An average ballpark, but of course nostalgic because of the ties to Jackie Robinson. We just happened to be walking by during a college game and stopped in. Great location, in the... read more
The historic ballpark opened on June 4, 1914 as the Daytona City Island...
The historic ballpark opened on June 4, 1914 as the Daytona City Island Ballpark. It consisted of a baseball field and set of wooden bleachers. In the 1920's, a road circling the ballpark was built to accommodate the growing number of spectators who were traveling to the ballpark by automobile. A grandstand with a press box was built behind home plate to replace the original wooden bleachers along with two additional covered sections of grandstands along the first base line. A bleacher section along the third base line was added shortly after the first renovation in the 1950's. The present day grandstand and press box were built in 1962. A home team clubhouse was constructed down the left field line in 1972 to accommodate the Montreal Expos. In 1973 left field bleachers, with a capacity of 2,500 seats, were installed. The park was renamed Jackie Robinson Ballpark in 1989 as the stadium served as host to the first racially integrated game in baseball history.
The Daytona Cubs played here for 22 years.
The 2015 season will be the first season with the Cincinnati Reds affiliation.
A team store is located in the ballpark during the season, in the off season, a satellite team store in located in the Daytona Tortugas front office at 110 E. Orange Ave. Directly south of the ballpark.