We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Adam Puchta Winery

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 1947 Frene Creek Rd, Hermann, MO 65041-4103
Phone Number:
+1 573-486-5596
Today
11:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 17:00
Mon - Sat 09:00 - 18:00
Description:

Adam Puchta Winery, located off Hwy. 100 on the banks of Frene Creek about...

Adam Puchta Winery, located off Hwy. 100 on the banks of Frene Creek about 2.5 miles southwest of Hermann, is the oldest family farm winery in Missouri. Its true uniqueness, however, lies in the fact that the same family has continuously owned it since 1855. We are a true farm winery with a peaceful, laidback setting. Many cats live here, and the property has picnic tables on a lovely shaded hillside so you can sit, visit and relax.Tastings are done in a cool old barn where we pair wine with food for a truly enhanced experience.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 278 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 170
    Excellent
  • 65
    Very good
  • 29
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Amazing wines and friendly staff!

We received a voucher for a wine tasting at Adam Puchta from Hermann Hill Inn, so we sampled all their dry wines for free. The staff were incredibly friendly and every wine was... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
tinyattic
,
Columbia, Missouri
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 278: English reviews
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We received a voucher for a wine tasting at Adam Puchta from Hermann Hill Inn, so we sampled all their dry wines for free. The staff were incredibly friendly and every wine was delicious! I highly recommend the Dry Vignoles and the Norton!

Helpful?
Thank tinyattic
AdamPuchtaWinery, General Manager at Adam Puchta Winery, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the 5-star review! We are so glad you enjoyed visiting our winery and we can't wait for you to return. Cheers! More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went on a very cold weekend and tried many different wines. We love the Legacy here and enjoy visiting all the cats. During good weather it is fun to sit on the deck and enjoy the view. We can't wait to come back in better weather!!

Helpful?
Thank aes7036
AdamPuchtaWinery, General Manager at Adam Puchta Winery, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the awesome 5-star review. We can't wait for you to return with warm weather ;) Cheers! More 

Indiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We hadn't planned on visiting Adam Puchta Winery, but someone in our group of six mentioned her friend's recommendation of it, so we ventured down the short gravel road. What a nice surprise we found! The winery has an interesting history and produces a good selection of very pleasing wines. The staff did a great job of explaining each wine... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rita H
AdamPuchtaWinery, General Manager at Adam Puchta Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of our winery. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and our staff. We hope you visit us again soon. Cheers! More 

Grant City
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016

The wine tasting here was so much fun. Wish I new the guys name that helped us but he was FABULOUS in educating us and making the entire tasting experience so much fun. The wines were my favorites...heck I bout 4 bottles lol. The. Time their employees take to educate you and explain the wines were the best. Worth the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Farmergidget
AdamPuchtaWinery, General Manager at Adam Puchta Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for the awesome 5-star review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time and experience at our winery and we hope that your return again soon. Cheers!! More 

St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2016

We went to Adam Puchta Winery as part of the holiday wine trail in November. The wine trail pairing was served in a tent out back. We waited in a long line and got a little nervous as many people were returning to their picnic tables with no wine. However, it looked as though they had a wonderful sweet potato... More 

Helpful?
Thank cardswin_cardswin
AdamPuchtaWinery, General Manager at Adam Puchta Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our winery. We appreciate your comments and we hope that you visit us again soon. Cheers! More 

Hermann, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

Lovely place to spend a few hours with friends, great wine, great food, and the wine slushies are worth the trip by themselves! Picnic tables and nice shady areas on a warm day, although bringing a blanket to lay on the grass is a good way to go as well.

Helpful?
Thank susan852016
AdamPuchtaWinery, General Manager at Adam Puchta Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Adam Puchta Winery and for the nice 5-star review. We love to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and we hope that you will visit us again soon. Cheers! More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,029 reviews
473 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2016

We favor sweet wines, so this was a good stop for us. We stopped here during a day doing various wineries in the Hermann area. All the wineries have different and interesting tasting rooms, shops, and wines. Adam Puchta was especially accommodating and we enjoyed our tasting here.

Helpful?
Thank RickMIusa
AdamPuchtaWinery, General Manager at Adam Puchta Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Adam Puchta Winery. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and your wine tasting. We hope you visit us again soon. Cheers! More 

Fairway, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2016

We had people on the trolley NOT GET OFF at Adam Puchta just because of the porta-potties. I still enjoyed myself immensely - great tasting wine, beautiful scenery, loved all the picnic tables to enjoy wine and good company.

Helpful?
Thank Paige B
AdamPuchtaWinery, General Manager at Adam Puchta Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely 4-star review. We are glad to hear that you had a nice visit and enjoyed our wine and scenery. We hope that you will visit again soon. More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I ABSOLUTELY LOVE Adam Puchta wine, scenery, and the staff. We've never had anything negative to say except for our most recent visit where not 1, not 2, BUT 3 cats jumped up on our table while we were trying to eat! After the first cat became a problem my husband asked the staff to take care... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
AdamPuchtaWinery, General Manager at Adam Puchta Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of our winery. We are sorry our cats bothered you during your visit. We hope you come and visit us again. More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016

We came here on a Saturday so it was plenty busy. They had plenty of staff though to keep the line moving. You will wait for a little bit for a tasting but not long. There were somewhere around 7 or 8 wines we were allowed to try. We prefer the sweeter ones and we were very happy with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Josey4u
AdamPuchtaWinery, General Manager at Adam Puchta Winery, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our winery. We hope you come and see us again soon! Cheers! More 

Travellers who viewed Adam Puchta Winery also viewed

 

Been to Adam Puchta Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Adam Puchta Winery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?