We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Baddidarroch, Lochinver IV27 4LP, Scotland
Phone Number:
+44 1571 844376
Website
Today
09:00 - 18:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 09:00 - 18:00
Sat 09:00 - 17:00
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Description:

We have been making our unique collection of quality pottery to use and...

We have been making our unique collection of quality pottery to use and enjoy, in Lochinver, for almost 40 years. Each piece is entirely made and freehand painted by exceptionally skilled craftspeople. Visitors are welcome to look round the pottery and watch whatever processes are going on(more can be seen on weekday mornings!). You can also buy from our shop and our outdoor mosaics make a fantastic photo opportunity!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 28 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Landscape resonating on fine pottery

This is a much sought after attraction for anyone who wishes to gently amble about the beautiful landscape and see it recreated by traditional hand made efforts upon pottery.An... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 September 2016
Wendy S
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 27: English reviews
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Waited until Sunday to visit before leaving the area. Unfortunately the 11am opening didn't happen, as we turned up at 11:30 and the shop was still locked up tight. Very disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Alan M
Dorell P, General Manager at Highland Stoneware, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you were disappointed by our shop not being open recently on the Sunday, and you are quite right... it should have been! We open every Sunday from June until the end of September and due to an unforseen staffing mix up this didn't happen on that day. I can only apologise profusely for your wasted... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2016

This is a much sought after attraction for anyone who wishes to gently amble about the beautiful landscape and see it recreated by traditional hand made efforts upon pottery.An absolute charming endeavour captured in a rural area, almost a time capsule...not a piece of nasty plastic in sight. Whilst it certainly isn't for those on a budget the quality and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
Dorell P, General Manager at Highland Stoneware, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you appreciate the quality of the work we do here. We have put a great deal of effort into developing these high quality, highly creative pieces and it is wonderful when our 'audience' acknowledges this. I know that anyone who is able to purchase our pottery has a piece of functional... More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

A great place to go and see the fascinating process of stoneware making. You have the opportunity to see the artists in action as well as browse and purchase. The outside area has a lovely location and lots of stoneware ornaments including a full front room! The kids can run about outside whilst the adults explore and indulge and purchase... More 

Helpful?
Thank emloue
Dorell P, General Manager at Highland Stoneware, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your visit. We certainly enjoy the opportunity to chat to visitors as they explore the pottery and see the work that is involved in producing our pieces. Outside you will have seen the product of 40 years worth of 'accidents' in our various mosaic structures! More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2016

We parked in Lochinver and walked to the pottery. Follow the green lines in the pottery to see how the whole process works - very interesting to see the artists at work. The pottery is beautiful and if you want to buy a piece/pieces it can be a difficult choice. The plate we chose was well wrapped in bubble wrap... More 

Helpful?
Thank kes272016
Dorell P, General Manager at Highland Stoneware, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and were able to appreciate the whole process by following our 'green lines'! Allowing visitors to see the staff in action certainly does seem to be an ideal way to let them see just how much work is involved in each piece. Enjoy your plate... I... More 

europe
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2016

We have visited Lochinver many times over 45 years and love the pottery which we discovered about 20 years ago. Consequently I have several pieces and I can promise you that they last in perfect condition for years and years. I appreciate that they are expensive but the quality and unique style of the pots is first class, and good... More 

Helpful?
Thank stinker_9
Dorell P, General Manager at Highland Stoneware, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is wonderful to know that you have had the experience of our pieces before and know how well they last, which hopefully makes their price understandable. We hope to see you back in the cottage another time! More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2016

Beautiful comprehensive range of pottery. Ornaments and dishes in all shapes and sizes. Prices reasonably competitive.

Helpful?
Thank jamiso
Dorell P, General Manager at Highland Stoneware, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to our pottery. We hope to see you again some time. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2016

Wonderful to see what work goes in to making this beautiful pottery. Their products aren't cheap but after a wander round you see why, the amount of work that goes into them is incredible! Treat ourselves to a coule of mugs. Even the drive up to the shop and pottery is worth it to see the displays made out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rach D
Dorell P, General Manager at Highland Stoneware, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit to our pottery. We certainly pride ourselves on the quality of our work and I am certain that you will enjoy your mugs for many years to come. (My apologies for not responding to your review sooner... I thought I had!) More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2016

I always enjoy a browse around both Highland Stoneware in Lochinver and also in Ullapool. The pieces are produced to a very high standard with colours derived from visits to such local beauty spots as Achmelvich beach. A wide range of styles are on offer all painted by highly talented artists.

Helpful?
Thank davidw21133
Dorell P, General Manager at Highland Stoneware, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoy your visits to see what we are up to. Hopefully there will be something a bit different every time. More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2016

Very pleasant visit again recently to the Ullapool shop, where the potters can be seen at work and the seconds and thirds can be bought. I have several pieces which I've had for donkeys years and they've lasted ŵell. But they aren't cheap. However, if you don't want perfection, less than perfect pieces can be purchased, which is what I've... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vickytom
Dorell P, General Manager at Highland Stoneware, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Yes, visiting the shops attached to the potteries gives the opportunity to buy at 'slight second' prices. Quite often it is difficult to see what exactly has made the piece a second quality item too, which is no bad thing! It is good to know your past purchases have lasted well. We are always... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2016

I decided to search out this place after using the pottery in the cottage where I was staying. The stunning stoneware products were beautifully displayed and it was a delight to browse round the showroom. I also enjoyed watching the skilled artists at work painting the stonework. The prices were out of my price range but I could completely understand... More 

Helpful?
Thank gwenda519
Dorell P, Manager at Highland Stoneware, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of our pottery. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit, and were able to see the decorators at work. We do like it when visitors have the time to wander around and chat with us. As you have used our pottery in the cottage you were staying in, you can appreciate that they are... More 

Travellers who viewed Highland Stoneware also viewed

Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Highland Stoneware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Highland Stoneware staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?