We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rowallan Golf Course

Rowallan Castle, Kilmaurs KA3 2LP, Scotland
+44 1563 530550
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great course in the summer

I love this course but only when its dry. Drainage is an issue but greenkeepers constantly work on... read more

Reviewed 4 December 2017
borthwick796
,
Ayrshire, Scotland
via mobile
Excellent 👍

Visited here on Sunday 3rd September. Unfortunately the rain came on after six holes and never... read more

Reviewed 4 September 2017
ChicThomson
,
Paisley, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 47 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good29%
  • Average10%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Rowallan Castle, Kilmaurs KA3 2LP, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1563 530550
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

I love this course but only when its dry. Drainage is an issue but greenkeepers constantly work on that. Fantastic location and great value. Clubhouse is excellent.

Thank borthwick796
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Visited here on Sunday 3rd September. Unfortunately the rain came on after six holes and never stopped. The course held the rain pretty good and the greens were dry and pretty fast. Overall thoroughly enjoyed the course, with three cracking long par fives and five...More

Thank ChicThomson
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Played this course 11th Aug 26 of us in a society the rain battered it down for most of our 3 1/2 hour journey. The course was very wet and we were advised to play preferred lies.and yes a good job. Very challenging must be...More

Thank mcgee1108
Reviewed 9 August 2017

for Scotland a new golf course, on the Glasgow side of Kilmarnock. The course is well set out but still bedding in. With the castles as backdrop and overlooking the Firth of Clyde & Ayrshire, it's worth a visit.

Thank malxmclean
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

I've played this course twice in the past week. Both times it had rained the day before and the course was waterlogged. Every fairway was like a bog and most of the many bunkers were full of water. That said it has good facilities and...More

Thank John D
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Played here with my dad on Friday and we both loved this challenging course even though it was pretty water logged. There had been heavy rain the couple of days before we played and some of the bunkers resembled paddling pools ( I know because...More

Thank hdawg89
David A, Manager at Rowallan Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you for your review of Rowallan Castle Golf Club. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the course. Sadly the course was wet underfoot, and as you mentioned, this was due to the heavy rain the previous days beforehand. We would be delighted...More

Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

In mid June you do not expect fairways to be waterlogged. A really poor experience on what is a good looking course. Our whole party struggled and Mr Montgomery 's name by the end was mud. How they overlooked drainage in this modern era I...More

Thank david66harding
David A, Manager at Rowallan Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Hi David, Firstly I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience here at Rowallan Castle. Due to recent weather in the local area the course has received a lot of rain, resulting in some of the holes taking slightly more time...More

Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Id give a 10* if there was an option absoutley loved it here just back from afternoon tea staff were excellent came as a surprise birthday and the staff were so friendly would definitely recommend lovely views also hopefully be back again:)

Thank Stephanie M
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Having previously reviewed this golf course it was with some trepidation my son (long off the tee) and I (not exactly accurate off the tee) played this Colin Montgomerie designed course. Previously it had been very wet under foot and it was a very pleasant...More

Thank David S
David A, Director of Golf at Rowallan Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Hi David, Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your day here at Rowallan. We are also glad to hear that you have seen the improvements on the drainage throughout the course as this has been a big...More

Reviewed 20 February 2017

Played here on a sunday morning in February, had a bite to eat before round, staff all very nice, Pro was very helpful too. Course was really heavy, but there had been a lot of rain, will be back for a game again in summer.

Thank GeordieGrierson
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Kilmaurs Hotels
The Fenwick Hotel
455 reviews
1.56 miles away
Foxbar Hotel
136 reviews
3.16 miles away
The Park Hotel
353 reviews
3.41 miles away
Premier Inn Kilmarnock Hotel
383 reviews
3.79 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Fenwick Hotel
173 reviews
1.57 miles away
Stag And Thistle Restaurant And Bar
168 reviews
1.71 miles away
The Mill House
337 reviews
2.31 miles away
Rendezvous Cafe
25 reviews
1.71 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Dean Castle and Country Park
404 reviews
2.02 miles away
The Smugglers Inn
7 reviews
2.24 miles away
Dick Institute
60 reviews
3.06 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
RG123088
1 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from David S | Reviewed this property |
It has slopes but no real serious hills
1
Vote