Midland Gliding Club

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles20 reviews
Excellent
15
Very good
3
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
1

TheHitchG
Oswestry, UK1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2018 • Solo
I have attended a couple of one day courses this year so far, and have really enjoyed the time I've been able to spend at this very special club. The views are amazing, from the ground and in the air, the folk are friendly and the food is first class! Even when weather or other factors may mean that you're not able to be in the air as much or as long as you'd like, it is a great place to be.
Written 12 June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi, Thanks for your comments. We're really glad you have enjoyed your time here this year. I'll pass on your great feedback to our kitchen team too. Hope to see you again soon.
Written 19 June 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

davedave2018
Shrewsbury, UK1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2018 • Solo
I booked a one day course, cost £165. After two whole days I had four launches and perhaps 30 minutes airtime. There were too many pilots trying to fly and I spent most of both days watching others launch or helping cart gliders about. Nobody seems to be in charge. The Club members were friendly enough, the instructors seemed competent Pilots. They did offer me yet another day to try to get some further flights, but that seems to miss the point. Nobody has asked for feedback, or apparently even noticed I did not go back; though somebody did have the time to remove my feedback from the club Facebook page. Fortunately I have found somewhere better organised to train with.
Written 30 May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi, We were sorry to hear that you had such a poor experience with us, and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know. For any complaints of this nature we take time to investigate the exact details of what went wrong, and we've looked back at our records to see what happened, to avoid this happening again. Nevertheless without your full name we cannot guarantee that we are looking at the correct day(s). If you would like to talk to us in more detail about this, then please get in touch with me at marketing@midlandgliding.club. If not, then we quite understand that you have begun flying at another club, and we wish you all the very best in your future flying.
Written 19 June 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Richard H
Church Stretton, UK94 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2018 • Solo
The birthday before last my wife gave me a "trial flight" voucher at the Midland Gliding Club. Through no fault of the club (mostly adverse weather once I had gotten around to booking the flight), I finally had my flight yesterday. It exceeded my wildest hopes. I felt welcomed (as I did through all the rearranged flight dates, there was never an issue with rearranging), and couldn't have asked for a more encouraging instructor (thank you Mike G.). I was given plenty of opportunity to take over the joystick, and actually felt it was something I could pick up, even at my tender age of 70. In addition to the soaring experience, the views were fantastic, strange picking out places that I cycle regularly, but now from the air - they look so very different. The only downside was that by the end of the flight I was feeling slightly nauseous, and was a little "unwell" when I got home. But this will not deter me from giving it another go - I need to know if that reaction is something I can overcome. If you ever wonder what gliding might be like, give it a go - and from my experience I strongly recommend doing it from The Long Mynd.
Written 27 April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Richard, Really pleased that you had such a great time with us, and glad the weather finally played ball to allow the flight to take place! Thanks for your comments, it helps us to know what's working well - I'll pass on your thanks to Mike G too. Just like most other 'adrenalin' type sports, some people can feel a bit nauseous the first time they fly. This is generally because, when you are not flying the glider yourself, your body doesn't know what to expect next, or your body is not used to the new sensations of flying and the altered 'G' forces. It generally passes on subsequent flights a) because you know what to expect and b) because you take on more of the flying yourself, so your body knows what movements are coming next. If you would like to come along again (and make good use of your 3 month membership) then we will be happy to arrange a date. Just call the office. We do hope to see you again soon.
Written 20 June 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mikey1664
Dunstable340 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2018 • Solo
Although I was up there as a mountain biker rather than a flyer club members were very welcoming and offered use of the club house for food and drink. Had interesting chats with club members (as I have flown before). Interesting to know that one can get food and drink on the Long Mynd, especially on a hot day if you run out of water.
Written 19 April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks Mikey1664 and we hope to welcome you on another visit soon.
Written 20 April 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

RobSandy
Telford, Shropshire UK47 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2017 • Solo
Although the venue was pleasant (despite the daunting drive up the steep single-track roads) and the members/staff welcoming and friendly, the 'Day Gliding' course was poorly managed, with many hours of standing around with no briefing and little or nothing to do. Acting as 'ground crew' is part of the experience and that is fine, but having had just one 45 minute flight, with good flying weather and three other students (who were on week-long courses) shared between one instructor and one dual-seat aircraft, I felt very discouraged, and left early as there appeared to be no chance that I would fly again that day, as no schedule was given and no information made available as to what might be happening. The actual flight was good, and the instruction can't be faulted once in the air. A second dual-seat aircraft, apparently ready for use at the launch site was dormant, whilst several single-seat aircraft were launched during a very long wait wait. In the end I just gave up waiting, and went home. I suggest that priority on flight time is assigned to those attending on one-day courses, with a time limit on the flights so that those waiting have a good idea of how much standing around time is likely; rather than "launch and see how long you can stay up". I won't be going back.
Written 4 October 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We were sorry to hear that you had a less than amazing experience with us recently. We are currently reviewing the types of gliding experiences that we offer and how they can best be delivered so that everyone who visits has a great time with us. This will include how we communcate before and during the day, so that our guests know what to expect. So thank you very much for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to tell us. We'd love to have a chat to get a better understanding of exactly what happened (or didn't) & see how we can improve things for our One Day visitors and guests. If you would like us to call you about this, then please email us at marketing@midlandgliding.club with your best contact number and we'll get in touch. Once again, thanks for letting us know and we do hope that you will consider visiting again so that we can show you how wonderful gliding really can be.
Written 3 November 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rob S
56 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2017 • Family
A fantastic place to take a one off "Bucket list" flight, a gift flight for a loved one or to follow a dream and learning to fly a glider.
Written 10 September 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ben H
Leicester, UK5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2017 • Friends
Stumbled upon this place after a steep hill-climb and in desperate need of a coffee. Cakes ham egg and chips a bonus. Recommended ;)
Written 13 May 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks Ben, we're glad you stumbled upon us and enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Written 7 November 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Spladdy
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2016 • Friends
I have visited many gliding clubs from deepest Cornwall to Scotland, they are all good but the Midland Gliding club is very special.
Perched on top of the ridge and facing west you are treated to the most amazing sunsets and views towards Wales that are truly spectacular.
Sometimes as you sip your beer outside the club room on summer evenings, you will see paragliders floating by silently, or a hawk hovering in the updraft from the ridge--magic.

The club is welcoming, friendly and yet down to earth, the payed staff appear to enjoy their jobs, a sure sign that the club has "got it right".
The catering staff work very hard to deliver first rate grub from first thing in the morning till everyone has eaten at night.
The club has a professional winch driver and instructor on duty every day from spring to autumn so you can always ensure a launch and training if you require.
The site enjoys fantastic soaring opportunities all year round.

I would recommend that every glider pilot or would be glider pilot should visit the Midland Gliding Club or as we call it "The Mynd"
You really won't regret it!
Written 22 February 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Spladdy, Thanks for such a great review. We're delighted that you enjoy spending time here and hope that you will be able to come and visit us again soon.
Written 7 November 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul M
Brussels, Belgium144 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2016 • Solo
the long mynd is a walking and viewpoint paradise in the UK
the club is centrally located and offers good meals and decent accomodation at very very good prices
the people running the club are super friendly
I'll surely return again
paul
Written 8 October 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for your review Paul. We're really glad that you enjoyed your visit to Midland Gliding Club, and we'd love to see you again soon.
Written 3 November 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dayslane
Box, UK31 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2016 • Couples
Great watching the gliders take off, do stunts, and land. People all very friendly, and there is a tea room too!
Written 17 September 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for the review. We're glad you enjoyed your time at Midland Gliding Club. Do come and visit us again.
Written 3 November 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 11-20 of 20

(Church Stretton, England): - Tripadvisor

All things to do in Church Stretton
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire