We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dyffryn Fernant Gardens

Open Now: 12:00 - 18:00
Open today: 12:00 - 18:00
Review Highlights
Plants and cafe

Lovely welcome - helpful advice from resident gardener. Enjoyed a great pot of Welsh be on tea and... read more

Reviewed 19 October 2018
Huppim2019
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
via mobile
Stunning jewels

On a dull drizzly morning this garden glowed. Fascinating on a large or small scale. Striking... read more

Reviewed 3 October 2018
Anne K
,
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Read all 89 reviews
81
All photos (81)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good14%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
About
A 6 acre plantsman's garden set in a beautiful landscape
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 - 18:00
See all hours
Contact
Llanychaer, Fishguard SA65 9SP, Wales
Website
+44 1348 811282
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
56
12
10
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
56
12
10
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews for sale lovely garden pembrokeshire countryside beautiful plants hidden away narrow lane flower beds different areas loved the fact west wales planting library inspiration honesty cultivated species christina
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2019

We visited here last summer, expecting a lovely couple of hours to be spent here. What a disappointment. Firstly- the road leading down to the gardens should give an indication of what to expect, as well as the parking- a field. I would not want...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Haf J
Michael D, Manager at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2019

We're disappointed you did not enjoy your visit. I'll address your points one by one: We do not make money, it is not a money making enterpise. The thought that one can make money simply by opening a garden is a thought only a non...More

Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

£7 to walk in a garden, use toilet and view plants for sale. Lovely people work there but such an overpriced venu. I must admit. It pained me to dpend £7. Its just a garden . Be warned!!!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Danni M
Michael D, Manager at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

We're disappointed you didn't enjoy your visit. It is indeed 'just a garden' and is therefore appealing to people who enjoy gardens and place. If you don't enjoy gardens yourself I might tentatively suggest not visiting places advertised as being gardens.

Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

Lovely welcome - helpful advice from resident gardener. Enjoyed a great pot of Welsh be on tea and flapjack. Other cakes available.More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Huppim2019
Michael D, Manager at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Delighted you enjoyed your visit. From your review it looks like you came on an NGS day when we do have cakes but I should point out to other potential visitors that we don't currently serve cakes but we do have self service tea and...More

Reviewed 3 October 2018

On a dull drizzly morning this garden glowed. Fascinating on a large or small scale. Striking colour combinations, unusual plants, interesting planting ideas and design. And a comfy barn library to make a cuppa and look at more inspiration in the extensive book collection. Bliss.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Anne K
Michael D, Manager at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Delighted you enjoyed your visit, its really great when someone who obviously appreciates design and plants responds to the place.

Reviewed 11 September 2018

We found Dyffryn Fernant by accident and we are so glad we did. It’s a magical place with discrete sections of informal, creative planting and a library where you can take a book to read in one of the many secluded seating areas, just drinking...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank CatherineW-7
Michael D, Manager at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Delighted you enjoyed your visit so much and clearly appreciated the spirit of the place!

Reviewed 29 August 2018

Could have been a lovely visit but spoiled by a bonfire that filled the garden with smoke. This surely could have been done when there were no visitors that had paid £7.00 each. Very disappointed.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Extraordinary555131
Michael D, Manager at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Very sorry that your visit was spoiled by the bonfire. Unfortunately it was a case of taking advantage of the weather during working hours. Had you made your displeasure known at the time we certainly would have put the fire out.

Reviewed 31 July 2018

Have just seen a few negative critiques of his garden and have wondered if they were talking about the same place. This truly is a wonderful garden hidden away down a narrow lane but well worth the ticket price! The mixture of plants and trees,...More

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Mike P
Michael D, Manager at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Delighted you enjoyed your visit so much and made a real connection to the place; its really fantastic when people are able to respond to the nature of the place in this way.

Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely small garden with some amazing alpines and a semi wild meadow. I loved the fact it was so different from formal gardens, eclectic and welcoming

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank HelenBilli
Michael D, Manager at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

So glad you enjoyed the feel of the garden and have an appreciation for the space we have tried to enhance here.

Reviewed 20 July 2018

The garden when we visited was a little disappointing,in the way that it seemed to be poorly managed with weeds almost everywhere. If it was the intention to create a wild garden it was let go to far.The grass beds were good to see with...More

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank sharonainger
Michael D, Manager at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

We're disappointed you didn't appreciate the plant combinations which are appreciated by so many; any style of visual aesthetic will never appeal to everyone. I can assure you that TLC is not in short supply! An incredible amount of work goes into the garden. As...More

Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

I took an elderly friend here for a first trip out after she left hospital. She loves gardening and as the website said it was partially disabled friendly, I thought it would be a good choice. But there was a lot of gravel, which you...More

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Ladybradycoen
Christina S, Owner at Dyffryn Fernant Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

We are sorry you had difficulty with the walker and do acknowledge that a lot of the garden is inaccessible for many of disabled people. However we do offer anyone to bring their vehicle right up into the garden thereby avoiding so much gravel to...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
Cartref Hotel
138 reviews
2.31 miles away
The Seaview Hotel
173 reviews
2.81 miles away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
688 reviews
3.01 miles away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
491 reviews
4.49 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 44 nearby restaurants
Bara Brith
58 reviews
1.12 miles away
Hooked At 31
250 reviews
2.35 miles away
The Freemasons Arms
142 reviews
1.69 miles away
The Old Sailors
242 reviews
1.93 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 31 nearby attractions
The Last Invasion Tapestry Gallery
225 reviews
2.26 miles away
Bessies
72 reviews
2.71 miles away
Yet-Y-Gors Fishery and Campsite Fishguard
61 reviews
3.88 miles away
Bluestone Brewing Company Ltd
40 reviews
5.00 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Dyffryn Fernant Gardens staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines