We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Lake Placid Sleigh Rides

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 2830 Wilmington Rd, Lake Placid, NY 12946-3608
Phone Number: +1 518-241-3388
Website
Description:

Join us this winter for an old fashioned excursion through Lake Placid...

Join us this winter for an old fashioned excursion through Lake Placid Club's open vistas and experience the majestic forests of the Adirondack Mountains. While sipping hot cocoa, we invite you to explore the wonders of the Olympic Village, Ski Jumps, the High Peaks and Sentinel ranges of our mountains. On a clear night, immerse yourself underneath a blanket and enjoy the constellations of the Adirondack skies. All throughout the season, we also offer private & romantic, single horse open sleighs to complete your special day. Open days & nights. Please call for reservations. A good value for your Lake Placid experience! By coming you will assist us in helping feed a rescued horse or two this winter.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 14 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 4
    Excellent
  • 4
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
What a delightful experience...

We booked a group ride on the red sleigh - there was a total of ten of us and we had the sleigh to ourselves! The ride was long, around fifty minutes as the horses took it slow... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 March 2015
Katrina P
,
Dallas, Texas
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hands down one of the best things we did on our Lake Placid vacation. Very comfortable sleigh with heated seats and the ride was simply amazing. Our driver was fascinating and the horses were so well kept. Coming back this year as its our new family ritual.

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2016

I booked a sleigh ride in November for my 2 young children to kick off the Christmas season. It was canceled the day before due to no snow. I get that, sounds completely reasonable. When I asked if they had anything else to accommodate kids the woman on the phone was rude. Told me I could wait for snow or... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Travelergrl824
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2016

The ride was cancelled due to lack of snow 3 hours before it was due to start, weather is unpredictable especially towards the end of the season. The email stated refunds were issued within 30 days of the reservation date. Nothing was received within that timescale. I have emailed them twice and received no response. I am now pursuing a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Georgie1512
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2015

We booked a group ride on the red sleigh - there was a total of ten of us and we had the sleigh to ourselves! The ride was long, around fifty minutes as the horses took it slow, occasionally going for a short trot, depending on the trail. The views were splendid, I think the best we have seen around... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina P
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2015

Disappointed that the ride was more of 'hay' ride in a wagon. I was a birthday gift to my husband and we rode in a wagon NOT what you see in the picture of the nice seats etc! ...I've had plenty of "hay" rides in a wagon so i was not expecting this to be just another wagon except on... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Ctheworld42
ADKSleighRides, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Placid Sleigh Rides, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. The red pioneer sleigh is a typical sleigh that horse drawn sleigh establishments use in the western states such as Colorado. It is not a "hay" wagon as it does not have wheels. Prior to booking, our website explicitly explains the differences between the sleighs that we offer. The Green Carriage Sleigh is... More 

Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2015

We were so pleased ! First, the ride is long: between 45-50 minutes. We had one of the best days you can possibly have, a true, blue bird day. Sunny, blue skies, snow was crisp and white. We booked a group ride with a red sleigh and a pair of Belgian horses. We were served large hot cocoas, had thick... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Mike N
Danville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2015

An all around GREAT experience...friendly staff...beautiful horses and a nice long ride. My wife and I loved it!!

Helpful?
1 Thank E R
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2015 via mobile

We booked online for December 28th for a daytime ride and it was spectacular ! We didn't want to be with a group so we did book for a couples private. The private has a single horse (a Clydesdale named Danny) and an open currier sleigh. The ride ran through about 40 minutes and you see a little bit of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tomasz R
Westchester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2014

While the idea sounds great, this opportunity was underwhelming and disappointing. All of the ride consist of a 30 to 40 minute trip, with stops along the way, on a snow covered golf course. If you think the ride will be in a picturesque landscape, then you will be severely disappointed. Not worth the money and a completely unimaginative service.... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Paolo B
AdkHorseRescue, General Manager at Lake Placid Sleigh Rides, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. Here at LP Sleigh Rides, we inform all of our potential customers on the phone, and through our website, that unless the sky is heavily set with clouds and snowfall, we can guarantee a full view of the Adirondack High Peaks. The same applies to rides in the evenings. The sun sets in... More 

Castle Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2014 via mobile

Did a 5pm ride so was getting quite dark which added to the atmosphere. Had expected the ride to go further and through the woods rather than round a well worn track. Was $48 per adult and $30 per child for about 40 mins. Whilst a fun activity and added to the spirit of Christmas in the snow is overpriced... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P

Travellers who viewed Lake Placid Sleigh Rides also viewed

 

Been to Lake Placid Sleigh Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Lake Placid Sleigh Rides and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Lake Placid Sleigh Rides staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?