We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Panther's Run Golf Links

Closed Now: 07:00 - 18:00
Open today: 07:00 - 18:00
Review Highlights
Greens coming back, but not there yet!

This is a fun layout—nice combination of holes. The course lost its greens after a terrible winter... read more

Reviewed 29 July 2018
161DavidM161
,
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
via mobile
Nice Course But,

Facility and staff were top notch and we were warned beforehand that the greens were not up to... read more

Reviewed 2 May 2018
Ernie S
,
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Read all 41 reviews
11
All photos (11)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good41%
  • Average24%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible7%
29 Jul 2018
“Greens coming back, but not there yet!”
2 May 2018
“Nice Course But,”
About
Panther's Run Golf Links was born to be a different breed of golf. Winding its way throughout a pristine nature preserve, this magnificent Tim Cate design is one of The Grand Strand's all-time favorite layouts. Now featuring new MiniVerde greens...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 07:00 - 18:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
351 Ocean Ridge Pkwy SW, Sunset Beach, NC 28469
Website
+1 910-287-1717
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
8
15
10
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
8
15
10
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

This is a fun layout—nice combination of holes. The course lost its greens after a terrible winter. The greens were replanted, but need another month or so of growth. The staff was fantastic, especially the woman in the beverage cart!

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank 161DavidM161
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Winter kill on the greens have left the course unplayable. Nice facility and really nice staff but this comes short of making ng up for the course conditions.More

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Don H
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Panther's Run. As I'm sure you are aware by now, our area was devastated by the extreme winter conditions of the past several months (the coldest in the last 38 years, including an ice storm that left...More

Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

They have lost their greens to winter kill. The layout is nice, but it was impossible to putt well. The cart paths need attention as well. I think some of my fillings were jarred loose. Call ahead before booking to inquire about the greens.More

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank PawPaw64
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. You are correct, like most of the bermuda greens courses in our area, Panther's Run took a beating from the coldest winter this region has experienced in 38 years. The problem has been so...More

Reviewed 2 May 2018

Facility and staff were top notch and we were warned beforehand that the greens were not up to par... They were AWFUL...'Winter Kill' they called it...We would definitely play here again with the hope that the greens recovered...We did enjoy ourselves despite the putting...The sign...More

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Ernie S
Reviewed 27 October 2017

I played this course recently with a group of members from a local North Myrtle Beach club. The condition of the practice range is an embarrassment and the range ball are so dead they hardly fly. Tee boxes are poor and fairways need serious attention....More

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank 721jim
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit and we sincerely apologize for your unsatisfactory experience. We also want to let you know we have taken measures to address many of the issues you mention. Our cart paths are...More

Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Reserved a tee time for me and my brother-in-law. We needed to rent clubs so I inquired about needing to rent them when I made the reservation the day before. They had two options, a newer set for $40/player, and older sets for $27/player. I...More

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank dmalobicky
Bill L, General Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

We would like to thank you for taking the opportunity to make us aware of your unsatisfactory experience at Panther's Run. It is only through such constructive feedback that we can address issues as they arise, as we strive to continue to improve our operation....More

Reviewed 13 May 2017

Played Panthers Run yesterday. The course layout is good with some great, challenging holes but, right now, it is in very poor condition. Lots of weeds on the fairways and fringes. I was less than 2 yards off the 18th green in the fringe and...More

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Liz J
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you for your recent visit to Panther's Run. We certainly apologize for your unsatisfactory experience. It is indeed a beautiful layout, and, as one of the most popular courses in our area, it has undergone a tremendous amount of play and traffic through the...More

Reviewed 10 May 2017

I read a lot of reviews about this. Terms like "rude staff" and "terrible conditions" were written. Totally false. The staff was great. I was looking for someone to be rude. It never happened. Everyone was polite, friendly and made us feel welcomed. My group...More

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Gregory M
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you very much, Gregory! Most people don't take the time to post reviews of their positive experiences, so we appreciate it very much! We look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 27 April 2017

Not worth the full fare - prob $35 at best with very poor conditions from tee to green, bad customer service and slow play.More

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank rbestercy
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

We are very sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience at Panther's Run. If you would, could you give me more information on your critique, including specifics on the customer service issues and pace of play? Please send your reply to blong@oceanridge.com Once again we...More

Reviewed 23 April 2017

Been several years since we have played at this facility. We have noticed a trend in the area of declining conditions of the courses in the myrtle beach area. The concern seems to get as many people out on the course as possible. Our round...More

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank dave c
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback. We will definitely do our best to address your areas of concern. We have several renovation projects on the schedule and expect most of the issues you mentioned to be addressed and improved. You can keep track of...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Sea Trail Golf Resort & Conference Center
227 reviews
3.32 miles away
SureStay Hotel By Best Western Shallotte
83 reviews
4.51 miles away
Islander Inn
589 reviews
4.52 miles away
Ocean Isle Inn
842 reviews
4.55 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 18 nearby restaurants
La Cucina Italian Grill
408 reviews
2.87 miles away
Fibber McGees
491 reviews
2.97 miles away
Bagel Dock Cafe
322 reviews
3.07 miles away
Las Palmeras
95 reviews
2.84 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 21 nearby attractions
Silver Coast Winery
153 reviews
3.54 miles away
Ocean Ridge Plantation
36 reviews
.71 miles away
Leopard's Chase Golf Club
40 reviews
1.33 miles away
Makai Brewing Company
8 reviews
1.96 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Panther's Run Golf Links staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines