We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Summerset Winery

15101 Fairfax St, Indianola, IA 50125-8346
+1 515-961-3545
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Good wine

We went here to add several grapes to our tasting list (now over 260) and we were not disappointed... read more

Reviewed 14 November 2017
OtPot
,
Anderson, South Carolina
via mobile
Great Afternoon

Spent the afternoon here yesterday with our friends. We tasted 3 wines and were able to sit for 4... read more

Reviewed 16 October 2017
JGtraveler2817
,
Woodbury, Minnesota
via mobile
Read all 65 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Located just minutes outside of Des Moines, Iowa in Indianola. Summerset Winery produces award winning Iowa wines from locally grown grapes. The winery specialises in hosting corporate events, weddings, live music concerts, and has a tasting room that is open Tuesday-Sunday all year long and Mondays by appointment. Check out our website for all upcoming events!
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good15%
  • Average4%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“nice setting” (2 reviews)
“crackers” (2 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
LOCATION
15101 Fairfax St, Indianola, IA 50125-8346
CONTACT
Website
+1 515-961-3545
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bring your own"
in 3 reviews
"nice setting"
in 2 reviews
"crackers"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful vineyard"
in 2 reviews
"great music"
in 2 reviews
"inclement weather"
in 2 reviews
"buy wine"
in 2 reviews
"sunday"
in 23 reviews
"ron"
in 14 reviews
"event"
in 13 reviews
"tunes"
in 8 reviews
"property"
in 7 reviews
"winery"
in 26 reviews
"wines"
in 22 reviews
"band"
in 5 reviews
"weekend"
in 6 reviews
"owners"
in 8 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

We went here to add several grapes to our tasting list (now over 260) and we were not disappointed. We are dry wine drinkers and they have several, but most leaned toward the semi-sweet to sweet. Not what we like. Those wines taste OK, but...More

Thank OtPot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Spent the afternoon here yesterday with our friends. We tasted 3 wines and were able to sit for 4 hours uninterrupted. They let us bring in our own snacks. They were friendly and we had a great time! They had a band outdoors to listen...More

Thank JGtraveler2817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We received a very friendly welcome at Summerset winery. It's a nice setting and a good location for a picnic. The wines themselves are made exclusively from American grapes or hybrids and aren't what you are used to. Not my style but still a pleasant...More

Thank UltimateWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Beautiful vineyard setting with good wine, good music & great people. Owners Ron & Linda Mark are fun and gracious host/hostess. You are welcome to bring your own bistro-style picnic or you may purchase cheese, meats & crackers there. Events move inside in the event...More

Thank VJGTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

We completed a half marathon to benefit Iowa Special Olympics and a friend of ours recommended we go to the Summerset Winery. There were no issues with the staff accepting three stinky runners, the wines were fabulous and sitting on the back porch was a...More

Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you very much for stopping by the winery, and for the kind review! We are very happy you enjoyed it! Also, she said YES! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

This is a great place to go on Sunday afternoons for wine and great music. They never disappoint. Great for outdoors or indoors no matter the weather.

Thank Traveler50125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad you enjoy your time out with us for Sunday Tunes. We can't wait to have you back! Sincerely, The Summerset Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We wanted to spend a beautiful Sunday afternoon outside, have a picnic, and listen to some music; we thought Summerset Winery would be great. We were greeted at the entrance to the vineyard by a $10.00 charge, which they typically only do for part of...More

Thank JAMESknoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Hello, thank you for choosing to spend your Sunday afternoon with us and thank you for your feedback! We do charge a cover of $5/person on Sunday's when we have Sunday Tunes going on. We apologize about not having ice right away, we refill as...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

We tasted several very good wines. There is ample seating both inside and outside in the tasting area. Additionally, there is a banquet area upstairs that can service 250-300 people. There is also a building for overnight lodging on the grounds. Although rural, the entire...More

Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad you could enjoy a beautiful fall day out at Summerset! We look forward to seeing you out again. Thank you again! Sincerely, The Summerset Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

My weekend in Iowa was beyond perfect. Harvest at Summerset was a blast! There is something so rewarding about filling a bucket full of grapes and getting to stomp on them with all of your friends. The vineyard is beautiful, the staff is kind and...More

Thank ericajg256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerset W, Manager at Summerset Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed your weekend here at Summerset. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, The Summerset Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We were with a tour group, and were treated to a tasting with lessons on making wine. It was so informative and fun. This is a beautiful building and property!

Thank msbones047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerset W, Wedding and Events Coordinator at Summerset Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are glad you have enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon! Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreviousNext
1234567
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Indianola Hotels
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Indianola, IA
114 reviews
3.95 miles away
Quality Inn Indianola
129 reviews
4.47 miles away
Apple Tree Inn
45 reviews
4.74 miles away
A-1 Motel
4 reviews
8.11 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Fizz
11 reviews
4.46 miles away
La Villa Mexican Restaurant of Carlisle
8 reviews
4.78 miles away
Back Alley Smokehouse
16 reviews
4.75 miles away
Pizza Ranch
37 reviews
4.41 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Ahquabi State Park
34 reviews
10.81 miles away
National Balloon Museum / U.S. Ballooning Hall of Fame
29 reviews
4.52 miles away
La Vida Loca Winery
15 reviews
8.69 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
astrolover
22 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Kevin N | Reviewed this property |
Private courses - Glenn Oaks, Wakonda, and Des Moines Golf and Country have hosted small PGA events in the past. Glenn Oaks hosted the senior open once. For city courses, Waveland is fairly old and really, really hilly... More
0
Votes