Adler Planetarium
Adler Planetarium
4
Speciality MuseumsObservatories & Planetariums
Monday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
4:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
The Adler Planetarium connects people to the universe and each other. Whether it is introducing a guest to the Ring Nebula, a neighborhood school to a community partner, a research team to a network of citizen scientists, or one staff member to another, the Adler’s focus on meaningful connections dates back nearly a century. The museum typically hosts more than half a million visitors each year and reaches millions more through youth STEAM programs, neighborhood skywatching events, people-powered research, and other outreach efforts. Today, the Adler is bringing our unique approach—scientific exploration rooted in community and connection—to guests from around the world who can enjoy the digital Adler from their own homes, libraries, schools or offices. With the Adler’s support, people of all ages, backgrounds, and abilities gain the confidence to explore their universe together and return to their communities ready to think critically and creatively about any challenge that comes the
Duration: 2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Top ways to experience Adler Planetarium
The area
Address
Neighbourhood: Burnham Park
Reach out directly
See what travellers are saying
  • Melissa N
    15 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    We LOVED it!
    Wow! My family (husband, 5 year old son) and I spent a wonderful morning here. We visited as part of the Chicago CityPASS which gave us two shows. We choose to see “Imagine the Moon” and “Destination- Solar System”. Both were great and captivated our young son! We also throughly enjoyed the children’s section on the planetarium. My husband and I enjoyed the other parts of the museum, but they were a little over our son’s head. We ate lunch at Cosmic Cafe. While the food wasn’t anything great and quite pricey, the view was AMAZING! We visited on a Sunday from around 9:45 to 1:00. It had the perfect amount of guests. We didn’t feel like it was empty, but we never had to wait. Our son could do the children’s activities multiple times. Most had a timer which reset the activity after a couple of minutes. I think this could be very helpful if the museum was busier, but often no one was waiting so he could go an activity again and again. The Bears were playing at 11:00 so I don’t know if this had anything to do with the light crowds at the Planetarium.
    Hi Melissa, thank you for the wonderful review! We are so glad you and your family had a blast during your visit and were able to explore both our exhibits and our sky shows. We hope you all can come back and see us again soon! Thanks again and take care.
    Written 8 November 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 1 October 2023
  • 462lenaz
    Germantown, Tennessee50 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Awesome!
    Truly a great place to visit! My five year old had the best time. We had the city pass so we had admission +2 movies and everything was just so enjoyable. We spent over three hours and just had a great time.
    Hey there, thanks for the awesome review! We're so glad you and your little one enjoyed your visit to the Adler with CityPass. There's nothing like a day spent among the cosmos! 💫 We hope to see you again soon, thank you and take care!
    Written 8 November 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 12 October 2023
  • FascinatedTraveller
    Montreal, Canada202 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Stellar evening!
    Finished the first day of our first visit to Chicago with an evening visit to the planetarium, thinking it would be a nice place to catch some shows and rest our feet. It turned out to be MUCH more than that - we really enjoyed the exhibits, the movies, the hands-on activities, and the breathtaking views of the Chicago skyline at night. The restaurant has views that are worth the detour!!!! Truly an amazing place!
    Hello, thank you so much for the five-star review! We're very happy that you were able to stop by during your trip to Chicago, and that you enjoyed your evening with us. We hope you had a fabulous visit in Chicago and that you can come back and see us again soon! Thank you again and take care.
    Written 8 November 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited November 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 5 November 2023
  • Smokey
    Bloomington, Indiana457 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Once is Enough
    I LOVE planetariums, and I'd been here years ago and wanted to go again. But other than the sky shows, there really wasn't much here to interest me. It's really geared more toward things for kids. And boy, were there kids there! Lots of kids, which is fine, of course. But most of them were too young to understand or be interested in things like the sky shows. So it was hard to enjoy them with the kids being restless and vocal. The cafe was a good place to have lunch with great views of the lake and the city skyline, and walking around outside of the planetarium was nice. I don't think I'll need to come back anymore, but it's a great place for a first visit.
    Visited November 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 18 November 2023
  • Mildcheese
    Bedfordshire, United Kingdom156 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Quite disappointing
    There are some interesting areas of the planetarium but it was largely a let down. Loved the volunteers reciting facts, the meteorite and the initial solar system displays. But after that, there’s just way to much reading, wall after wall of information to read, I could do that online. There’s not sufficient immersive experience, things to watch or do. And don’t mention trying to buy a ticket - urgh.
    Visited December 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 3 December 2023
  • Sconnie75
    St. Petersburg, Florida8 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Wonderful museum.
    We got City Pass and picked the Adler as one of our destinations. Make SURE to pick what you want to see BEFORE you get to the museum. When we arrived, the last shows had sold out about a half hour before. Still enjoyed our visit. The view of the city at night from the planetarium is fantastic.
    Visited January 2024
    Travelled with family
    Written 11 January 2024
  • Theresa S
    Vero Beach, Florida37 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Not for young children
    Children ages 6 and 8 were really too young to enjoy. Several exhibits were broken. One of the theaters offering films had technical difficulties so we couldn’t see the film we chose “ free” with admission. I understand that this can happen but it just shortened our visit. Best to Uber, as parking is $30.
    Visited February 2024
    Travelled with family
    Written 18 February 2024
  • Miguel Gómez
    Monterrey, Mexico38 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nice café.
    It’s was ok. Its not that big and I felt that it was more for kids, it has many things that they can interact with. It’s basically a museum about space and the history of the United States in the space. Nothing impressive, but if you are coming with kids, I think it’s ok, they will probably enjoy it. However, the café is the best thing, good food options, good ambience and you have nice views to the Lake Michigan and the city. The cafe saves this place.
    Hey there, thanks for your feedback. We're sorry to hear we missed the mark during your visit, but are glad you enjoyed our Cosmic Cafe. We are always adding new things for audiences of all ages, so we hope you will consider visiting us again in the future. If you have any additional feedback on how we may improve, please email us at guestservices@adlerplanetarium.org. Thank you again and take care!
    Written 15 July 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2024
    Travelled with family
    Written 23 June 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,193 reviews
Excellent
792
Very good
683
Average
490
Poor
169
Terrible
59

jgmiles
Reno, NV146 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Couples
Went to take grandchildren to the Adler Planetarium January 3rd, 2019.
How can people afford to come to this place???
1. Parking was difficult to find, unless you pay $25-30 for parking in the parking lot!
2. Ticket prices were outrageous.... We are seniors, brought our 2 grandchildren. Ticket w/ 2 shows over a $100. You were charged entry fee plus how many shows you want included.
3. I felt, the planetarium was a bit outdated w/ what they had to offer.
4. Food was not that good & expensive!
I don’t mind paying for admission to attractions, but I do mind, when the attration charges you a hefty entry fee & then nickel and dime you on top of the ridiculous admission fee.
Written 12 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for the review and feedback. We're sorry to hear that you found your experience at the Adler to be lackluster! If you're an Illinois resident, we highly recommend checking out the Adler during one of our Illinois Resident Discount Days—where Illinois residents can visit the Adler for free!
Written 27 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Matt W
Stone, UK6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022
Visited using City Pass, which decided not to work for an hour. They told us to pay so that we could get booked in for the shows, and that there wouldn't be a problem getting refunded when City Pass was sorted out.
45 mins later, City Pass was sorted so we returned to Reception to scan the City Pass and sort the refund. They then told us they couldn't do the refund, and that we'd need to contact Customer Services by email.
Having contacted them twice by email, the refused to issue the refund when responding 1st time, and have refused to respond to my 2nd email.

Might be a good place to visit for the kids, but beware, they will take any opportunity to rob you blind and refuse afterwards to assist. Hugely disappointing, literally daylight robbery.
Written 9 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, we're sorry to hear you had such a negative experience using City Pass to visit the Adler. Were you looking to get refunded for your City Pass? If so, unfortunately that is not something we can help with. If there's anything we can do to help resolve this problem and improve for the future please feel free to email guestservices@adlerplanetarium.org and we will do our best to assist you. Take care!
Written 28 March 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Taylor B
Chicago, IL8,417 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022
Of the three museums on the Museum Campus in Chicago's Grant Park, the Adler Planetarium probably is the least visited compared to the Field Museum and the Shedd Aquarium. And the Museum of Science and Industry farther south on Lake Shore Drive. But space exploration in recent years has sparked more interest. The Adler Planetarium is dedicated to astronomy and astrophysics. Founded in 1930, it is located on northeastern tip of Northerly Island on Lake Michigan, a brisk walk east of the Shedd. Added to the National Register of Historic Places and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1987, it has three theaters, space science exhibitions, including the Gemini 12 space capsule, and a collection of antique, scientific instruments and print materials. In addition, the Adler hosts the Doane Observatory, a research-active public observatory and the largest aperture telescope available to the public in the Chicago area. Visitors are encouraged to view the exhibit dedicated to retired NSAS astronaut Jim Lovell, the movie "The Ninth Planet" that highlights recent scientific discoveries about orbiting objects beyond Neptune, an informative display of the solar system, a fascinating look at Chicago's Big Sky and the Universe: A Walk Through Space and Time, witnessing how the universe has evolved over 13.7 billion years, from the Big Bang to this morning's sunrise. I recall a midnight astronomy class at the University of Illinois when our instructor pointed out each of the significant stars and major constellations. Our visit to the Adler brought back all of those fond memories. Very educational.
Written 28 November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Taylor, thanks for your great review! We're so glad you appreciated our exhibits, shows and museum history. We're always adding stellar new things to the museum, so come back again soon!
Written 10 February 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Audrey P
Chicago, IL12 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2024 • Couples
I was confused because I thought this was the new version of adler after dark. It was not. It is simply The museum being open in the evening hours. It had a zero charge for illinois residents on wednesday as well. So you had to pay for all of the shows separately Which were not included with the free ticket. It was absolutely full of children. So although they did tag it as a couple's night out and I did see some couples. Really, It was just tons and tons and tons of children and their parents. There were no drink stands like the traditional Adler After dark, there was only the one cafe. Expensive but the staff was very nice. The floor staff was definitely surly and looked exhausted and had nothing good to say to any of the guests. This is very different than Adler. After dark, where all the staff is in a party mood, all the people and all the guests there are over 21 for that special event. And it's just really truly a great date night, which this was not. The parking, although only fifteen dollars had a massive line and a woman at the head of the line who was a savage about the line but there was plenty of room in the lot and she just started the evening off with a bad taste in your mouth. Then in the museum was line cutting, strollers, crowds, and exhausted bad vibes galore. This would only be considered a good date night if your date was a toddler.
Written 13 June 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hey there, thank you for your feedback on Adler At Night. We're sorry that this did not meet your expectations. You are correct that Adler At Night is not our 21+ event, Adler After Dark, and we apologize that you may have been led astray prior to your visit! During Adler At Night, we are open from 4:00 pm–10:00 pm every Wednesday and IL residents receive free admission. We offer this event to make the museum accessible for all and so that guests may observe the night sky with us through our 24 inch telescope in the Doane Observatory (when weather permits). With over 60,000 sq. ft. of exhibition space and two dome theaters showing 5 original sky shows, we pride ourselves on having something for everyone—adults and children alike! Additionally, we're sorry to hear you had a negative experience parking outside the museum. Please note that all Museum Campus parking lots are owned by the Chicago Park District and managed by Standard Parking. For any parking feedback, we ask that you please contact Standard Parking at contact.parking.com. If you have any additional feedback so that we may improve in the future, please email us at guestservices@adlerplanetarium.org. Thank you again and take care!
Written 15 July 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Judy D
230 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Friends
First, it was a huge hassle to get tickets. You had to purchase in advance....you could not just walk in and buy a ticket

My friend downloaded the QR code to buy tickets. Not very user friendly. As we were standing out there, trying to buy tickets with the help of the girl that would not not anyone in......many people walked away upon seeing what a hassle tickets were.

The inside really did nothing for me. I guess space is not really my thing
I could have lived without the whole experience
Written 2 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Judy, thanks for sharing your experience. We're sorry to hear you found it challenging to purchase your tickets. If you'd like to share more specifics about your experience so we may improve in the future, please email guestservices@adlerplanetarium.org.
Written 10 February 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Michael L
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Family
I actually never went.

After reading. So many parent state his poor a value for the money it was, lack of parking, and lackluster shows and attractions I don’t gen bother

I can hear the first time in the mid 80s and now my 9 year old loves space. But $100 plus $25 parking and only open at night were major deterrents.

Maybe you can pack in newcomers for awhile but eventually enough will stop coming.

I’m from Iowa and can watch a mediocre star show and planetarium right in Des Moines for cheap
Written 21 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Michael, we're sorry that you were deterred to visit us and didn't get a chance to experience the museum to see all that we have to offer. It sounds like you may have heard some incorrect information. We are open from 9am–4pm everyday except Wednesdays, when open from 4pm–10pm so that guests may observe the night sky through our 24" telescope. Additionally, our most expensive ticket—which includes access to the entire museum and 2 of our sky shows—is only $40, so we're not sure where you heard that our tickets were $100. We are proud to offer over 60,000 sq. ft. of exhibition space and two domed theaters showing 7 original sky shows—several of which have won or been nominated for awards. The Adler Planetarium prides itself on having something for everyone. We hope that you will consider visiting us in the future so you can see our wonderful planetarium for yourself. Thank you for the feedback, take care!
Written 7 June 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

avazacopoulos
Mexico City, Mexico121 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 • Solo
If you have children and you want to occupy them for 2-3 hrs then go. Any other sane person stay away, although the museum is very well set up - It was booooring to death. Really limited is the exhibits, etc. Just go to the science museum - infinite better.
Written 9 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, we're sorry your experience with the Adler was only worth two stars. If you have any specific feedback on how we might improve in the future, feel free to email guestservices@adlerplanetarium.org. Thanks and have a great day!
Written 29 March 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Matt A
Mundelein, IL3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023
Hard to go wrong with any of the museums in Chicago but the Adler never disappoints. Stopped by this past weekend and had an excellent time seeing what's new since our last visit nearly a decade ago. Highly recommend any of the shows in the Sky on the upper level and I still get emotional walking through the moon landing exhibits. Great collection of artifacts and lots of interesting information to teach kids and adults alike.
Written 13 March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Matthew, we're so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and got a chance to see our sky shows! We're always adding new things to the planetarium, so we hope you can come back and visit us again soon! Thanks for the great review, have a wonderful rest of your day!
Written 28 March 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ellen B
Bear, DE494 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Friends
We saw The Ninth Plant and Destination Solar System while we were there. Plant Nine was pretty interesting, but “Destination” was a little too silly in parts
The Light Pollution and Jim Lovell exhibit were both very interesting, as was the solar system display. Worth the stop. It is probably a half day. With the Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum on the same campus you can easy do 2 stops in one day
Written 28 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hey there, thanks for sharing your feedback! We're glad to hear you enjoyed Planet Nine and our exhibits!—Captain Lovell's story is certainly remarkable. However, we are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our show for younger audiences, Destination Solar System. Thanks for visiting!
Written 10 February 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Julie
Cincinnati, OH9 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 • Family
The process of buying tickets was convoluted and needlessly complicated. The first to staff to “greet” us were so rude I contemplated just leaving without buying tickets even though my family and I had no other plans for the day. When I asked the ticket salesperson which show might be best for my preschool and school aged children, I was told in a very condescending tone “it’s science. We don’t make recommendations” - - oh, thanks.

The lines and layout of this place make it difficult to navigate. The whole experience was quite circuitous and ultimately, though my kids had fun, my taste for the place was soured before I regrettably purchased my ticket by the unfriendliness of the greeters, who seemed inconvenienced to be doing their job.
Written 27 March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, we're very sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience buying tickets and at the entrance. We're always trying to improve, so if you have more specific feedback you'd like to share, please email guestservices@adlerplanetarium.org. Whether or not you choose to reach out, we are glad to hear that your family had fun. We hope you have a great rest of your day.
Written 28 March 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,820
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

ADLER PLANETARIUM (2024) All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

All Chicago HotelsChicago Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Chicago
All things to do in Chicago
RestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire