We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Shark Eco-Charters

#3 of 21 Tours in Simon's Town Features Animals
Wharf Road, Simon's Town 7995, South Africa
+27 82 838 2309
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Highlight of the holiday!

We had a fantastic morning with Eco-Charters! Firstly, the sunrise in Simon's Town is breath taking... read more

Reviewed 22 September 2014
Geraldine O
,
Roydon, United Kingdom
Awesome Experience

All of the Simon's Town outfitters provide basically the same experience. The boats are literally... read more

Reviewed 21 September 2014
Brett H
,
Austin, Texas
Read all 258 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Join shark expert and naturalist Rob Lawrence for a personalize true shark experience.Certified "Fair Trade in Tourism", we offer eco-friendly shark cage diving and great white breaching trips in Simon's Town.Small groups only Scuba Diving offered with no dive experience needed. A truly amazing experience.
  • Excellent85%
  • Very good11%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 07:00 - 17:00
LOCATION
Wharf Road, Simon's Town 7995, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 82 838 2309

Similar Things to Do in Simon's Town

Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 110 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2014

We had a fantastic morning with Eco-Charters! Firstly, the sunrise in Simon's Town is breath taking during the short trip to Seal Island. We saw a natural hunt en route. Throughout the experience we saw 3 breaches (which is very rare) and some action around...More

1  Thank Geraldine O
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

So glad this was the highlight of your holiday, too see sharks AND whales too on one trip- that is pretty neat.. Our ASEC team really does try to provide a great trip.

Reviewed 21 September 2014

All of the Simon's Town outfitters provide basically the same experience. The boats are literally in a few hundred yards of one-another both while trying to illicit a breach (we did not get to see) and during the cage diving. The difference with ASEC is...More

4  Thank Brett H
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We at ASEC really do strive to provide the best experience for our guests and I am glad you had a great trip with us.

Reviewed 11 September 2014

Transportation from our hotel was a breeze, and when we arrived in Simon Town, we were loaded onto a boat with a warm, dry, center console. We boated out to an island covered in seals, which was cool in and of itself, We watched the...More

Thank Blake C
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you for your review. Its much appreciated and I am glad you had a really good time with us. Hope to see you again one day.

Reviewed 9 September 2014

I have always wanted to see the great whites so I was careful choosing the company to go with. I know I picked the best one. They are extremely professional and really care for the sharks (also very knowledgeable). All four of us were looked...More

1  Thank anita3695
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you had an amazing trip with us. Hope you will join us again one day.

Reviewed 30 August 2014

WE went shark diving in capetown Had to leave a feedback for this organization which I think lives up to all its positive reviews My experience is of a different nature ,we had made reservation in advance as we were only going to be in...More

4  Thank rav t
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

I am so glad Roxy was able to assist you.She really does go " the extra mile", and we appreciate your positive review. Thanks a mill!

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were attracted to Rob & his crew because we wanted to be part of a small group & also the responsible way your experience is managed. Other tour companies seemed to want as many people on their vessel as possible & once offshore had...More

Thank Rob L
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

What an AWESOME Review about us here at ASEC. Thank you so much. We really do try hard at being eco-friendly and showing the sharks in their natural habitat. Thanks again for your review.

Reviewed 25 August 2014

I offered the shark dive to my husband as it was a dream for him to do it. He came back delighted and the experience was above expectation. The company came to Cape Town to pick him up and they headed to Simon town. The...More

Thank EmilieinBarcelona
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We really do appreciate it.

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Several friends and I (3 couples traveling together) used African Shark Eco-Charters for our shark cage diving experience, and we were not disappointed!!! Rob, Kim and the rest of the crew were very friendly and helpful! The weather was not perfect, but we were able...More

1  Thank cp_vandevere
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We totally agree that the use of the respirators is the only way to dive. Who wants to hold their breath and dive?

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Spend two days with Rob on the ASEC boat, and they are a first class operation. Crew is great and will help make sure that you have a great experience while on board. The sharks are the stars here, but being wild animals you never...More

Thank ralphs2017
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We totally agree that having the right crew makes all the difference, especially when you have to wait a while for the sharks to arrive. Come join us again!

Reviewed 4 August 2014

we actually booked through a different company but placed on an eco-charters boat - we were glad we got to go with them instead of the other company. Gary and Rob were crew on the boat, can't remember the others' names, but they were so...More

Thank jaczorbas
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for review. so glad you came with us and we hope that we will see you again in March next year.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lighthouse Cafe
578 reviews
.05 miles away
Saveur
376 reviews
.02 miles away
Salty Sea Dog
520 reviews
.01 miles away
The Sweetest Thing
153 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Shark Warrior Adventures
11 reviews
.86 miles away
Simon's Town Museum
83 reviews
.31 miles away
Warrior Toy Museum
44 reviews
.16 miles away
SAS Assegaai Museum
49 reviews
.74 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
chandafuller
16 May 2017|
Answer
Response from AIRJAWS | Property representative |
Hi, and thank you for your enquiry! We have experienced an uncharacteristically slow season this year, with little to no shark activity. We have put this down to the weather, and the fact that we have not had a winter to... More
0
Votes
Joe B
7 March 2017|
Answer
Response from AIRJAWS | Property representative |
Morning At the moment we are experiencing unseasonable low shark sightings and the trips have been very inconsistent.
0
Votes
marielissifontes
1 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AIRJAWS | Property representative |
hi you can google our company and our Web page will come up. i cannot put the website name here as trip advisor wont allow it.
0
Votes