We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Trail - Maples Course

211 Clubhouse Rd, Sunset Beach, NC 28468-4404
+1 800-546-5748
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
The pencil was nice

The pencil was the only nice thing about this course. The starters were extremely rude, fairways... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Suzanne F
via mobile
Golf at Sea Trail, Maples course

We played golf at Sea trail,Maples course August 1st course was in good condition and the customer... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Len10h
via mobile
Read all 31 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Maples Course is a traditional southern course framed by twisted ancient oaks and tall Carolina pines. The medium-length, accuracy-demanding course features five holes that wind along the scenic Calabash Creek, with elaborate landscaping, and undulating greens. Still regarded as one of Maples finest, this is a beautiful par 72 course, with A1/A4 blended Bent grass greens. The course is also peppered with numerous waste bunkers, one of which extends the full length of a fairway. The course measures 6,797 yards from the blue tees; 6,330 yards from the white tees; 6,035 yards from the gold tees; and 5,110 yards from the red tees.
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good16%
  • Average24%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible22%
30 Apr 2018
“Tough Winter”
3 days ago
“The pencil was nice”
LOCATION
211 Clubhouse Rd, Sunset Beach, NC 28468-4404
CONTACT
Website
+1 800-546-5748
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The pencil was the only nice thing about this course. The starters were extremely rude, fairways & greens are awful. Pictures show it all. This course will be closed within 2 years.

Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We played golf at Sea trail,Maples course August 1st course was in good condition and the customer service was great! It was a good value $45. for 18 holes of golf,lunch plus two beverages of your choice. Will definitely visit Sea Trail again soon. The...More

1  Thank Len10h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

All that is missing are the cows. While the other two courses at this resort lost their greens, the Maples has even less to offer. The fairways are bare, the tees are dirt and weeds and the overall condition is terrible. The pin sheet is...More

Thank retiree2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy P, Manager at Sea Trail - Maples Course, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your time and feedback in regard to your recent round of golf on the Maples course. First and foremost, we are extremely happy and excited about the fact all of the greens on the Jones and Byrd courses are in great shape...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2018

My group and I have been coming south to play golf in Myrtle for 11 consecutive years. We've played over 35 courses down here and saying this place was the worst doesn't cover it. We played on May 3rd, the Maples course which was supposed...More

Thank cheof999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy P, Manager at Sea Trail - Maples Course, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback pertaining to your recent visit to the Maples course. In reference to our playing conditions, Sea Trail and several golf courses in the Carolinas faced challenges due to the unseasonably cold temperatures that hit our region at the start of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

I think Maples would be great course to play. However, due to the tough winter they had, the greens need help. Lots of patchy grass really hindered putts. We still enjoyed it and I'm sure it'll be great when the greens come back. Fairways were...More

Thank JohnN59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Just played this past Wednesday (18th) and was worried as to what we would find. The 1st three holes are in poor condition at best. Just Blowing the Fairways clean would be a step in the right direction. Several Fairways are just covered in debris....More

Thank Hope777las
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy P, Manager at Sea Trail - Maples Course, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thank you for your review and comments pertaining to your stay with us at Sea Trail. We value our guests' thoughts and feedback, which gives us an opportunity to address your concerns with the goal of delivering a first-class experience. In reference to playing conditions,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Absolutely Terrible, the staff and condition of the course is one of the worst in Myrtle Beach area. And, for $57 on GolfNow, a joke!More

Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy P, Manager at Sea Trail - Maples Course, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Good afternoon, Thank you for your review and comments pertaining to your stay with us at Sea Trail. We value our guests' thoughts and feedback, which gives us an opportunity to address your concerns with the goal of delivering a first-class experience. In reference to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Played in February 2018, course in very poor shape. SeaTrail just finished a renovation of their Jones course so truly hoping Maples is next...... Lots of leaves, rocks, pine cones in the Fairways and sand traps were not very well maintained. Will revise if I...More

Thank Cardswap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy P, Manager at Sea Trail - Maples Course, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Good afternoon, Thank you so much for your input and review of the Maples course here at Sea Trail. We value our guests' comments and input, which help us as we strive to deliver the best golf experience and playing conditions as you play on...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Greens are fair, but rest of course in really, really bad shape. It's a shame that a once fun and beautiful course has hit rock (lots of those) bottom so quickly.

2  Thank chupoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Played Maples twice during our large group visit and wish I could have gotten in a third round. Beautiful layout, well-kept greens and fairways, friendly staff from clubhouse to the crew working on the course and really amazing golf experience.More

Thank JDP0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy P, Marketing Manager at Sea Trail - Maples Course, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Great to hear and see you had a nice time playing our Maples course. Our golf staff and grounds crew do a fantastic job keeping the layout in beautiful shape, which makes your round of golf fun and delightful. Looking forward to seeing you back...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center
222 reviews
.75 miles away
Islander Inn
561 reviews
4.15 miles away
Ocean Isle Inn
827 reviews
4.23 miles away
Village at the Glens Golf Resort
25 reviews
5.29 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bagel Dock Cafe
300 reviews
.67 miles away
Twin Lakes By The Sea
376 reviews
.68 miles away
How Sweet It Is
25 reviews
.63 miles away
Crabby Oddwaters
186 reviews
.54 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Sunset Beach Waterfront Park
36 reviews
.63 miles away
Sea Trail Plantation - Jones Course
45 reviews
.80 miles away
Sea Trail - Byrd Course
33 reviews
.80 miles away
Island Breeze
9 reviews
.63 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ellen W
30 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from rmac34 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, Rudy. Answer this traveler's question here.$25 with a cart only played the Maples
0
Votes