We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 50 Monarch Beach Resort N, Dana Point, CA 92629-4084
Phone Number:
19492483001
Website
Today
06:00 - 20:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 06:00 - 20:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

Established in 1993.

Designed by legendary architect Robert Trent Jones Jr....

Established in 1993.

Designed by legendary architect Robert Trent Jones Jr. Monarch Beach Golf Links offers challenging layout with undulating greens, links style fairways and a array of Augusta white sand bunkers. In 2012, OB Sports added MBGL to their impressive list of Golf Courses around the United States under which they manage and operate. MBGL is available virtually every day of the year for your golf outings; whether for pleasure, celebratory, corporate or charity, the MBGL Team is there to assist you. True to the SoCal Beach Vibe, you'll enjoy music upon arrival, 'Beach Cruiser' refreshment vehicles & can even Surf the Earth on a GolfBoard. We hope you visit us soon!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 74 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 39
    Excellent
  • 19
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Under some renovation

It's a nice course, with a pleasant layout, but unfortunately it's under some course renovations so the conditions aren't the best. People in and around the pro shop at very nice... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 May 2016
Bryan N
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 73: English reviews
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016

The team at the Monarch Beach Golf Links go above and beyond for their customers. We hosted a company golf event there and everyone was very impressed.

Helpful?
Thank DebrainIrvine
Jackie K, Manager at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review

Greetings! Thank you very much for taking the time to review your company golf outing at Monarch Beach Golf Links. We work hard to provide an exceptional experience and hope you have a chance to host future events with us! Happy Golfing!! More 

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed the layout of the Course, but it was in poor condition (whether that is from water restrictions, I'm unsure, so I'll give the benefit of the doubt.). The Greens were pretty good, the Tee Boxes rough and a lot of the fairways were burned out a bit. The biggest issue I had was the blaring music from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe H
Jackie K, Manager at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review

Greetings Joe, Thank you for your constructive feedback. I have taken your suggestions to our team and will work on the music, hitting bays & signage. As you saw, we are in the middle of a transition period with our turf - on top of the drought and our use of reclaimed water. Our superintendent is working quite literally around... More 

Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2016

Monarch is a convenient vacation venue in south Orange County which offers few choices. The stunning location is reflected in both the ocean and the fees. It is a fun test for the mid handicap player but single digit players will not be challenged. Course conditions tend to suffer in the summer when play is at its highest.

Helpful?
Thank Robert T
Jackie K, Manager at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review

Greetings Robert, Thank you for taking the time to review Monarch Beach Golf Links! We are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful experience here. We work every day to make it a memorable one for our guests. We hope you visit us again soon! More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2016

This was my second trip to golf in SoCal and I really enjoyed the course - amazing views and in great condition. Although somewhat expensive for mid week golfing, the friendliness, flexibility and high quality of service from everyone we met at the course made it worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Kristine B
Jackie K, Manager at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review

Thank you Kristine for your review of Monarch Beach Golf Links. We strive to provide an exceptional experience and are glad you enjoyed your experience. We hope you come visit us again soon! More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

It's a nice course, with a pleasant layout, but unfortunately it's under some course renovations so the conditions aren't the best. People in and around the pro shop at very nice though, hope to come back when the course is cleaned up!

Helpful?
Thank Bryan N
Jackie K, Manager at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review

Greetings Bryan! Thank you for your review of Monarch Beach Golf Links. This spring we went through some much needed fairway turf renovation. We completely rebuilt some of our troubled fairways delivering a more consistent turf product for our guests. We have completed our renovations and hope you can come visit in the near future to see the finished product! More 

Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
789 reviews
305 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

The location and climate of this golf course is perfect. It is naturally beautiful and a bit breezy. The greens are in perfect condition. Yes tripees, it was slow. The staff did its best to keep things moving. I played solo in the afternoon and was able to get around a slooooow group of 4 with the starter's permission. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reasonable50
Jackie K, Manager at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review

Greetings! Thank you for your review of Monarch Beach Golf Links! We do sincerely appreciate reviewing your experience for other trip advisor users. We hope you have a chance to visit us again soon! More 

Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2016

I have previously reviewed the golf course portion of this property. In those reviews, I compliment the people (who are first class) and the condition of the course (which is good). If you are going to play much, you should join their Crown Club--it's a good value if you play very many times. This review is about the on course... More 

Helpful?
Thank LagunaMike
Jackie K, Manager at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review

Thank you LagunaMike for your continued reviews of Monarch Beach Golf Links. We sincerely appreciate your feedback of our Monarch Cafe. Our Food & Beverage staff makes all food out of the Cafe from scratch and work very hard to deliver a premium product. Stop by soon (if you haven't) to see what is new on our menu! More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
755 reviews
226 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,402 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2016

I golfed Monarch Beach for the first time yesterday. (Wednesday, March 9). It's a gorgeous golf course in great condition. Everything was very lush and green. Great views of the ocean on some holes. The staff was super friendly from the great valet guys, the guys in the pro shop, golf cart and superintendent. Everyone couldn't have been nicer. On... More 

Helpful?
Thank saintba
Jackie K, Manager at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review

What a great review of your experience at Monarch Beach Golf Links. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with fellow trip advisors. We are limited with land in regards to a driving range, but this summer on the weekends we will be turning our first fairway into a Driving Range Experience! We hope you have... More 

Newport Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2016

I played Monarch Beach today with a friend and it FAR EXCEEDED my expectations. The location, views and course conditions were a 10 out of 10!! The staff was very friendly too. I HIGHLY recommend Monarch Beach Golf!! You will NOT be disappointed. TRUST ME!!!

Helpful?
Thank bobbydidge
Jackie K, Manager at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review

That you very much for your stellar review of your experience at Monarch Beach Golf Links. We work hard to create experiences just like you had. We hope you have had the chance to visit us since this review! Thank you again! More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2016

After the 1st round, Monarch become my go to Orange County Course. I'd say, all of SoCal, actually. Fantastic management. Absolutely fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Ian R
Jackie K, Manager at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review

Greetings Ian! Thank you for taking the time to review Monarch Beach Golf Links. Now that we are in the peak of summer, we hope you have a chance to experience the Links in its peak condition. We hope to host you again soon! More 

Travellers who viewed Monarch Beach Golf Links also viewed

 
Newport Beach, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to Monarch Beach Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Monarch Beach Golf Links and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Monarch Beach Golf Links staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?