We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moresby Explorers

Sandspit, British Columbia V0T 1T0, Canada
+1 800-806-7633
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Guided tours at their best!

We are always a little weird about tours while traveling. Who will you be grouped with? Will you... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JerseyGirl5781
,
Hoboken, New Jersey
via mobile
A very interesting trip June 19, 2018

Haida Gwaii has been a place I have wanted to visit for a long time. This year it came true. It is... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
L W
,
Edmonton, Canada
Read all 87 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Touring the waters around Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve, Haida Heritage Site and National Marine Conservation Area on the Queen Charlotte Islands/Haida Gwaii since 1988 has earned us a growing reputation for providing fun, educational and safe wilderness adventures at affordable prices. We offer boat tours from one to four days long including fixed roof accommodations and meals. We rent and transport sea kayaks and passengers into the Gwaii Haanas area. We have a small outdoor gear store at our office in Sandspit. We also own and operate the Seaport B&B in Sandspit.
  • Excellent86%
  • Very good9%
  • Average1%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“floating lodge” (19 reviews)
“day tour” (22 reviews)
“rain gear” (8 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Sandspit, British Columbia V0T 1T0, Canada
CONTACT
Website
+1 800-806-7633
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"floating lodge"
in 19 reviews
"day tour"
in 22 reviews
"rain gear"
in 8 reviews
"zodiac tour"
in 7 reviews
"gwaii haanas"
in 21 reviews
"two days"
in 4 reviews
"totem poles"
in 6 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 3 reviews
"marine life"
in 3 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"logging camp"
in 3 reviews
"hot springs"
in 3 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 3 reviews
"delicious snacks"
in 2 reviews
"baked chicken"
in 2 reviews
"guide james"
in 2 reviews
"incredible food"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are always a little weird about tours while traveling. Who will you be grouped with? Will you feel like a herd of sheep? What will you be stuck doing? BUT when in Haida Gwaii w a desire to go to Gwaii Haanas and limited...More

Thank JerseyGirl5781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Haida Gwaii has been a place I have wanted to visit for a long time. This year it came true. It is a wonderful wild place to experience the silence of nature. No roads, no traffic, no lots of 'stuff', but great scenery, like the...More

Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
41
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

An excellent adventure with the most amazing tour guide Ollie. He’s extremely proficient in driving the Zodiac, knowledgeable about the Haida culture, the history of the area, and he knows his plants, birds, animals and sea creatures!! The accommodations were comfortable and clean with charming...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We chose the two day boat tour with Moresby Explorers to experience the Haida culture—more specifically for a chance to see the totem poles on site at Haida Gwaii village sites. This was a fantastic tour for that, particularly if you can spend a few...More

Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

History, Culture, Marine Life and Incredible scenery. Wonderful adventure with skilled and knowledgable guides. Our 4 day tour could not have better even with going through Hecate Strait in a gale. As an experienced marine search & rescue crew member I had complete faith in...More

Thank RobandCheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As we had to board our 2 dogs we decided that the one day tour of Louise Island worked the best for us and we weren't disappointed. Our 2 guides Ollie and Jessie were amazing and told us a lot of information about the Haida...More

Thank bradko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ollie P, Owner at Moresby Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your review! It was great to have you on the tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I went on the 4 day tour with my partner and his family. For 4 days we were able to see some truly breathtaking nature, wildlife and we learned so much about Haida history and culture. We were so lucky to be guided by Bryan...More

Thank lmatheson2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ollie P, Owner at Moresby Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the kind words Laura! You and your family were a pleasure to have on the trip, thanks for having such great spirit in the rainy weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We just completed the two-day Moresby Explorers tour of the southern part of Haida Gwaii with two seniors, two adults and three children aged 5-9. It was magnificent. Despite being pre-season, the weather cooperated with calm seas, bright sun and little rain. Ollie and Jo...More

4  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ollie P, Owner at Moresby Explorers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks to you and your family for joining us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

This was hands down the best tour in our Canadian holiday. From the initial booking enquiry, through to the tour van pulling away after dropping us off after the tour, it was faultless. Our tour guide (Laura) was exceptional in her knowledge, boat skills, organisation...More

2  Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I did the four day Zodiac tour of Gwaii Hanas National Marine Park. There were 4 couples on our tour plus the guide Marilyn. The weather was rainy and cool the first two days but the sun shone by day three and...More

1  Thank Eliza-Tay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Moresby Island Hotels
The Sandspit Inn
16 reviews
.47 miles away
Jags Beanstalk
53 reviews
6.98 miles away
Premier Creek Lodging
53 reviews
10.04 miles away
Sea Raven Motel
48 reviews
10.16 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Sandspit Inn Restaurant & Pub
26 reviews
.48 miles away
Jags Beanstalk
73 reviews
6.97 miles away
Queen B's
93 reviews
10.29 miles away
Haida House at Tllaal Dining Room
14 reviews
24.74 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Ocean Sound Kayaking
28 reviews
.43 miles away
Avid Sportfishing
14 reviews
.44 miles away
Sandspit Visitor Centre
15 reviews
.46 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ecomba
30 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Eliza-Tay | Reviewed this property |
The floating cabin is used as their overnight accommodation. It is situated in a secluded inlet just outside of the Gwaii Hanas national reserve. The ground floor is an open concept living room and kitchen. Upstairs are the... More
0
Votes
jimmychipguy
2 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Yvonne C | Reviewed this property |
Just a bit over $1500 plus taxes pp. Tip - after excursion moresby operates a bnb called seaport which is clean and basic ($120 per night double occupancy) but remember to book early to get a room with washroom & shower in... More
0
Votes
bsaundersyates
6 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from M K | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure what OAP means but I took couple with me a two years ago who were 80+ years old. You should call Moresby Explorers and tell them exactly what your limitations are and they would be able to help advise you... More
0
Votes