We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poornarti Aboriginal Tours

Poornarti Aboriginal Tours
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
40
All photos (40)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent96%
  • Very good4%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“bush tucker”(5 reviews)
“stew”(2 reviews)
About
Poornarti Aboriginal Tours brings the country of the Noongar people to life through immersive, intimate and interactive experiences. They offer Denmark and Albany day tours, overnight camps, custom tours, art demonstrations and a traditional...more
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Website
+61 415 840 216
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
22
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
22
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush tucker stew medicinal plants his partner deep knowledge stirling ranges catherine culture joey healing elder demonstration insight williams journey artwork land
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great day in Albany, WA. Tour by Poornati Aboriginal artist, Joey Williams. Real deal, bush treck to sacred ground, lore, songs , dance and history in an interactive format. Notice my fly swatter. PooRnati Aboriginal Tours- Outstanding! Thanks Joey and Cathy for a most memorable...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Traveleenie
Catherine M, Manager at Poornarti Aboriginal Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you Traveleenie for taking the time to write a review. We also enjoyed our day with your group, especially watching you all dancing at the site. You made fantastic waitch (emus) and yonger (kangaroo) :-) Yes, the flies were a nuisance, but we're glad...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our half-day tour in February was a thought provoking and emotional experience, expanding our knowledge and understanding. And Joey‘s artwork – both from the tour and the gallery visit – that we took back home to Europe has a special place in our home and...More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank TinaAndRyan
Reviewed 21 October 2018

Today we went on Poornarti Aboriginal Tour. What a wonderful surprise this tour was. Small enough to really feel engaged and very attentive tour guides. Our Noongar guide Joey Williams told us his stories verbally, visually and through song...as they were passed down to him...what...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Janice A
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Living locally it was such a wonderful and refreshing way to spend a few hours and one I will be recommending to people who visit here. Joey and Catherine are engaging, inclusive and share their knowledge in a way that is really easy to listen...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Pip T
Catherine M, Manager at Poornarti Aboriginal Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, Pip. It is heartening to have local people, like yourselves, come on our tour and learn about Noongar life in the area. We enjoyed our day with your group, and weren't we lucky with...More

Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Joey and Catherine took us on an authentic journey of learning in country we are lucky enough to live in. A wonderful opportunity to become aware of the beautiful and complex culture of the people who walked so respectfully through this country and still do....More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Kaziah K
Catherine M, Manager at Poornarti Aboriginal Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you Annmaree, for you positive review. Joey and I very much appreciated your thoughtful curiosity, interest and observations.

Reviewed 5 March 2018

My husband and I live in Perth and stay in Denmark nearly every year, it is such a beautiful spot we keep coming back. This summer, we joined Joey on an Aboriginal tour of Denmark to learn more about the Aboriginal history of a place...More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank EvanandMelanie
Catherine M, Manager at Poornarti Aboriginal Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Melanie and Evan, Thank you so much for your positive review. We are so glad you took the opportunity to take this Denmark tour and gain a new perspective on Denmark. Aboriginal cultural sites and lifestyle and knowledge in and of Denmark can be...More

Reviewed 31 January 2018

At the heart of Poornarti Aborginal Tours are two amazing humans that live and breath sharing. Together Joey and Catherine create an experience that transcends all expection. Sending you on a journey of love, acceptance, connection and healing. The way that Joey generously shares his...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: January 2018
Thank freya_parre
Catherine M, Manager at Poornarti Aboriginal Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

The 'Seeing Like an Eagle', community art weekend workshop, that you attended, was a great success, we think. As the first workshop to take place in our new gallery and cultural centre, it was heartening to see the space come alive with so much creativity....More

Reviewed 22 January 2018

Over the course of a weekend, Joey and Catherine took us on a journey of connecting to country, creativity and sharing. I found it a rewarding and enriching experience.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: January 2018
Thank basilschur
Catherine M, Manager at Poornarti Aboriginal Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thank you, Basil, for your review, and for the input and effort you put into creating the two beautiful collaborative canvasses that map the waterways of Kwoorabup (Denmark).

Reviewed 8 January 2018

We have had a few different experiences on Aboriginal Tours but Joey and Catherine shared and gave us more than only explanation or information. We could feel totally integrated and so respectful of this gifted nature- difficult to explain the deep feelings and thoughts but...More

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Esther M
Catherine M, Manager at Poornarti Aboriginal Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you, Esther M. We were heartened to learn that you have been seeking out a variety of Aboriginal tours and experiences in WA. There certainly are diverse experiences to be had, from walking tours in the towns and cities, to full on bush and...More

Reviewed 18 October 2017

Rather a unique presentation by Joey about his ancestors, Aboriginal beliefs, way of thinking and adjustments that had been made just to survive throughout history. We've enjoyed the enthusiasm by which the knowledge was passed to us.More

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank heinrich618
Catherine M, Manager at Poornarti Aboriginal Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thank you. We were glad to be able to provide you with some insights. And it was interesting, for us also, to think of some of the similar cultural experiences, that came up in our discussions. It is always a learning experience, to meet people...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
The Koorabup Motel
210 reviews
.23 miles away
Karrak Reach Forest Retreat
99 reviews
5.22 miles away
Maleeya's Spa Studio
4 reviews
27.62 miles away
Motel Le Grande
96 reviews
28.73 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 44 nearby restaurants
Mrs. Jones Cafe
415 reviews
.37 miles away
Denmark Bakery
342 reviews
.40 miles away
Massimo's Place
117 reviews
.42 miles away
Ravens
301 reviews
.46 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 69 nearby attractions
Denmark Animal Farm & Pentland Alpaca Stud
192 reviews
.85 miles away
Denmark Visitor Centre
24 reviews
.07 miles away
Scotsdale Scenic Drive
20 reviews
.85 miles away
Mount Shadforth Scenic Drive
15 reviews
.65 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Poornarti Aboriginal Tours staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines