We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glenwood Vineyards

Closes in 15 min: 10:30 - 17:00
Open today: 10:30 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Off the beaten track, and amazing!

We cycled here with our guide (at his recommendation) and we were not the least bit disappointed... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
McIntyres
,
Ottawa, Canada
Fantastic Sunday family lunch

Spent a wonderful day at Glenwood , great service, Kids entertainment, live music awesome food... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
FHKlocal
Read all 166 reviews
112
All photos (112)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good11%
  • Average3%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“grand duc”(9 reviews)
“rump steak”(5 reviews)
About
GlenWood is a very special place. Located in the little-known valley of Robertsvlei, a few kilometers from Franschhoek, close to Cape Town, the farm is surrounded by aspects of outstanding natural beauty. Using only the best materials and...more
Closes in 15 min
Hours Today: 10:30 - 17:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Robertsvlei Road | Robertsvlei Valley, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Website
+27 21 876 2044
Call
Improve This Listing
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Franschhoek
from US$152.20
More Info
from US$76.10
More Info
from US$92.10
More Info
from US$171.40
More Info
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
113
17
4
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
113
17
4
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off the beaten track grand duc rump steak visit glenwood dirt track oaked chardonnay main course chicken caesar salad generous glass secret spot tasting menu peaceful setting exceptional food food experience boutique vineyard see photo paired wines
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

We cycled here with our guide (at his recommendation) and we were not the least bit disappointed. It was amazing! We had the wine pairing lunch and absolutely loved everything. The views are beautiful, the service was excellent and the food and wine were top...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank McIntyres
Moniquedt1, Manager at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear McIntyres Thank you very much for your superb review of GlenWood. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit, noting particularly the beautiful views, excellent food and wines and quality service - these are the key dimensions of our offering which we try to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a wonderful day at Glenwood , great service, Kids entertainment, live music awesome food. Great place for families with garden games available as well as face painting for young and old

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank FHKlocal
Moniquedt1, Manager at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear FHKlocal, Thank you for your review about GlenWood. We are delighted that you enjoyed this day with your family and hoped that we created some extra special memories for you. We look forward to hosting you when you return for a visit. Kind Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Glenwood and completed a tasting menu, which gives you six tasters paired with wine. You then get to choose your favorite of each for a larger lunch all reasonably priced. All taster options were fantastic with some amazing wines. I really enjoyed this...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank EtaliSafari
Moniquedt1, Manager at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Etali-Safari Thank you for your recent visit and review about GlenWood. Our Fine Wine & Food Experience is something unique to our valley and we are delighted that you enjoyed this experience with our amazing wines. We will convey your message to the waiting...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Less than average wines and truly terrible food. Location is nice and remote with a beautiful view. Would not recommend to go there.More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 300sassis
Alastair W, Owner at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 300sassis, Thank you for your recent visit to GlenWood and for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful location, but are disappointed that you found our wines to be less than average. Opinions about wines will always be subjective and we...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

To other travellers: Excellent wine in terrific location, but do the Fine Wine and Food tasting at your own risk. To the business owner of Glenwood: Firstly the good - the wines are truly excellent, one of the best amongst all we tried that day...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank ShaneChew
Alastair W, Owner at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ShaneChew, I was astonished, exceedingly disappointed and embarrassed by your review of your visit to Glenwood. Apart from your positive comments on our wines, which we appreciated, your other comments raised a number of flags which we have taken very seriously indeed. Rather than...More

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

To be fair they have amazing wines. But it is the only place where they have charge us the wine tasting after buying some bottles. It is also the only place were they were serving all the wines, white and red, without changing the glass....More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank nere_ss85
Trek821084, Manager at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Dear Nere_ss85 Thank you for your complimentary review of the GlenWood wines but we were obviously disappointed with the other comments you made to which we would like to respond. 1.Charging for tasting after buying wine. Our policy is to waive the tasting fee when...More

Reviewed 5 November 2018

These guys make a Chardonnay out of this world. If you are walking or going by the wine tram, consider after your tasting to go for a (generous) glass of their Chardonnay to accompany your lunch. If you have the energy you can walk from...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank JeJeWe
Trek821084, Manager at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Dear JeJeWe Thank you for your highly complimentary review of the GlenWood Chardonnay. It has become very clear that our terroir suits the Chardonnay varietal particularly well and all three of our Chardonnay styles bear testimony to that (ie Unoaked, Vigneron's Selection and Grand Duc)....More

Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed this vineyard that is somewhat off the beaten track. However, despite its premium wine selection the service was slow with only two waiters battling to serve all guests.More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank EstiaanS
Trek821084, Manager at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear EstiaanS, Thank you for your review about GlenWood. We are very proud of our range of wines and delighted that you enjoyed them but must apologise that you found the service to be slow. Having just agreed to have the Wine Tram include GlenWood...More

Reviewed 25 October 2018

We were told that this very small winery was a great place to visit and it surely was. You sit out on the patio or lawn, they serve you and the view is super. We were lucky as the winemaker had just returned from France...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank buffalobob6
Trek821084, Manager at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Dear Buffalobob6 Thank you very much for your review of your visit to GlenWood. We are delighted that you enjoyed tasting our wines and enjoying the natural beauty which surrounds us. We particularly appreciated your comments on the service you received from our people which...More

Reviewed 23 October 2018

Came here after spending a few hours at Babylstoren. Found Glenwood to be quite a respite from the crowded Babyl. We enjoyed sitting outside surrounded by the stunning view and vines. Our server was gracious and knowledgable and we enjoyed our time there. We arrived...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Cynthia V
Trek821084, Manager at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Dear Cynthia V Thank you very much for your review of your visit to GlenWood. We are indeed a bit off the beaten track, which we find works to our advantage enabling us to offer a special experience of outstanding natural beauty, away from the...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 nearby hotels
Leeu Estates
138 reviews
1.30 miles away
Mont Rochelle
694 reviews
1.57 miles away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
919 reviews
1.72 miles away
The Last Word Franschhoek
586 reviews
2.09 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 104 nearby restaurants
Monneaux Restaurant
451 reviews
1.74 miles away
Village Grill and Butcher
243 reviews
1.74 miles away
Rotisserie Restaurant
273 reviews
2.11 miles away
Grande Provence Estate Restaurant
801 reviews
1.45 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 93 nearby attractions
Rickety Bridge Winery
281 reviews
1.31 miles away
Grand Provence Estate
435 reviews
1.45 miles away
Leopard's Leap
114 reviews
2.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Glenwood Vineyards staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines