and story telling. We're sorry that these did not meet your expectations this time around. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us - we will be sure to share your message with our events team. We would also like to take this opportunity to reassure you that it is of the upmost importance to us that everyone feels welcome at our sites and that we provide excellent customer service. We have passed on your comments to the site manager who will be investigating your feedback as a priority. If you would like to provide any more information, please contact the English Heritage customer service team on 0370 333 1181.
Read more
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Audley End House and Gardens