We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 761 A Purangi Road | Cooks Beach, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 7-866 4066
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 148 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 82
    Excellent
  • 35
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Amazing!! Check out the flight of wine !!

Service: 10/10 Ambience: 10/10 Quality of Food: 10/10 Wait time: 10mins We had a wonderful afternoon... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 December 2016
DFKAuckland
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 141: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

The environment is beautiful, however I was disappointed with the menu. I'm used to the wineries of Waiheke and Matakana where you can follow a wine tasting with good food. This place however only offers pizzas. It is a shame as it has a lot of potential.

Helpful?
Thank DeborahMello
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Service: 10/10 Ambience: 10/10 Quality of Food: 10/10 Wait time: 10mins We had a wonderful afternoon! Simon & Veronica the Owners took very good care of us!! The views were amazing, the food was fresh and delicious, the service was incredible & the wine was to die for!! I would highly recommend if you are in the area to visit... More 

Helpful?
Thank DFKAuckland
Paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

We stopped here by chance on a bike ride on the way to Hot Water Beach. We ate pizza and salad and a very delicious almond and pear tart. Lovely view from our outdoor table across the vines to Mercury Bay. All very nice but a bit pricy.

Helpful?
Thank Ann R
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016

Couldn't believe our luck. We recently stayed a night in our camper van in the stunning vineyard at Mercury Bay estate, Cooks Beach. We took the opportunity to sample the new menu at the cellar door/restaurant which included wood-fired Pizza. We are keen foodies and these were a surprise, truly authentic Italian style, delicious!! Highly recommended!!

Helpful?
Thank James M
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

I would love to tell you all about how nice the wine was and how lovely the lunch was, unfortunately I can't tell you anything about this at all. We pulled up on Sunday 23 Oct, around midday and asked if they had a table, none of that, fully booked. Now where I come from they would just pull up... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank vverdoold
Veronica W, Owner at Mercury Bay Estate, responded to this review

We're sorry that we couldn't accommodate you. Labour weekend in NZ is traditionally the first busy holiday wkd of the year leading into Summer and as such our restaurant & Cellar Door was absolutely full, we simply did not have any room for anymore customers so your suggestion of pulling up another table was just not an option. We feel... More 

London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Our visit to Mercury bay estate was a real highlight to our Coromandel trip. Fantastic views and such great food. The platters/ cheese boards are top notch! The flight of wines were great, especially the Chardonnay and Rosé!

Helpful?
Thank NikkiVasiliou
Veronica W, Owner at Mercury Bay Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, feedback is always appreciated to ensure we are providing the level of product/service that we aim for. More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Recently tastefully expanded restaurant area has views of Mercury Bay over the vineyard and Cooks Beach. Ordered the tasty platter to share and sampler paddle of four very drinkable wines from the home vineyard. Jazz playing in the background, warm sun, clear air, good conversation. . . . didn't want to move. Purchased a few bottles and pushed on to... More 

Helpful?
Thank oscorzo
Veronica W, Owner at Mercury Bay Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments. We have just added wood fired Pizza to the menu so hopefully that will be another reason to come back and visit us again sometime... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016

On a very wet and miserable day, we stopped in here for coffee. Despite the awful weather, it was still lovely sitting inside and looking out over the vineyards towards the bay. The coffee was good and in hindsight, I would have loved to have enjoyed a meal here and definitely tried the tasting tray of wines. Definitely be back... More 

Helpful?
Thank boyce1105
Veronica W, Owner at Mercury Bay Estate, responded to this review

Oh yes the rain, we've had so much this year however it seems to have gone away now so do please come back so we can show you the stunning view on a clear day! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2016

We had a lovely stay at Mercury Bay vineyard (the owners offer B&B in an en suite room in their house, which we can definitely recommend). The vineyard is in a great setting overlooking Cooks Beach and the owners are kind, friendly and helpful. The family (including their lovely dog and cat) made us feel welcome at their home and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Up_In_The_Air_3
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
296 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2016

Second time we have been here and have enjoyed the experience both times, had a shared platter which was just right for a light lunch. My wife had a glass of their chardonnay which she really enjoyed and I had a tasting tray also very enjoyable. Great place to sit relax and get a good view of Mercury Bay highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shane B

Travellers who viewed Mercury Bay Estate also viewed

 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Mercury Bay Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercury Bay Estate staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?