ZD Wines

ZD Wines, Napa: Hours, Address, ZD Wines Reviews: 4.5/5

10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
ZD Wines is owned and operated by three generations of the deLeuze family. Producing world class Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Cabernet Sauvignon, ZD Wines is located in Rutherford on the beautiful Silverado Trail. Founded in 1969, ZD's mantra of "(Z)ero (D)efects" is based on founder Norman deLeuze's history in Aerospace - which set the tone for the winery's focus on quality, consistency and style. The ZD style is to craft rich, flavorful wines that reflect the varietal character of the grape. ZD has a strong internal emphasis on ecology. ZD's Estate Vineyards located in Rutherford and Carneros have been certified organic since 1999. The use of an implemented waste reduction program and a water recycling system are in place, and the entire winery is powered by solar, truly reflecting ZD's commitment to the health of the environment surrounding us. The winery welcomes visitors 7 days a week for the seated UnWined Tasting. In addition, special tour experiences are available by appointment, including our Vineyard View Tour & Tasting, Eco Vineyard Tour, Library Selection Tasting and private group tastings. The ZD website provides more detailed information about each of these options.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Tours and Tickets

The area
Address
Popular mentions

4.5
111 reviews
Excellent
72
Very good
26
Average
8
Poor
3
Terrible
2

VanillaAce
Saint Simons Island, GA600 contributions
Modernistic simplicity!
Oct 2021 • Couples
Our host took time to explain the amazing history of the winery. Tasting room is modern with views of the vineyards. Sauvignon blancs and Chardonnay wines were very good. Would visit again.
Written 19 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

zfamilybcai
Long Grove, IL70 contributions
Outstanding tasting experience
Oct 2021 • Couples
Really outstanding wine in a beautiful location! The new tasting facilities are really lovely! We had the cheese plate as well which was also a great compliment! Would definitely return!
Written 5 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

David W
Chapel Hill, NC4 contributions
Turned out to be one of our favorite visits on the trip.
Jun 2021
We were there in June before Covid restrictions were lifted, and it was tough to book a tasting. My son called about 30 places one day trying to get us in and randomly called ZD from Google. Nice raised patio overlooking the vineyards, very pleasant staff, and excellent wines. Not pretentious or lavish grounds (after having been rudely turned away at other more well known wineries) just a very pleasant place to spend a few hours sipping wine.
Written 5 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Olivia D
1 contribution
Beautiful View
Jun 2021
We had a great time at ZD wines-- beautiful view with great service in which they explain the origins and the notes of the wine. I would definitely take the time to visit this smaller winery! This was my favorite winery we visited on our trip to Napa.
Written 24 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Chrish C
San Francisco, CA3 contributions
Our waiter (probably the owner) added an additional $10 tip for himself
May 2021 • Couples
Good thing:
Place has a good view and that is proper the only good thing about this place.

Worst thing:
1. The owner of the restaurant or probably a personal who was serving wines to us added an additional $10 tip for himself. Just so that this place knows, it’s illegal and I will be taking action against ZD wines for this

2. This winery serves so little to taste compared to other wineries we visited around Napa, definitely not worth the money they are charging ($40 for tastings)

3. Similarly the cheese we had ordered was soooo.. bad that we had to leave it untouched. Also, they don’t serve anything vegetarian besides cheese.

4. Not so friendly when you want to click your pictures in the vicinity, they have strict rules for some reason.

One scale of 0 to +10, I would give them 0.001

I would say ZD wines, if you are that poor that you needed to add extra $10 without our consent then you should stop taking orders and shutdown your place instead of indulging in illegal activities
Written 23 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna, I am very sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant experience during your visit. We make every effort to provide our guests with the utmost value for their $40 payment. Since this was not your experience, we have refunded both your tasting fee and cheese purchase. ZD Wines does not charge our guests gratuity without our customers authorization. Our system does include a tip line so guests can recognize the great experience our hospitality team provides. The gratuity is optional. We do preauthorize a 10% gratuity at the time the original charge is made so it is not necessary for a guest to provide their card a second time in order to provide a gratuity. If a guest chooses not to leave a tip the preauthorization is automatically removed. We have reached out to you personally but have been unable to contact you. Please contact us if there is anything else we can do.
Written 24 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

p13marina
Houston, TX597 contributions
An Absolute Must!!
May 2021 • Couples
My husband and I and my parents booked The Abacus Experience ($200pp). We’ve been all over Napa, Sonoma, France, South Africa, and many other wine regions throughout the world and this experience was probably one of the best we’ve ever had! Thanks to Samantha our guide! We had a fabulous time. The facility is very nice and has fabulous views. The service, fantastic! As a family owned business you can tell they really care about what they’re doing and it shows in their fabulous wines! Every wine we tasted was fantastic and the snacks that came with our experience were great too! My stepfather who joined us doesn’t drink wine but still very much enjoyed learning and partaking in the experience. The $200 pp for the experience was worth every penny. My husband and I will probably become members of the winery.
Written 11 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

UHcougarBdaygirl
Houston, TX239 contributions
Wish I could sit and sip here every day
Nov 2020
Had a wine tasting in early November. Kirk was fantastic and very knowledgeable. I felt very safe and comfortable with the social distancing and cleaning practices while we were there. The weather was unseasonably warm but still comfortable to sit on the outdoor patio. Great views of the valley from the patio had of the vines still mostly green but no grapes. Step just behind the parking lot into part of the vineyard to take some awesome pictures with the vines.

The wines were delicious. We were able to sample the inaugural batch of 2019 Sauvignon Blanc, 2019 Chardonnay, 2019 Pinot Noir, 2018 founders reserve pinot noir, and 2017 cabernet sauvignon, $40 +tax per person and reservations are required. Upgraded to have the salmon rillete and the duck rillete and they were so good I could have ordered more than just one serving of each. Each was a 4 oz serving with some crostini, $15 +tax each.

I loved the convenience of ordering wine while were at the vineyard and wish I could have bought more. Maybe one day I'll be able to join the wine club.

If you can't make it out to the vineyard, consider a virtual wine tasting. More information is available on their website.
Written 9 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your visit and review! We are thrilled you enjoyed the wine, vineyard setting, Kirk's hospitality and our food pairing options. We would love to have you as a First Taste Member and are happy to provide you with more information when the time comes. We look forward to hosting you again soon! Kindly, Chris and The ZD Wines Team
Written 17 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sam K
Houston, TX17 contributions
Wine with a view
Sep 2020
Perfect view, great wines and friendly hosts. An added attraction is the ability to add a cheese plate with the tastings. I wish more wineries throughout the valley would do that. Wine is usually better when paired with food.

Also love the story behind their name.
Written 1 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Himsharma3141
Carmel, CA27 contributions
Good wines, great views
Jul 2020 • Couples
Located on the Silverado trail, this winery has ‘ZERO DEFECTS’. Beautiful outdoor patio overlooking miles and miles of vines. Great service and good wines. A nice place to hang out for a leisurely afternoon.
Written 19 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your visit and review! We are glad you enjoyed the tasting experience and hope to see you again soon. Cheers!
Written 16 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

DerelN
Schaumburg, IL179 contributions
Excellent boutique wines
Sep 2019
Great tasting experience with a knowledgeable host. Great to taste their special release wines and excited about their Napa Green practices. Recommend checking this age worthy Chards and other wines.
Written 7 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 106
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing