We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share

Forth Boat Tours
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want similar options you can book now?
572
All photos (572)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good18%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“three bridges”(65 reviews)
“inchcolm island”(147 reviews)
“cream tea”(26 reviews)
About
A 90 minute Forth Bridges Cruise on the Firth of Forth depart from Hawes Pier at South Queensferry which is only a short distance from Scotland's bustling Capital City of Edinburgh. A boat trip aboard the Forth Belle is an ideal way to spend any...more
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
| Hawes Pier, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9TB, Scotland
Website
+44 131 331 3030
Call
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveller rating
498
117
7
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
498
117
7
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree bridgesinchcolm islandcream teagreat tripbass rockfull priceblackness castlebasking sealsenjoyable triprecorded commentaryhighly recommend this tripgreat commentaryminute cruisewaverley bridgean hour and a halfgroupon dealdifferent perspective
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 636 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Let me first of all say the crew on the boat were very helpful and cheery, unlike the descriptions given in some of the (negative) reviews here on TripAdvisor. The live commentary was appropriate to the location or sites we were invited to look at...More

Thank scotswahae2014
Forth B, Manager at Forth Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Many thanks for your comments.The trip is a fantastic experience and we are delighted that you enjoyed the cruise with us. We always make sure that our customers get the best views and our experienced skippers and crew do point out places of interest...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We were briefed by the sales and marketing manager who then escorted us down to the pontoon where our boat the Forth Princess was tied up. We were on the Blackness Castle and three bridges tour with cream tea. The skipper and crew were great...More

Thank stephencrock
Forth B, Manager at Forth Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Many thanks for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your cruise with us. Our experienced skippers and crew always make sure that our customers have an enjoyable day. Now you have been on the Blackness Castle, Three Bridges and Cream Tea Cruise,...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Following an earlier review, which was favourable, we decided to have another trip. Bad mistake, and one which will not be repeated. We got on the boat and grabbed a seat inside as it was a less than favourable day for a boat on the...More

Thank Diamond-Dougie
Forth B, Manager at Forth Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for your comments. Which are disappointing and seem at odds with what actually occurred. Customers can and do get held up in traffic and the skippers make allowances for this. You were not 'thrown off' your table. You were politely asked by the...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

we travelled here using the bus tour from waverley bridge in edinburgh,it cost myself and wife £40 as we are classed as concessions as we are over 60 the bus from edinburgh has commentary on board as you travell to catch boat. on our tour...More

Thank graham p
Forth B, Manager at Forth Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Graham Delighted that you enjoyed our innovative Bus & Boat service from Waverley Bridge in Edinburgh. This is one of the many customer products that makes us stand out from the rest. Your bus ticket includes your return journey to Edinburgh plus your boat...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

If you like to be messed around by a company who decides with no notice they are changing your tour, go with Forth Tours. Not a very professional way to run a company. Judging by other reviews this is something happening a lot lately.More

Thank LRoberts456
Forth B, Manager at Forth Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Many thanks for your comments. I suspect that you have not actually been on one of our cruises. Get in touch and take a cruise. Our thousands of customers enjoy choosing from the Three Bridges and Inchcolm Island Cruise or our Blackness Castle, Three...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

The tour was altered from Blackness castle and bridges to Inchcolm and bridges. This was ok though as was delightful trip, and we even saw some very playful seals. We sat on deck so got a bit wet and wind sweeped which was brilliant and...More

Thank Karen D
Forth B, Manager at Forth Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Karen Many thanks for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your cream tea and cruise with us. I am sure that you got lots of photo's of the seals.Our experienced skippers and crew always make sure that our customers enjoy views of...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Great Tour on the Forth Belle, the staff were very friendly and welcoming.You go from South Queensferry below the rail bridge to Inchcolm Island where you can get off (except on last boat tour) for a fee to Historic Scotland. then you sail back up...More

Thank Walter D
Forth B, Manager at Forth Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Many thanks for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Three Bridges and Inchcolm Island cruise. Why not come onboard again and sail on our Blackness Castle, Three Bridges and Cream Tea cruise. With fantastic views of the Fife coastline, the new...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Basic boat trip with someone providing historical and current knowledge of the area. The trip consists of a visit to Inchcolm Island, but you need a landing pass to go there; unfortunately no one mentioned this before we set off. Quite expensive for what it...More

Thank Dreddi_Banrigh
Forth B, Manager at Forth Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Many thanks for your comments. Our experienced skippers and crew always ensure that our customers receive the very best of welcomes. We don't have someone providing 'historical and current knowledge' our informative and entertaining 90 minute commentary provides our customers with the very best...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked to go onto the Inchcolm island tour but received an e-mail advising us that due to operational circumstances that sailing was not happening, we were also told that the booking had been moved to the following day, this wasn't suitable for us...More

Thank Sharon e
Forth B, Manager at Forth Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sharon Many thanks for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip with us. Our experienced skippers and crew always point out the marine wildlife to our customers. Great that you got your photo's! I will pass on your comments to Amy....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

My title says it all. Got an email two days before the sail to tell me that due to 'operational reasons' they were using a smaller boat, which meant they couldn't allow us to get off at Inchcolm Island which was what we had booked...More

Thank Gemini16
Forth B, Manager at Forth Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning Thank you for your comments. Our experienced skippers and crew always ensure that our customers comfort, enjoyment, delight and safety are a priority. Customers were asked to meet outside the Forth Boat Tours office and would be escorted to the vessel. We do...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in South Queensferry
Orocco Pier
788 reviews
.40 miles away
The Staghead Hotel
38 reviews
.41 miles away
Dakota Edinburgh
2,255 reviews
.85 miles away
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
572 reviews
1.10 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 36 restaurants in South Queensferry
Picnic Coffee Shop
146 reviews
.38 miles away
Ferry Tap
175 reviews
.36 miles away
The Little Parlour
52 reviews
.32 miles away
The Boathouse
713 reviews
.38 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 20 attractions in South Queensferry
Maid of the Forth
668 reviews
.11 miles away
View Point, Forth Bridges
7 reviews
.71 miles away
Forth Bridges Walking Tours
143 reviews
.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sinead R
9 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Pip M |
No there are no disabled facilities on board and unable to access lower decks
1
Vote
funkyfrances1
10 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Shona M | Reviewed this property |
The ticket office is not the rnli shop, its the tiny booth further on at the roadside, sign on it for Forth Boat Tours. You access the boat by going down the alley next to rnli shop, turn left and you are on the quay, where... More
1
Vote
scar362
31 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from anneR9082BS | Reviewed this property |
yes ,babies on when we went ,very enjoyable .
1
Vote